We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Value”
Review of Johnny's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Johnny's Motel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grand Forks
Certificate of Excellence
Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Service and Value”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed at Johnny's this weekend and was very impressed. The owners are delightful and the rooms very clean. Some rooms even have a carport. I loved being able to sit outside and have a morning coffee and enjoy the river view. Shopping, restaurants and are just a few minutes walk away. I would definitely stay at Johnny's again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
It is a great location and so close to the town centre. Thanks for your comments, come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    62
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
63
91
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

A great stay to an eventful trip through British Columbia. Great location, nice town, and good services close by. Staff were wonderful, and know how to take care of guests. Clear that they were reinvesting into the business and community. Would definitely stay again and recommend to anybody!!
Actually stayed in May 2013

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It is a great community and we are fortunate to have found Johnny's. We have a great team here and its nice to be able to tell them that their hard work is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

As a motorcyclist touring the country with friends we always spend a night at Johnny's and are never disappointed. Clive and his wife, the owners, have done a marvelous job of putting this little hideaway on the map.
Spotlessly clean accommodations, great service, barbecue facilities and a clean pool,along with peaceful relaxing grounds on the bank of the river make this gem a stay for us every time we go through Grand Forks!!
Give it a try..you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Its great that you wrote us a review, we are getting quite a lot of guests on motorcycles this year, so thanks for spreading the word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

To begin with a lovely welcome from one of the owners. Always a good start!
We had 2 rooms (19&20) both were spotlessly clean and tidy. The furnishings where good quality, of a little dated. But hey, for the price you pay, it's excellent value. Plentiful parking as well.
Could we find fault with this Motel? No. And nor will you!

If you use the outside space, please be mindful of the Mosquitos, though.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank doolally_w7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Appreciate your review, we did consider moving away from the mahogany look, but there is always something more important on the shopping list so the new soft furnishings and mattresses won. Pleased you enjoyed your stay, come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The owners--a British couple--are extremely nice and they clearly take pride in their hotel. We had a surprisingly large cabin with well-equipped kitchenette, large bathroom (looked newly-remodeled), and two bedrooms. Everything was spotlessly clean. Beds were comfortable. The hotel is on the main road entering Grand Forks (coming from the east) and backs onto the river. They were very welcoming to my dogs and I enjoyed walking them on the banks of the river behind the hotel. We were only there one night but I'd have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth Aura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us a mention. We finished the last of the remodels last year, now we just have to keep working at maintaining the standards.
We are always pleased to welcome pet owners, we only charge a nominal fee which genuinely does go towards extra cleaning. If you are travelling with pets try and let us know in advance so that we can find the right room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LETHBRIDGE
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This would be a great place to make your home base while exploring the area. Our room was a spacious kitchenette, with even a second bedroom! Great folks doing a great job of looking after everything. Grounds are well cared for, rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, and don't forget, there's even a pool. Might have to make my next trip last a little longer just to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIKE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we are just starting our tenth year at Johnny's and have just about got the place how we like it, we do feel fortunate to have stumbled upon this great location. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chetwynd b.c.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here 3 times in the past four months while house hunting and finally moving to Grand Forks. This is a very nice looking motel situated close to the Granby river and most of the rooms have a back door that opens up to a small private patio a lawn area with picnic tables along the bank of the river. The owners are
Clive and Nicky Robinson who are extremely friendly and helpful (we came back twice) . The rooms are spacious and have a microwave and fridge, They are also extremely clean, the beds are great, linens and towels are white and fresh. To top it all off the room rates are really reasonable. You cannot go wrong in choosing this accommodation.

Room Tip: some of the rooms have firm mattresses and some have pillow top. You may have a choice of either if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Pleased that you enjoyed your stay, house moving can be very stressful so its good you could unwind a little.
Mattress preference can be tricky so this year we opted for mostly medium firm, but we do have some firm ones as well, if you do have a special preference please let us know at the time of booking and we will do our best to accommodate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
1.3 mi away
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
#5 of 14 in Grand Forks
97 reviews
10.6 mi away
Park Lane Resort & Motel
Park Lane Resort & Motel
#2 of 6 in Christina Lake
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Western Traveller Motel
Western Traveller Motel
#8 of 14 in Grand Forks
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 6 in Christina Lake
67 reviews
10.7 mi away
New Horizon Motel
New Horizon Motel
#3 of 6 in Christina Lake
114 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Victorian Motel and RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnny's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnny's Motel

Property: Johnny's Motel
Address: 7291 Hwy 3 W | Box 876, Grand Forks, British Columbia V0H 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Johnny's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Canadian hospitality, 1 blk east of city centre with beautiful riverside location. Air-conditioned, refurbished ground level units, queen beds, DD phones, cable TV, fridges, large heated seasonal pool, picnic tables, bbqs, fax service, reasonable rates, free wireless internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Johnny's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing