We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely luxury!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gabriola Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hummingbird Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Takaka, New Zealand
1 review
“Homely luxury!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed two nights at the Hummingbird Lodge as a treat after a camping holiday in mainland British Columbia. It excelled all expectation - peaceful location, beautiful, modern bedroom and ensuite, huge comfortable living space to relax in, well equipped kitchenette, expansive decks both on our room and on the general living area. We loved the cosy fire, as nights were getting a bit chilly late September, also the spa pool available all hours! Interesting walks by the sea very close by. Special breakfasts lovingly prepared from the home gardens and orchards. Friendly cat!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
19
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

A home away from home .. don't you wish everyone knew how to get it just right ... just like Janice and John at the Hummingbird Lodge.

What a find! Comfy, spacious rooms, delicious breakfasts made from organically grown ingredients right from their garden, beautiful, well kept grounds and gardens to explore, quaint sitting areas tucked away everywhere you turn. Oh, and if it's an ocean breeze you're looking for, you're just a short walk from the beach as well. Need an umbrella, a beach towel, some info about the island - Janice and John are the perfect hosts.

I've visited Gabriola often over the past 6 years, and each and every time, my stay at the Hummingbird has been relaxing and memorable. I'm already looking forward to my next visit!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We just stayed one night but will stay there again when we return to Gabriola. Beautiful, rustic lodge with large, homey, comfortable rooms. Our room had a private balcony overlooking a forested hill. We loved the huge common room with the very large deck and the many interesting objects to look at. Super breakfast with home made apple cider. And so quiet. Janice and her husband are lovely. Thank you!

Room Tip: Calliope room spacious enough for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

And that tells it all! My husband and I had reserved just one night here but after arriving, meeting Janice and getting the tour of their magnificent home, we asked if there was room for us to stay another night. Our expectations were completely met - clean, tranquil, well resourced, comfy bed, interesting art, books, music in the spacious guest living room; within walking distance of a beach/park. Breakfast was delicious - all home made, natural foods from Janice's garden. Deer and fawns roamed comfortably around the beautiful grounds. Wish we could stay a week!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a first rate B&B. Fresh from the garden food and interesting people combined with an authentic West Coast crafted house made this a great place to stay. We loved it last year and were equally impressed this year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2013

An impromptu visit to Gabriola had us scrambling for a B&B and thanks to some great advice from our realtor we had the good fortune of experiencing a night at this top flight B&B.
Janice has to be one of the most interesting people we have met and we found the history of their beautiful home amazing. They built this themselves from the ground-up using timber harvested from the property which they personally cut and prepared - truly amazing.
We loved the ambiance, space and comfort of our room and associated living area where we were greeted by George the friendly family cat. Breakfast was healthy, hearty and lovingly prepared. Our only regret is staying for only one night! We will be back to spend more time with wonderful people at this stunning B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterC3510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I had the good fortune of being booked into the Hummingbird Lodge this past May Long Weekend - what a treat! Although the majority of my time on the island was spent working for the weekend, I was able to rest and relax at the lodge and enjoy being pampered by Janice's incredible hospitality and homemade breakfast (it's home-grown and she can do gluten-free!) To top everything off, Janice helped book me a massage in their in-house massage room for the morning after my 17-hour work day. Divine.

To say that this place was an amazing, relaxing retreat does not even do it justice. I'm only sorry that I couldn't stay another night to explore and enjoy! Thank you, Janice!

Room Tip: Private wooden balcony overlooking the forest from the Calliope Room. Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirileanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gabriola Island
6.7 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,378 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 19 in Nanaimo
321 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
529 reviews
4.5 mi away
WurHere B&B
WurHere B&B
#4 of 17 in Gabriola Island
23 reviews
6.7 mi away
Diplomat Motel
Diplomat Motel
#17 of 19 in Nanaimo
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hummingbird Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hummingbird Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1597 Starbuck Lane, Gabriola Island, British Columbia V0R 1X5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Gabriola Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gabriola Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spaciousness and atmosphere of our 5000 sq.ft. lodge marries beautifully with the luxury, intimacy and pampering of a bed and breakfast. Situated across the street from the ocean, we are an eco-friendly lodge nestled into seven amazing acres of ponds, organic gardens, meadows and wooded areas – decks, windows, wood, antiques, art and nature everywhere. "When it's time to leave time behind..." ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing