We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, great attention to detail”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gabriola Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arbutus Bluff Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Liz made every effort to accommodate our needs, including showing up with a slice of toast at night when I was actually requesting it for breakfast. She tailored the menu to accommodate a child with a severe food allergy and picky palate. When the child played with her exercise equipment, Liz was kind enough to give a demo and told me it was off limits, without making either of us feel bad about it. Barbecue grill was great and we cooked all our meals (Liz did the dishes). Hot tub under the stars is amazing. View is very nice, but not breathtaking.

Only cautions: The double shower design -- like a waterfall on one side, with plants -- looks great, but since there is no actual stall, just a curtain, the water floods the floor. Everything gets wet, if you're not careful.

Plus, when we visited, the island was plagued with wasps. The child (7 y.o.) was afraid to go outside because wasps were all over the short grass. Not nice for playing. This spot is probably nicer for adults. Even I didn't like sitting outside. Gabriola in general seems more run down than I remember it from 10 - 15 years ago.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wai2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2011

Fantastic and memorable experience for us to plan our birthday weekend celebration to include Arbutus Bluff B&B. Yes, Liz warned us our destination was at the top of the hill...but we rode it will ease only 35 minute from the ferry. Liz welcomed us like we were coming home.This B&B is first class. Fantastic view of water and islands. It took only minutes to relax. Loved the heated bathroom floor. The hot tub under the evening moonlight and early morning stars and sunrise was ever so sweet! Liz served a delicious, healthy breakfast, and encouraged us to not rush off. We will cherish our biking and B&B on Gabriola Is. for years to come. Try it ... you will love it.

Room Tip: Either room has first class views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runninghappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This B&B is simply fantastic. The rooms are elegant, the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are sparkling! We booked one night, but as soon as we saw the place, we decided to stay for two night. Liz was just great in accomodating us. The food was to die for. We loved sitting in the hot tub at night looking at the moon and stars. We loved sitting on our little porch watching the ocean as we read. I just can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in, get the west room. Liz is really good about telling you how the sun comes i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kevin_schultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This B&B was absolutely perfect! The room is very nice and clean, Liz prepares a wonderful and delicious breakfast each morning, and the location and view is great. The hot tub outside, which is on a hill overlooking Gabriola Island, was also a wonderful feature. I did a lot of research before selecting our accommodations, and I'm so glad I chose Arbutus Bluff, as it was well worth it. It was excellent and is highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visitor9239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Arbutus Bluff B&B despite coming on a very rainy weekend. The East Coast Room was very cozy but spacious, with a nice fireplace, a comfortable bed, and a clean, large shower with two shower heads. Liz was very welcoming and provided us with all of the information we needed to navigate the house and the island. Breakfast was also very nice. Freshly picked raspberries from the farm next door and lemon muffins were the highlight. All in all, if you want a modern, clean B&B with lovely hospitality, Arbutus Bluff is a wonderful place to stay on Gabriola Island.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms at the B&B so book early during the high season if you want to stay her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandNTravelBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 July 2011

Thank you for your lovely review and the great photos. I especially like the breakfast pic. It was a pleasure to meet you. Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Up a winding drive through the forest at the top of Gabriola Island in Canada's Gulf Islands. This B&B has only two private rooms - but they are special. In the winter, grab a book and curl up under the duvet next to a cozy gas fire (love the cotton bedding and down pillows). Wake up after the best sleep of your life to a morning view over islands and ocean, tempting you out onto the deck. I love the walk-in shower and heated bathroom floors - a treat no matter what time of year it is. Breakfast is wonderful with perfect French Press coffee. In the evening, try a glass of wine in the hot tub. If you like to be online, high speed wireless will make you even happier. Skype home, or check out what's on satellite TV. It's like having your own small cottage, except everything is done.
This is a great place to stay whether you're cycling, driving or walking. Ten minutes to the ferry or shops, but so very private. Liz and Bil are wonderful hosts and have created an oasis here at the top of the island. Great value too :-)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radiantgaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We stayed for two nights in this b & b, the room was lovely and the breakfasts fantastic. Liz went out of her way to help us enjoy our stay on the island. The view from the room cannot be matched, we watched bald eagles fly by from the hot tub. The b & b is also fairly central on the island, so its a great place to explore from. Can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Arbutus Bluff Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Bluff Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1425 Coats Drive, Gabriola Island, British Columbia V0R 1X6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Gabriola Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Gabriola Island
Price Range: £59 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to afford guests privacy and comfort our spacious rooms feature queen size beds, fireplaces, top quality linens and down duvets, en-suite washrooms and more. The hospitality area adjacent to the rooms provides access to refrigerator, microwave, kettle, tea & coffee. Enjoy gazing at the view or the stars from the hot tub. Full breakfast features fresh organic island produce. Relax in our rural setting minutes from beaches, art studios, marinas, restaurants & shopping. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing