We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great fresh food, creative combinations”
Review of The Wooden Spoon Bistro - MOVED

The Wooden Spoon Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$11
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: OPEN MONDAY- SATURDAY 8:00AM-3:00PM The Wooden Spoon Bistro is located in Grand Forks, BC just off the main highway! We offer breakfast, lunch, espresso/specialty coffees, smoothies, baked goods, soups and more! Everything is made in house, with fresh ingredients and local where we can! We served organic Fair trade spirit bear Coffee and LOCAL organic loose leaf house made teas!! Summer we offer patio out door seating, as well as seating inside. TAKE OUT AVAILABLE CATERING AVAILABLE up to 300 people!:)
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great fresh food, creative combinations”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

There's no place like this in Grand Forks. Kayla has put together some of the most mouth-watering dishes that make me want to try them all. Very generous portions, lots of gooey deserts (big portions!) and a fun atmosphere. This place is a sleeper from the outside, but the addition of the sitting deck makes it much more inviting . Its one of those places you almost don't want to tell the world about, its that good!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lub0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    11
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Must stop in”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The best food I have had in a long time!!! The flavour combinations are amazing. You have to try it out!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foxleyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home town girl makes incredible food !”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

love eating here but agree about the pace of which you get the food but who's in a hurry when the sun is shining.I LOVE the smashing pumpkin and breakfast bruschetta served by friendly staff !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigcubsfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh little bistro of delights”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Have been hearing great things about The Wooden Spoon since they opened. Lunched there twice in the last couple of weeks and love this place. The menu has a fresh approach and there is something fun and youthful about the atmosphere. The Mediterranean panini is fantastic. Had a tough time deciding the next visit, chose another great panini, this time with chicken (can't recall name). Added a side salad, a colorful surprise of greens, black beans, corn, etc and the perfect amount of cilantro. My friend simply asked for a gluten-free variation of a standard menu item - no problem. I haven't tried any desserts or baked goods. Prices are very reasonable. Both times I was there were Saturdays and it was busy. We had a short wait but it was surprising how quickly they put together everything fresh. It was full of patrons happily chatting away - that says something about a place. Even though it is just off the main street through town, obviously it has been discovered - and so it should be.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not speedy but......”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I was in Grand Forks waiting on a windshield replacement, I have tried various Coffee Houses and the usual fast food outlets but this place put them all to shame. While certainly not fast, maybe preorder if you are pressed for time, the food is exactly as described, fresh, and ample in proportion. I was quite honestly stunned and amazed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bucat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thymeintime, Owner at The Wooden Spoon Bistro, responded to this review, 2 February 2015
Thank you for the nice review of The Wooden Spoon Bistro - We are glad you were overly happy with your lunch!
We do encourage pre-ordering to all of our local businesses, so it does work really well with people on time frames. We are proud of making everything fresh and to order, which can have a little bit of a wait.
We are always looking for suggestions on making us that much better... so thank you for the comments.

Hopefully see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wooden Spoon Bistro also viewed

Grand Forks, British Columbia
Christina Lake, Grand Forks
 
Christina Lake, Grand Forks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing