We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Russian food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omega Restaurant II

Omega Restaurant II
Ranked #18 of 45 Restaurants in Grand Forks
Cuisines: Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic Russian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Definitely try this place on your way through Grand Forks if you like Russian food. Try the Russian combo plate. I was skeptical because the waitress didn't seem to recognize any of the Russian dishes we ordered from the menu, but the potato dumplings were divine, and the cabbage rolls were very tasty. Excellent Doukhobor-style borscht. This is not a cheap meal, but it is a huge amount of food and you could definitely share it between two people if you ordered a second bowl of soup.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kmc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    29
    32
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great bowl of borscht”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stopped the other day for a quick lunch and chose to have borscht. It was thick and delicious the way we like it. Found out later it was made by one of the waitresses who just happens to be Russian so is nice to know it is authentic Russian borsht. It comes with a thick piece of bread.Awesome!!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlegar, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Vegetarian sandwich??”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stopped by the Omega for lunch on our way through Grand Forks. I myself ordered a toasted lettuce and tomato sandwich......VERY SIMPLE. How can something like that get screwed up?? Guess what? It came with bacon. Vegetarians DON"T eat bacon. Should have never been charged for this meal, but was.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vegetariangirl501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unbeliveable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Went there today like i do most weekends. Ordered what i always do. The hashbrowns were off. Tasted like the oil was rancid. Sent it back and said i didnt want a replacement. Waitress says that mike the owner said the breakfast was fine and to charge me. She tried to plead my case as a regular. He said no. My companion agreed there was something wrong and didnt eat hers. As we sat there another plate went back to the kitchen. Never again...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Bbourrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You have to eat here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Stopped here on way through, and were met by a bubbly lady as we walked through the door. We were seated in minutes and given a choice of menu or small buffet. We took a look and chose the buffet and weren't disappointed. Food was great as was the attitude in the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Omega Restaurant II also viewed

Grand Forks, British Columbia
Grand Forks, British Columbia
 
Grand Forks, British Columbia
Grand Forks, British Columbia
 
Grand Forks, British Columbia
Grand Forks, British Columbia
 

Been to Omega Restaurant II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing