We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Johnny's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Johnny's Motel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grand Forks
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have stopped at Johnny's for the night every year the last few years, this time though I decided to spend the week.

Clive and Nicky are wonderful hosts, they have amazing work ethic and you see it in the up keep of the motel, they treat the folks (customers) with smiles and warmth. Rooms are nicely appointed and if you are staying a spell like I did they have a everything that is needed so you don't need to spend a fortunate on dinning out,

Your room has a door that opens up to the grass area and river with deer hanging out ...just awesome.

Well done, old fashion service with a smile.

due to the increasing popularity of this little gem, try to book ahead

Room Tip: Every room that i have had has been good, but i do like the ones where you have your private car por...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words, its great to be able to show the team that their hard work is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    61
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
61
86
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks, BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Another successful annual reunion at Johnny's. Everything was superb!
We feel like we are staying with friends.
They do a lot of extras for us and couldn't be more helpful.
the beds are super comfortable and its so quiet even though its just off Hwy.#3.
we look forward to going back again next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Its always great to have you all visit, it marks the real start of our season, and its good to know you feel at home here. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALBERTA
Level Contributor
245 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

EXCELLENT traveller's motel !! First step into the motel room...we both said, "WOW"
Fresh, clean, renovated rooms! The rate for the room is ridiculously low!! Honestly, they should be charging at least another $20/night for these perfectly equipped motel rooms! Front desk was unbelievably warm & welcoming...it feels like they are genuinely happy to have you there! Room has comfortable beds for a great rest and everything else you need is all there. Great location beside the rolling river, the view is tranquil. Car-ports are a neat idea to cover your vehicle. I could've stayed here awhile if we had to. We were travelling with our dogs and the owners also make it very easy for responsible pet owners to care for their pets needs easily and efficiently. HIGHLY RECOMMEND this motel for all of your travel needs!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVEL_LOVER96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thanks for your review, and yes we really do hope that our guests enjoy their stay. We have put our heart and soul into Johnny's so its important to know if we are getting it right and also if there is something more we could do. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Clean, affordable, friendly & super comfy beds. Stayed in a king room & the beds were very comfy. Great location by the river with picnic tables & BBQ available for customers use. Very impressed & highly recommended. Looking forward to a return visit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu-boogaloos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Manager at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
The new king beds have been very popular, we only have 4 so book in advance. Its great now the weather is improving so our guests can enjoy the river and BBQ areas. look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The owner was super friendly, and the price was great. The room was spacious, quiet and very clean. There was no road noise, even though it is near the highway. This is not a luxury destination, but it is a great place to stop on your way through.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thanks for your comments, pleased that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed last night, just picked this place at random from numerous options in town. I can't imagine a better motel, ridiculously friendly owner, a room (#17) that is comparable to many hotels 3 times the price, perfectly clean, modern, big tv, great bed, large spotless bathroom, sliding patio door to a green space right on the river. My dog loved it. Fantastic price, very reasonable dog charge. I doubt I'll have the need to stay overnight again in this town, but would not even consider staying anywhere else if I do.

The only possible negative I can think of (I don't count road noise as every motel has some, and this place was better than most in that regard) was that the in room coffee was dreadful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank budgetroamer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Pleased you enjoyed your visit, and yes we are pet friendly, keeping the pet rate as low as we can so it just covers the cleaning of all the soft furnishings. Sorry you did not like the coffee, we have tried several suppliers and have had the guests actively involved in tasting the choices out there. the product did seem to suffer a little when the brand went organic, and we will keep this in mind, when we renew the contract. If you like your coffee strong ask for extra and double it up when you brew, and if anyone has found a good in house coffee let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I was very impressed with Johnny's due to the fact that it was exceptionally clean and detail oriented. They had upgraded us to a king room/suite and I really loved the fact that the sheets were not motel/hotel standard sheets and were of very good quality. The mattress and box spring were also brand new (I work in hospitality, I look for these things). The furniture was still on the old side but it was obvious that the owners were gradually updating the motel. The lighting was fabulous, including a dimmer, personal lights on both sides of the bed and a new ceiling fan which really was not needed because there was also an air conditioner, but what a lovely feature! In addition; I had forgotten the wall-plug piece for my phone charger and was dismayed, until I saw that the owners had also had ports put in for chargers/computer! I travel quite a bit, and have not seen this in any motel. The room faced the river, which was also wonderful. The only down side was the highway sound, but because the room was so exceptional for a road-side motel, it didn't bother me in the least bit. I am looking forward to staying there again in the summer, when it is warm enough to sit outside at the picnic table and enjoy the sounds of the river. What a great job the owners have done. I love Johnny's!

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are excellent. However, I do know that the king rooms have the wonderful she...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lschmoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thanks for your review, and we are pleased that the king size beds have been so popular, and yes these are the only rooms with non standard bed linen. Most of our upgrades are now finished although as a hotelier you know that you never really finish. As to the solid wood furniture we will stick with that, it looks so much nicer than some of the more modern dressers we put in our newest rooms, and we really don't have the expenditure of the big chain hotels, or the desire to put up our rates to make changes to the dressers and headboards.
We are lucky position wise that the motel is set back from the highway, and traffic on highway 3 is fairly light, but for those who are really light sleepers the queen patio rooms are probably best as they just have a patio door onto the river, rather than the two picture windows front and back which the kings have.
Thanks again for your comments and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
1.3 mi away
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
#7 of 14 in Grand Forks
91 reviews
10.6 mi away
Park Lane Resort & Motel
Park Lane Resort & Motel
#2 of 6 in Christina Lake
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Western Traveller Motel
Western Traveller Motel
#6 of 14 in Grand Forks
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 6 in Christina Lake
66 reviews
10.7 mi away
New Horizon Motel
New Horizon Motel
#3 of 6 in Christina Lake
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#5 of 14 in Grand Forks
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnny's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnny's Motel

Property: Johnny's Motel
Address: 7291 Hwy 3 W | Box 876, Grand Forks, British Columbia V0H 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Johnny's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Canadian hospitality, 1 blk east of city centre with beautiful riverside location. Air-conditioned, refurbished ground level units, queen beds, DD phones, cable TV, fridges, large heated seasonal pool, picnic tables, bbqs, fax service, reasonable rates, free wireless internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Johnny's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing