We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By the river at Johnny's”
Review of Johnny's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Johnny's Motel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grand Forks
Certificate of Excellence
Fergus, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“By the river at Johnny's”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Wonderful and clean and just what we needed. We had a room with a backdoor beside the river. A great place to relax and sit by the river and do nothing. It had all the amenities needed and was recommended to us by a couple in the pub we went to in Grand Forks, as the place that all the salesmen/traveler's used. That was a good enough recommendation for us!

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duals98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thanks for your review, and yes it is great to be able to sit out by the river on warm summers day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    58
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
59
82
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

On My fourth stay in this property, I felt compelled to comment on the overall experience. Johnny's is operated by a couple and a team of support people that care, and provide the best overall experience I've had, in over 300 nights spent in various properties, in the last six years. The rooms are well appointed,and exceptionally clean. The pool is open for the spring and summer months. The rates are low, and return customers are not only remembered, but rewarded. The owners work hard on the entire operation, and the attention to detail is stellar. This property is so well run that it is worth changing Your travel plans to stay here.

Room Tip: Carport area for rainy nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words, its great when we can give the team a pat on the back and let them know the extra care is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

If you love motorcycle touring Johnny's is a must see destination! The motel is very well cared for, on a beautiful location right on the river, has carports to park your bike under and the English owners add a real touch of class. I have rode most of the great motorcycle roads in North America ( have rode more than 15,000 km by the end of May this season) and not stayed at a better Motel for motorcycling. It's worth the ride just to spend some time at Johnny's!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Richiewhoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Appreciate your comments. We have had quite a few more motorcycles pass through this year, and yes the carports are very popular but only seven units have them, so please book in advance when you can as we hate turning people away, and we do have a very lenient cancelations policy. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My son's and I like to do an annual Golf Trip... We've done various locations in BC and Washington State. Usually 1 week... and we have not duplicated... until this year.
We started planning and after a great deal of discussion the question was posed " Why don't we just go back to Johnny's and do last year all over?" It was a unanimous YES!
Right from check in , through our entire stay, the staff of Johnny's couldn't be any friendlier or accommodating. The Motel is well maintained, The location by the river makes it so relaxing, the Barbecues are plentiful and all tools are supplied...The pool is clean and refreshing. Price and value is surprising... We can't wait for our trip this year, and Johnny's is a big part of why its Kootenay Golf for us again this year!.... and it certainly won't be the last time either!

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give us a mention. Its always nice to know we are on the right track, look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This place was pretty good. It was very clean and good value. I went for a school trip and found that the hotel was the best part. I have to make a 200 character minimum but I don't really know what else to say.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Its always good to have you guys stay with us, good luck. Nicky & Clive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
266 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I really like Johnny's Motel in Grand Forks. It is an older style motel that has been completely renovated and modernized. The location next to the river is a plus with outside tables and BBQ's available for those who'd like a little more time to enjoy the picturesque setting.

What really sets Johnny's apart though is the fantastic customer service. On a recent trip helping a friend move we arrived at Johnny's at around 10:45 only to find the office had closed at 10:00. While debating what to do the office light came on and one of the owners, Clive came to the door to say that he had been preparing for bed when he heard us pull in. He quickly found us an available room and got us checked in and our vehicles (including the large moving truck) parked.

We left again early the next morning, but I could not have been happier with the kind and cheerful service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scbcme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
We do usually close around 10pm, unless we know you are en route, and for late arrivals we make special arrangements. Pleased that we could accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We were road tripping from Colorado to Whistler and Vancouver and crossed the border and decided on staying a night in a bed instead of our car and we decided on Johnnys motel. It was perfect, great hosts, perfect clean room and bed and definitely what we needed after 20 hours of driving. I'm originally from England and was great to speak to a fellow Brit (Clive who owns/runs the place) who couldn't do enough to help us and he had to problems with us staying for just one night. If we're ever on another road trip that way, we won't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neza22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
1.3 mi away
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
#8 of 14 in Grand Forks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
10.6 mi away
Park Lane Resort & Motel
Park Lane Resort & Motel
#3 of 6 in Christina Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Western Traveller Motel
Western Traveller Motel
#6 of 14 in Grand Forks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
New Horizon Motel
New Horizon Motel
#2 of 6 in Christina Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
10.9 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 6 in Christina Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#3 of 14 in Grand Forks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnny's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnny's Motel

Property: Johnny's Motel
Address: 7291 Hwy 3 W | Box 876, Grand Forks, British Columbia V0H 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Johnny's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Canadian hospitality, 1 blk east of city centre with beautiful riverside location. Air-conditioned, refurbished ground level units, queen beds, DD phones, cable TV, fridges, large heated seasonal pool, picnic tables, bbqs, fax service, reasonable rates, free wireless internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Johnny's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing