We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was good EXCEPT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Backeddy Resort & Marina
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Egmont
Sechelt, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Everything was good EXCEPT”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Each RV site had a large log acting as a barricade for the RV wheels, preventing the RV from rolling into the ocean. All of these logs were dry, except for the one in our site. Unbeknown to me, as I stepped onto it to get further vision helping my husband back the RV into position, I immediately fell off the log, bruising my left thigh but worse, damaging my left groin. Two weeks later, I cannot walk without a lot of ain and a walking stick to help me.
Either the logs should be replaced or a warning sign should be in effect.
As it is, I cannot function normally, and the doctor ways this could take a long time to heal.

GREAT! Just what I do NOT need.................

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank poppylander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    53
    10
    9
    11
See reviews for
32
87
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, Sc
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

There are only three places to stay in Edgemont. One is over twice the price with stupendous views and the other doesn't have much of a view. The room was simply appointed but clean. The best part was looking west down the inlet at the towering mountains at sunset. I have not been to Norway but I imagine this is close by comparison. If you stay make sure you take a glass of wine out on the marina docks and enjoy the sunset. If you have the money take a boat tour of Prince Louisa Inlet that leaves from the docks in front of your room. Some people think the views are better than Norway. For my money Backeddy gives you the best value for your dollar.

Room Tip: There is no AC in rooms so if you need white noise, ask for a fan. It was very quiet when we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REHOLDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Nothing was too much trouble for the owners of this delightful small resort right by the water. Our room faced the water and we watched small boats coming and going from the marina and seals popping up nearby. Food at the "pub" was excellent and the generous packed lunch provided for the Princess Louisa inlet trip (which started a short walk from our door) was much appreciated. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Our two night stay exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the marina (but not next to the Liquor Store) as the refrigeration units adjac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrvineEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Whilst staying at Lake Sakinaw Lodge, our hosts recommended a drive to Egmont. Our timing wasn't right to visit the rapids, so we plonked ourselves down on the deck at Back Eddy's restaurant and spent a good few hours enjoying the views and the sunshine, and banter from the local woodcutters/ lumberjacks who'd arrived back one the mainland after spending two weeks "up on the mountain" cutting down trees.

My husband and I shared the Skookumchuck Burger - 10oz of pure beef pleasure. We heard all about how the bun used to be baked in a large tin can (the kind you see stocked up in Italian restaurants!) and this made the burger even bigger, back in the day... The postmistress used to bake the bread and rolls for the restaurant - what a great story! (We found all of this out and when popped into the reception at the Marina to buy some postcards. The delightful receptionist informed me that I wouldn't be able to get stamps that afternoon, because the post office was closed - and she knew this, because the post mistress is her mother - and she was baby sitting for her that afternoon!) Got to love small towns...

Getting back to the burger - it is served with a pile of sweet potato fries that are crunchy and delicious... We somehow managed to finish all our food, and lick the plate clean! Highly recommended. Don't miss this stop.

Cocktails were reasonably priced - I think it was happy hour (all afternoon?) and our waitress was delightful, friendly and efficient. Got to hear most of her life story too - and we told her ours at the same time :-)

Looking forward to enjoying another Skookumchuck burger in the not too distant future, when we visit Lake Sakinaw Lodge again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLBB-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2013

What a find! We discovered the Backeddy quite by accident while searching for a getaway that felt like "away" but didn't take a huge effort to get to. (This is just a short ferry ride to Langdale and then just over an hour's scenic drive up the coast). No cell coverage or wi-fi or tv (except in the pub) was a definite plus in our desire to "unplug" for a few days. As you approach the tiny village of Egmont, you notice the "quiet" immediately. It's pretty amazing and pretty wonderful! Accommodations are very comfortable and the view...! From the "Couples Cabin" the view is incredible: seals, eagles, herons, starfish on the beach. We were lucky enough to experience all kinds of light and weather during our stay: glorious sunshine and blue skies, misty mornings and beautiful cloud formations, and even a little thunder and lighting one night -- incredible to watch from the comfort of our cabin! The rooms in the Inn are more proximate to the pub and the marina -- a little noisier but with a terrific view of the inlet and the comings and goings of the marina. (They also have dog-friendly cabins available.) The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful -- truly exceptional. Peter Laurie, the owner, immediately made us feel welcome. The pub has a lovely patio overlooking the inlet and the grilled cod burgers are delicious! The Backeddy doesn't do breakfast, just lunch and dinner, but there's a small fridge and a coffee maker in the room. (At Reception you may purchase yogurt, cereal boxes, muffins. You're also only a 5 minute walk from great waffles at the West Coast Wilderness Lodge's restaurant.) On Sunday at the Backeddy, there's live music with the talented Mark Brezer and guests. It's just a 15 minute walk to the start of the trail to the stunning Skookumchuk Narrows. The trail is an easy walk (one hour in, one hour out) through beautiful mossy woods. Check the tides before you go for best views of the rapids. (Sadly the fairytale-looking Green Rosette Bakery, nestled in the woods, 5 minutes along the trail, was closed for the season!) We also took advantage of the opportunity to visit the Princess Louisa Inlet with Sunshine Coast Tours' Bryce Christie. Well worth it! Bryce provides a fascinating narrative of the history on the way up and the landscape is incredible. For a small charge, Backeddy pub will even pack you a yummy boxed lunch to take with you for a picnic once you arrive at Chatterbox Falls! The best part though was simply enjoying the view, the fresh air, the quiet and the chance to take a real break. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed in a small cabin that had everything you needed and was very comfortable. The food and service at the pub was wonderful. The crew were friendly and helpful. Great walks and beautiful scenery.
If you are planning to cook yourself I would bring food as the shopping is not great.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sh0rts66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at the Backeddy Resort in one of their new cabins. The cabin was decorated very nicely and had a great view of the marina where our boat was docked and of the inlet. the staff is very friendly and professional. We also had an outstanding dinner at the pub. We definitely will stay at the Backeddy again when we return to Egnont.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egmont
9.9 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
10.4 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ruby Lake Resort
Ruby Lake Resort
#4 of 4 in Madeira Park
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bathgate General Store, Resort & Marina
15.1 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backeddy Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backeddy Resort & Marina

Property: Backeddy Resort & Marina
Address: 16660 Backeddy Road, Egmont, British Columbia V0N 1N0, Canada (Formerly Egmont Marina Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Egmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Egmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Backeddy Resort & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extraordinary experiences in the heart of nature! Cabins, Inn rooms, and Glamping domes. Waterfront pub, cafe, mountain bike, kayak and paddle board rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Backeddy Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backeddy Resort And Marina
Backeddy Resort & Marina Hotel Egmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing