We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Getaway close to home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Backeddy Resort & Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backeddy Resort & Marina
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Egmont
Halfmoon Bay, BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway close to home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I rarely get away from our busy lives, so when some friends suggested we take off for an overnight at the Backeddy Resort, it was perfect timing!! We started our "getaway" at the Back Nine restaurant at the Pender Harbour Golf Course. Lovely outdoor patio, great caesars, ( thanks Nicole!!) and a great menu! One of our friends has Celiac, so the chef personally prepared a meal for her! The staff were all so welcoming and friendly!
Then we took off to what we thought was going to be our cute, rustic cabin at the Backeddy Resort. What it turned out to be was a beautiful, brand new oceanview "cabin"! It was decorated beautifully with an outstanding patio overlooking the ocean. Peter, our host welcomed us, showed us around the resort and made us feel right at home. We took off for an awesome hike to the Skookumchuck where the rapids did not disappoint! We made it just at the peak of the flood tide and got to watch kayakers hanging out in the rapids! Headed to the Backeddy Pub after that and were treated yet again with an amazing view, food and a "swarm" of beautiful hummingbirds! We stayed up quite late, drinking the Malbec Peter left us... (thanks Peter!!) by the campfire, savouring every moment of our time away.
Thank you Peter for having the customer service ability you have! It really shows in your staff.. Emily, thank you ! You are lovely! We will return soon!!!

Room Tip: The cabins are great for families, family reunions, would be an awesome location for a wedding! The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    50
    10
    9
    11
See reviews for
30
83
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Garden Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I were in desperate need of getting away from it all when we had the perfect chance a couple of weekends ago to visit the Backeddy. And bonus there was no ferry involved as we live 40 minutes away. From the moment we set foot on the resort until the time we left we were treated royally. The cabin we stayed in was great with a beautiful view of the water and marina. The meals were excellent! We enjoyed Chef Gordon's specials both Fri and Sat nights which were very tasty and even took in a couple games of pool. Needless to say we were very relaxed when we left and would go back in a heartbeat. Thanks to Peter and his crew for a spectacular weekend!

Room Tip: Very clean, excellent view right on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert0572014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

It is incredible to plan a getaway that surpasses all of your expectations. That’s exactly what happened when secretly organizing a birthday weekend for my better half. Funnily enough, after a lot of online searching, I came across an article in print (The Georgia Strait) that mentioned a special on a weekend getaway at the Backeddy Resort (www.backeddy.ca), located at the end of a road on the Sunshine Coast. From the moment I called the resort to book, I felt like I was on to a good thing. It turned out to be a great thing.

Emily took the booking and made it the best by arranging for us to have one of the waterfront cabins. Unfortunately, you can't book the sun, but even with the rain on the day we drove up the Sunshine Coast, our cabin at the Backeddy made for a scenic, welcoming arrival.

Dinner for two at the pub was also included. The first evening we enjoyed free games of pool before dinner. The second evening we had our dinner to go, setting up a table by the window of our cabin to enjoy the panoramic view. Getting away from computers, cell phones, and the TV heightened the natural beauty of our surroundings. The quiet at the Backeddy is highly recommended for a true getaway.

The weather cooperated on the last two days of our three-day weekend, the warmest and sunniest spring days in March, giving us a beautiful day for hiking in Skookumchuck Narrows Provincial Park. The weekend was entirely idyllic.

Since our return to Vancouver, we have been telling everyone about this marvelous place, which is so close to our home. At the same time, with the short ferry ride and drive to Egmont, we felt as though we were truly getting away from it all. If you want to do the same, contact the Backeddy Resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IamJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

year round marina and fuel stop, with pub / restaurent open at weekends in the winter. welcoming and super friendly staff, always there to help out, and basic supplies from local shop at bathgate. Beautiful trails nearby, much to the relief of our lil dog nina. The new waterfront cabins are blissful, a Saturday stopover is amazing value, and live music in the pub. We love the backeddy, and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the Backeddy on the recommendation of a fellow diver who uses their marina, and booked one of the new couples cabins. What a perfect few days! It was very quiet, the cabin was brand new, very cozy, clean and there was a beautiful wood burning stove! The view from the all window front was gorgeous. The staff were also very friendly and helpful, and the food at the pub very good and good value. Try the local beer.

If you're a diver, there is an amazing amount of life and visibility here and some of the best dives we've ever done, even just off the marina (try to find the octopus). But even if you don't dive, definitely go!

We were sad to leave and will be back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJL069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely staff! Welcoming and warm cabins. Peaceful surroundings. Minutes from a beautiful hike to the rapids. Great for a getaway any time of the year. We just spent 2 nights, and felt so relaxed when we returned to the city. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

My husband and I recently had a get away weekend at the Back Eddy Resort for our anniversary. We've stayed here a few times over the last 5 years but since this was a trip without the kids it was the first time in the new waterfront couples cabins. Wow! What a treat! Nothing like lying in bed and watching the dawn light creep over the mountains and shine down onto the water. It is so peaceful and relaxing here. Definitely a great place to unwind. One of the main reasons we have come back again and again is the hospitality. Everyone, from owner to staff is warm and welcoming and makes you feel like part of a comfortable family. The food at the pub is great as was the warmth and humour of our server. We have always had a wonderful time at the Back Eddy and will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinggal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egmont
10.3 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bathgate General Store, Resort & Marina
3.4 mi away
Ruby Lake Resort
Ruby Lake Resort
#4 of 4 in Madeira Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
15.1 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backeddy Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backeddy Resort & Marina

Property: Backeddy Resort & Marina
Address: 16660 Backeddy Road, Egmont, British Columbia V0N 1N0, Canada (Formerly Egmont Marina Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Egmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Egmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Backeddy Resort & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extraordinary experiences in the heart of nature! Cabins, Inn rooms, and Glamping domes. Waterfront pub, cafe, mountain bike, kayak and paddle board rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Backeddy Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backeddy Resort And Marina
Backeddy Resort & Marina Hotel Egmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing