We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Old Favourite” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orion Restaurant

Orion Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 55 Restaurants in Dawson Creek
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dawson Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An Old Favourite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

When we first moved to Dawson Creek in 1991, we ate at the Orion as often as we could afford. Up until about five or six years ago, it was THE Chinese Restaurant in town for us. Then they started "cutting back", and there were none of the wonderful, friendly wait staff left, and the food quality definitely was down. It is still good, but nothing special, and unless you get there as soon as the Smorg opens, they're not refilling as often as needed, and it's just NOT the same. Acceptable is about all!

Oh yes, and their habit is now to close down completely from about December to March, during the holiday season, when lots of people would love to go out to dine somewhere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mgailt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    7
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dawson Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great for local”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Me and my mom went for dinner after I moved into my apartment in town to relax after the busy day. The server was kind and helpful and even gave us suggestions on what to get. I ended up going for the supper buffet. Good food and service. Would for sure go again

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RaistlinV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawson Creek, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absoloutely Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I Havent tasted such bad food from a chinese restaurant in my life. spent 59$ had one plate of the lemon chicken the sauce was way too strong and the breading was crunchy. (was it sitting out for a week?) Chicken balls were terrible they didnt taste right at all my chicken fried rice had onions on it which made for a really bad taste with the rice. So i figured i would get the taste out of my mouth with some wor wonton, i had hopes that they could not go wrong, how hard is it to make soup? Wrong. The meat inside was terrible the noodles were soggy, i found 2 pieces of broccoli in 1 soup and 1 shrimp and 1 piece of beef (hopefully it was beef). Ill never go here again. This is a disgrace I dont know how they are still in business, and i cant believe they would serve that to their customers. Despicable.on the bright side service was ok. ROFL

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jashua A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Wyoming
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Barely edible and terribly expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

If you can find another open restaurant anywhere go there. This place was terrible. As other reviewers stated, the service was good, but the buffet food was scarce and what there was of it was not good. The only exception was the cake. It was great-- and they did have beer.
The buffet though was about $20.00 per person.
I would never eat here again. ever.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maraywil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What some folks consder food these days?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

This was my first week here in Dawson Creek and all week long we had planned to have Chinese Food for takeout supper and I was really looking forward to it. The food was ready almost immediately which causes me to think most of it was just scooped out of the buffet:

The deep fried Prawns and Chicken balls I did not touch because the looked like they had been deep fried in a muffin batter. The fat on the pork tasted old and rancid and the honey garlic chicken wings tasted like they had been boiled before deep frying. The chop suey was a mush of vegetables in a corn starch brine and the chicken chow mien was also a slop of overcooked noodles. It was apparent none of the sauces were made from scratch and there was no concern for freshness.

To the good people of Dawson Creek, do your self a favor next time you are in PG or especially in Vancouver and eat at one of there top rated Chinese restaurants.; you owe it to yourselves to see what proper Cantonese cooking should taste like.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WhiteWolfPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orion Restaurant also viewed

Dawson Creek, British Columbia
Dawson Creek, British Columbia
 
Dawson Creek, British Columbia
Dawson Creek, British Columbia
 
Dawson Creek, British Columbia
Dawson Creek, British Columbia
 

Been to Orion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing