We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, get ready for the West Coast Adventure of a Lifetime !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Egmont
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow, get ready for the West Coast Adventure of a Lifetime !!!”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Just returned from 5 fabulous days at the absolutely World-Class "West Coast Wilderness Lodge". Nestled in spectacular surroundings , the Rooms, Views, Staff and Cuisine make this an absolute must for the Elite World/Outdoor travel enthusiast. Whether its a Zodiac Ocean voyage where you encounter huge pods of Pacific White-Sided Dolphins playing in the boats wake or a Fishing trip with Uber-Chef Warren who prepared the freshly caught Ling-Cod for a delicious entree the following evening along with the best "to die for" Clam-Chowder I've ever tasted. Do you and yours a favour and book a visit , you wont be dissapointed.
John Wade
Vancouver, B.C.

Room Tip: The view's from every room in Cabin 6 are out-standing , flat-screen satellite T.V. and roomy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    69
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
62
163
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

As locals we took advantage of a 'special' recently at this property. Although we've visited the resort on several occasions, this was the first time we'd stayed overnight. The staff and owners were very friendly, and helpful, and we felt welcome immediately. The room was lovely with a spectacular view of the inlet. There is no better view on the Sunshine Coast. If you want to see beautiful BC at it's best, this is the place to come to. The room and bathroom were both small, but well appointed, clean, and lacked for nothing. The decor is modern yet West Coast style. The large king-size bed was very comfortable and the bedding good quality. Dinner was excellent, and by far the best quality food we've encountered on the Sunshine Coast. The trips organized by the lodge are fun and enjoyable, and fairly priced. Thank you Paul for a very enjoyable stay. We'll be back in September, for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Korat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halfmoon Bay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2013

My wife booked an overnight stay here as a getaway. Despite the fact that we only live in Halfmoon Bay, about a 45-minute drive away, it felt like we had gone far, far away. The panorama from our room was beautiful beyond describing, and the room was clean and very comfortable. Our dinner and our breakfast were fabulous. They have the best Seafood Chowder I've ever tasted, by far. Service was friendly and prompt. Our zodiac tour of the area was exhilarating. Our guide, Paul, was very knowledgeable and friendly.

At first, I was a bit taken aback by lack of WIFI, but it wasn't long before I realized what a blessing that was! Goodbye internet! I can live without you! Want to get away from it all? This is the place.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We didn't know where we wanted to stay and stopped by the WCW by chance. It turned out that the time we spent there was the best part of the whole trip.

The owners were present on site and helped us with everything. We got the best deal on the rooms, they showed us where to go and what to do and organized a Zodiac tour next day. The picture with the dolphins was taken during that trip!

There was something for everyone - kids really enjoyed the archery practice and we like the hot tub with the ocean view.

One thing that we did before leaving WCW is booked ourselves a new stay with them. I am sure that we will come back more than once!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arseniy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caramel1959
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We found this place by chance and were able to stay for two nights. Reception was welcoming (thanks Kathryn). The restaurant was a spacious and lovely, food was OK, service was attentive enough.
Room was lovely - all timber and a great big king bed with lovely linen. Downside - no fresh towels on the second day and I really am up for that when paying what it cost to stay here!
We were probably there at the same time as mai3096 who has commented about the party (to which we weren't invited). We were in the ocean front room closest to the venue and, while there was noise til about 9.30, we didn't hear anything after that. May have been 'cos we were stuffed from trekking to Skookemchuck Rapids (a 'must-do'!) in the morning and then kayaking in the afternoon (with Kathryn - excellent - bald eagles spotted, seals, starfish).
The one downside was that to see the rapids we had to leave at 7am and the resort could not even provide us with a juice and muesli bar or any kind of 'brekky bag' to take on the 8km trek. By the time we had returned and showered, it was too late for brekky and too early for lunch. Given that the rapids are probably the main attraction there, a 'snack' service is required.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caramel1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed at the West Coast Wilderness Lodge in mid September. We knew even from the ferry trip we were travelling somewhere amazing, the weather was kind to us and the scenery was breathtaking.

Upon arrival we were upgraded to one of the new oceanview suites, wow what a view, you could just sit and watch all kinds of wildlife from your room or the decks of the lodge.

The new rooms have been realy well done, a good size with nice bathrooms.

The food was very good, my husband had the aberdeen angus ribs - absolutely delicious.

We went kayaking for the first time, we were a little aprehensive, but we neednt have worried we were well looked after, we saw bald eagle and the seals were very inquisitive!

This lodge is a must if you are looking to visit the Sunshine Coast - we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammerbuch
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We arrived on the first evening at 5 PM after a Long hike and were told that the only Slot for dinner is at 5:30 pm! Not a good start. That evening a large famaly Party took place until late. Load Music is not what we exepected in the Wilderness.
We had a nice room (Ocean Suite) with view on the bay.
WIFI which is Standard now even in the B+Bs is not offered instead a PC next to the reception. Absolutely no tipps for hikes. This seems to be a boat place.
Hot tub is available but the changing rooms are in the Lounge!
The Location is the best at this place. Not a lodge we will visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mai3096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egmont
10.4 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
359 reviews
9.9 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
3.3 mi away
Ruby Lake Resort
Ruby Lake Resort
#4 of 4 in Madeira Park
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bathgate General Store, Resort & Marina
15.0 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Backeddy Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coast Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Wilderness Lodge

Property: West Coast Wilderness Lodge
Address: 6649 Maple Road, Egmont, British Columbia V0N 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Egmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Egmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Coast Wilderness Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Coast Wilderness Lodge resort brings first-class adventure, fine dining and luxury accommodations to the laid-back Sunshine Coast of British Columbia. Come experience the crisp salt air and breathtaking views of the Pacific Northwest -- at a place where every day is filled with romantic moments and unforgettable memories. Simple luxury on Nature's doorstep -- unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your West Coast Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Coast Wilderness Hotel Egmont
West Coast Wilderness Egmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing