We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should have stayed longer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ships Point Inn B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fanny Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ships Point Inn B & B
Ranked #1 of 4 Fanny Bay B&B and Inns
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Should have stayed longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Hard to say which is better, the idyllic location or the gracious hosts. Ship's Point B&B occupies the last house on the Ship's Point road, with the property directly on the beach looking northward up Baynes Sound. This location offers bird watching, views of the Buckley Bay to Denman Island ferry plying back and forth, and the tides coming and going. All from the deck with tables and chairs or from the living and dining rooms. The lawn at beach level also has chairs and a picnic table. The hosts Robert and Agathe are very suited to B&B culture - helpful, but not intrusive, and very accommodating. We arrived at 6 pm after a drive up Vancouver Island and said we had brought a picnic dinner for the patio - by the time we had brought in the luggage from the car, the patio table was set up with plates, cutlery, and two wine glasses! The gourmet breakfast was sized right - fresh juice, home made muffins, and omlette with delicious salsa, and a breakfast desert of poached pears with a cottage cheese/honey/cinnamon sauce. Of course freshly brewed coffee. Fanny Bay itself is not a go to location - but Ship's Point B&B is!

Room Tip: Some rooms with a view are more pricy; we booked the less expensive "forest view" room but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Our second time at this location and it was probably even better than our first stay there last summer. It is a very comfortable property and the innkeepers are very gracious and accommodating hosts. My parents joined us there for our second night and they are still raving about their stay. The views are spectacular and the breakfasts are great. I can't recommend this inn enough.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agathe F, Owner at Ships Point Inn B & B, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
It was great seing you both again and we enjoyed meeting part of your family.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your visit.
We are looking forward to see next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

If you prefer to stay at a B&B with the perfect natural scenery including seals/seel lions and with a just adorable Englisg style suite and service, do yourself a favor and choose this B&B!

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for my birthday weekend last year. The B&B was so cozy, the room we stayed in was beautiful with a HUGE bathroom and tub, and the common room with flatscreen TV was nicely furnished. The B&B is right on the beach where they collect Fanny Bay oysters, so it was really neat to go down and see them. There is also a really interesting walk that you can do down the beach and into the forest where there is a kooky art display. We enjoyed trips to Coombs and Parksville from this location. It was a great place to stay and we would definitely go back. Loved the hot tub too!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

My husband and I stayed 1 night at this b&b and wished we had stayed 3! This property is right on the water, with access to the beach at the very end of a quite road. The house was spacious, with alot of common areas - a living room with a flat screen tv (no tv in our room, but that was just fine), a fridge stocked with water, juice & pop and tea available at any time. The breakfast was delicious and the hosts were gracious and really easy going. We will be back - can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angmar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford BC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

Ships Point Inn B&B is situated in a magnificent setting, quite literally on a point of land on the shore. Hosts Robert and Agathe were wonderful to talk to, very knowledgeable about the local surroundings and events, and excellent cooks!

We stayed for 3 nights in the Bayside Room, going to sleep and waking up with a view of the ocean from our bed. The beds are comfortable, as are the rooms - beautifully decorated and maintained, very clean and very welcoming. The surroundings are magnificent - ocean, beach, the gardens out front and the residence itself. We enjoyed the hot tub one evening, and sitting on the deck with a glass of wine or swinging in the hammock was equally enjoyable.

Breakfasts - well, not much to say here, other than if you don't like what you're served here, your taste buds have shrivelled and died. Eggs Benedict with salmon instead of ham, french toast with an orange brandy syrup, a crustless quiche, and much more. Robert and Agathe have a 12-day cycle for their breakfasts, so you wouldn't have the same breakfast again until you awoke on your 13th morning (if you managed to stay that long!). Our company at breakfast included people from Toronto, New Westminster in BC, San Francisco, Ireland, and New Brunswick. Breakfast conversation was lively and a lot of fun, we often found our days slipping by because we were enjoying the company so much.

Side trips to Comox and Courtenay, Miracle Beach and Denman and Hornby Islands all withing easy reach, with the lovely village of Qualicum Beach about a half-hour south.

Well worth the trip, as others have mentioned it's out of the way and that's what makes it so appealing. Don't miss the opportunity to stay here if you have the chance.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbyEmptyNesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

Clean, comfortable, beautiful accomodations.
The breakfast was WONDERFUL!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XenasMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fanny Bay
8.6 mi away
Shady Shores Beach Resort
55.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
14.9 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ellerslie Bed and Breakfast
Ellerslie Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Fanny Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
3.7 mi away
Two Eagles Lodge
Two Eagles Lodge
#1 of 1 in Union Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
10.1 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ships Point Inn B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ships Point Inn B & B

Property: Ships Point Inn B & B
Address: 7584 Ships Point Rd, Fanny Bay, British Columbia V0R 1W0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Fanny Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fanny Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Ships Point Inn B & B 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, serene and secluded hideaway at the water's edge of Fanny Bay, Vancouver Island. Enjoy walks on the beach, relax in the roses garden or read a book on the bay side deck. Celebrate the end of a busy day with a relaxing visit to our garden hot tub. The Inn offers six distinctly-appointed guest rooms, each with a spectacular bay view. Gourmet breakfast. Close to Mount Washington, Denman Island Ferry. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing