We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise.”

Happy Days 50's Diner
Ranked #16 of 48 Restaurants in Grand Forks
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Just driving around grand forks on a Sunday morning looking for somewhere to eat breakfast. This was the only place open.Wow,came in and the food was so delish, especially the bread.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    11
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful service”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

While visiting for the Grand Forks International Baseball Tournament, we decided to stop in for breakfast. It was seat yourself, but the tables with open seats had not been bussed/cleaned. One table in our group had drink orders taken and the server did not seem to notice the old dishes from the previous customers. When she returned with drinks, the table had to request the dirty dishes be removed.

It mostly appeared that there were not enough staff for the amount of customers until an hour went by and we asked about our food. The server told us that they were preparing their "regulars" orders ahead of ours (even though we had already been there over an hour). After another 45 minutes, the meals finally arrived.

Another table in our group tried to order a to-go meal, hoping it would be ready by the time we finished breakfast; but we waited 40 minutes past paying for breakfast and ultimately had to cancel the to-go order.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eojung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Coffee and a sweet treat”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Casual drop in while travelling. Staff seemed disorganized. One waitress in and out of the kitchen area several times without acknowledging my presence. Other waitress nodded her head. With the open kitchen concept, could see two cooks, very busy, probably to busy to even look up from their work. Finally got to order coffee and butter tart. Waitress did not know price, asked second waitress who looked at a chart on the back of the cooler and said charge it the same as a cinnamon bun. Thinking one cinnamon bun would equal two butter tarts - mistaken. $2.89 for a single butter tart. Paid, but had to wait while waitress took food orders out, not once, not twice, but three times - single plate each time! Took my seat at the counter and waited and waited and finally got my coffee. Oh well, I wasn't in a hurry and the butter tart was delicious.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeeCreekRancher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“In a word, horrible.”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stopped in Grand Forks for Ice Cream while passing through with our small children. We were going to go to the ice cream shop but I noticed that this 50's diner had 'Ice Cream' listed right on top of their sign...

Too bad that the ice cream was made in the 1950s. All 3 ice cream cones were badly freezer burnt. How could anybody feel right about serving this to anyone? If they messed up his badly with ice cream cones, one can only imagine how awful the cooking is.

The 50s ambience was a half baked attempt except for the red kitchen table that was identical to what my grandparents had when I was a kid...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottfromBlackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pancakes”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Very short walk from Johnny's, woke up with pancakes on the mind and stomach, stopped in at Happy Days, awesome 50's decor , very good blueberry pancakes, will be stopping by in future to see how their supper menu is, service was friendly and quick.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Happy Days 50's Diner also viewed

Grand Forks, British Columbia
Grand Forks, British Columbia
 
Grand Forks, British Columbia
Christina Lake, Grand Forks
 

Been to Happy Days 50's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing