We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Johnny's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Johnny's Motel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Grand Forks
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in November and December total of 7 nights. Every time the owner has been great, friendly and helpfully. Rooms are very clean well looked after. Veiw of the river in the morning is great with a cup of coffee. I was able to cook my own meal in the room due to being tired of eating out all the time. I would recommend this hotel. They strive to make you happy. They have new king beds very comfy

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Loopster9974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thanks for your comments, pleased to hear you like the new beds. the kings are very popular. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    55
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
56
76
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here at our first overnight trip to Tucson from Calgary. Our original pet-friendly choice did not seem so bad and would have taken us, but they do not take cats...what a surprise! So, we went to Johnny's, excellent mature staff/owners and they gave us room #2 which had very recently been totally upgraded. Patio view of the river, clean and very reasonable. They charged us far less than the usual pet charge. It is quiet and lovely and deserves to be the #1 rated overnight facility in Grand Forks. As it was early autumn and later in the day, we couldn't enjoy the river view as much, but in the spring and summer, blissful I would imagine.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are especially nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your comments, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are pet lovers, and try to keep pet fees reasonable. We do have designated pet rooms with laminate flooring available if you book in advance, this way we can keep extra charges to a minimum. Hope you get the chance to visit in the warmer weather to enjoy the pool and river next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaltSpring Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Johnny's Motel - is the kind of motel that makes a road trip wonderful, convenient, quiet, pretty site on the river, clean and inexpensive… The staff/owners were lovely and helpful… Well done and thank you for a very pleasant evening in Grand Forks… cheers. MCB

Room Tip: all the rooms have a back entrance with a picnic table and yard - it is lovely for a picnic or ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCBSaltSpringIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thanks for the comments, we are always looking to improve and update. We have a great team at Johnny's, and a great location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights this last summer. Hosts were excellent AND MATURE, which you will not find in big name hotels. Room was surprisingly updated, really clean and a breath of fresh air right by the river. Neat restaurants in town and only a few minutes drive to gorgeous Christina Lake. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to back onto the river and are quite well situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calgarylawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thanks for your comments, really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
167 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

You have to be of a certain age to know what the term "Auto Court" means. Back in the 1950s, the fledging motel industry largely consisted of one or more rows of one-story connectred units, sometimes with car ports seperating each unit, sometimes parking in front of your unit. Each of these units was kind of like an individual little cabin. By today's standards, they were pretty minimal, even spartan. And there aren't many of that kind of motels left. Johnny's is one of those, dating back to about 1952, and named, I think, for one of the family members.

I feel very ambivalent about this property, pondering long about how many stars to give it -- either 3, for average, or 4, for very good. On the plus side was the most gracious hospitality of the owners, who live just behind the reception/front desk area, the nearness to the river, the nice, man-made sandy beach with a table and chairs for enjoying your afternoon drink and a good book, and the comfortable beds. The owners let us look at three different units before deciding, including an upgrade to a "familyunit with two queens in the main room and a smaller bedroom, also with a queen bed. They let us have that room for just $5 more than the price of our standard room, which was very nice of them.

On the quibble side, although there have been improvements and upgrades with new beds, flat screen TVs, large refrigerator, the famiy unti, although it has a microwave, does not have a stove or oven. Why put in a very large refrigerator if you can't cook the food except in a microwave, and not everything can be cooked in a microwave. There were spaces underneath the counter on both sides, which looked as though at one time there was a small under-counter refrigerator, and perhaps either a stove/oven, or a countertop stove with drawers underneath for pots and pans. One of the units we looked at did not have a window on the river side, just a door to access the grassy area and river. That gave that unit a very closed-in feeling. But they have upgraded some of the units that now offer sliding glass doors out to the grassy area and river, a big upgrade. They have a nice looking pool close to the highway, which we did not use. We did take a stroll into town, which is an easy walk, bought some groceries and had a simple dinner in our room of a pretty good frozen entree and Asian salad.

We were driving in our classic 1957 T-Bird, and it felt like it belonged in a motel of this era. In gthe end, weighing all the pluses and the few minuses, we think it deserves a four-star, "very good" rating.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, try to get one of the queen bedded rooms with the sliding glass doors to the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThorneBirdGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thanks for your review. Yes Johnnys motel was named after its founder Johnnys Goffinet, and although we were originally tempted to rename it, the place has such a history, and a regular following we opted to stay with it. It is still referred to as johnnys motor court by many of the locals , and 9 of the units still have carports.
We do have a selectopn of room types all have fridges and microwaves and access to BBQs , and 7 have kitchens. The family suite used to have a small fridge in the space under the counter,, but then we had guests asking for more fridge space as the room can accommodate 6, and so a large fridge arrived, and stayed by popular demand.
7 units have patio doors, they are single queens; the double queens could not be redesigned to accommodate them so instead we put in an external glass storm door, so this way all of our guests can have a view of the riverbank.
So pleased you enjoyed your stay, look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
264 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Management of this hotel are very friendly and along with providing great accommodations, also provided good advice on the town and it's restaurants. I'm not sure what people did before sites like Tripadvisor, as without it's recommendations, I might have driven right past Johnny's Motel. Instead I was treated to a warm and comfortable night in a very clean motel, with a pretty view of the river, by a staff that was very friendly and all at a price that couldn't be beat.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scbcme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thanks for your review, we really appreciate your comments and hope you come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REGINA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This facility is near and there is ready access from the Highway #3. Although our room faced the highway, the hotel is set back that one only hears a limited amount of highway traffic noise. There are a number of various types of restaurants within easy walking distance; as well as a bar. We felt safe walking about the neighbourhood at night.
Our room was of a good size, the bedroom is carpeted with a comfortable queen size bed and the bathroom is tiled. The room was clean, well appointed and amply supplied. The linens were of an enhanced standard. An internet connection is provided at no cost. A small fridge, toaster, kettle and microwave were located in the room. There is a wall mounted large screen television. There were a number of BBQ’s also available.
There a heated outdoor pool which is immaculately maintained. Pool toys are provided for the children.
Although this motel was built in 1952, it is well maintained and clean. The owners are a delight. They have done so many little things to make one’s stay pleasant (a giraffe in the soap dispenser, an upscale bathroom tissue dispenser, pool toys). The setting adjacent to a small river adds to the ambience. A great bargain!

Room Tip: A number of the rooms have a car port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeLDee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thanks for your comments, and pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. We have added a few personal touches along the way, and mostly in response to customer feedback. Some of our rooms are laminate instead of carpet, for those with a preference, and the carports go quickly, so be sure to request at time of booking if this is important to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
1.3 mi away
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
#7 of 15 in Grand Forks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
10.6 mi away
Park Lane Resort & Motel
Park Lane Resort & Motel
#2 of 6 in Christina Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
10.7 mi away
New Horizon Motel
New Horizon Motel
#3 of 6 in Christina Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Western Traveller Motel
Western Traveller Motel
#3 of 15 in Grand Forks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
10.9 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 6 in Christina Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#6 of 15 in Grand Forks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnny's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnny's Motel

Property: Johnny's Motel
Address: 7291 Hwy 3 W | Box 876, Grand Forks, British Columbia V0H 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Johnny's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Canadian hospitality, 1 blk east of city centre with beautiful riverside location. Air-conditioned, refurbished ground level units, queen beds, DD phones, cable TV, fridges, large heated seasonal pool, picnic tables, bbqs, fax service, reasonable rates, free wireless internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Johnny's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing