We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape the City and breath ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rowena's Inn on the River
Certificate of Excellence
White Rock, B.C.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Escape the City and breath ...”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We live in White Rock, part of Metro Vancouver, and a leisurely two hours from Rowena's Inn. Take Hwy. 7 from Mission to wind down, stop for lunch at a local pub, to de-pressurize for arrival at Pretty Estates, Rowena's Inn and Sandpiper Golf Course.

The golf course is a walk in a park of 180 ft. Douglas firs, river and mountain views and a video feed of an eagle nest. Check out Hancock Wildlife Foundation, Harrison Mills Nest. The course is good couples or family golf and challenging enough for the low handicapper, very walkable.

The inn is the original Pretty family home, that has been renovated and contains all the original furniture and decorations. There is a lot of history here and the delightful Betty-Anne, still a resident and original family member will gladly share it. Antique furnishings mean not modern therefore if you must have the latest accoutrements, book a big resort. On the other hand, my wife was touching, sitting and mesmerized by every piece. To sleep in Betty-Anne's room with a big antique bed designed for a late British opera singer surrounded by real closet, sitting area and make up table plus a very modern and functional bathroom is an alternate universe to today's hyperactive pace.

The restaurant, Rowena's Edge Restaurant, is small, well appointed with a lovely heated deck overlooking the river. The food is better than country inn fare. In fact, we grazed through the sinfully addictive baked local brie, a house made tomato bisque to bring tears, wild salmon cakes and butter chicken. We are not big entree eaters, but there are tremendous local options from lamb to pork to duck available. Deserts are large portions and just plain bad ... for your waistline, diet discipline and resolution to never overindulge. The house made cinnamon fried chips dusted with sugar, drizzled with house made caramel and a bowl of vanilla bean ice cream is adult food designed by ten year olds. Great fun. Besides the view, the large HD TV constant stream of the eagle nest on the 10th hole keeps diners mesmerized.

Breakfast for inn guests is served at a communal round table in Betty-Anne's spacious kitchen, complete with marble prep. surfaces, and is solid, beautifully presented country start to the day. My hot cakes were light, the sausages meaty with a bit of spice, and eggs perfectly done sunny side up. Coffee, muffins, all the condiments and juice are part of this substantial inn complimentary breakfast.

Cost for golf, dinner, room at the inn was less than my previous week's stay at a large resort up the road. But, Rowena's requires that to truly enjoy this oasis by the river ... you must exhale.

Room Tip: Inn rooms are upstairs and therefore can be hot in summer weather. Ask for a fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgentandArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer D, Public Relations Manager at Rowena's Inn on the River, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for paying such attention to detail. We think it's quite magical as well. Your review means so much to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    49
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
18
122
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Great rooms, location/views, service, front office but a tired mattress, burnt out light bulbs and uninspired breakfast presentation lowered our rating of this B&B. Winter pricing made it a good value but after March 31st it will be overpriced.

Room Tip: Avoid Charlie's Room as it is VERY small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grumpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer D, Public Relations Manager at Rowena's Inn on the River, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for the feedback! We really appreciate your review and are always aiming to improve the guest experience. Would love to have you return and will be posting new offers on Trip Advisors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

A short drive from home in Port Moody and we felt like we had gone back in time. Tranquil and quiet, charming and full of history it was wonderful to experience a place that has meant so much to many generations of the Pretty family. The original buildings are beautiful and well kept. The 4 log cabins are rustic and comfortable but equipped to a high standard. Loved the breakfast delivered in a picnic basket to our cabin door!
It was lovely to meet Betty Anne (one of the remaining children of the original family) in the restaurant during dinner, her and her husband live in the manor that offers elegant rooms B&B style.
The service and food at the Rivers Edge restaurant was wonderful!
We can't wait to return in warmer weather!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaniaS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer D, Public Relations Manager at Rowena's Inn on the River, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you TaniaS1!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed two nights. One night in the INN, and one night in the cottage. Staying in the INN was like staying in someones house. So a true B & B. You can hear everything. We prefer more privacy. The cottage was nice. Big fire place, 4 poster king bed, little deck, spa tub, heated floors.
Our complaint with the cottage we have that it has a tin roof so it gets really loud when its raining and no insulation,so got a little cold. Also all the cabinets need to be re hung as their falling off.
We enjoyed the complimentary cheese plate each day and breakfast. The only challenge with the breakfast was when they bring it to your cottage at 9am and you want to sleep in a bit longer, it will be ice cold.So My suggestion to the manager was bring it in a warmer of some kind or be flexible on the time you can have the breakfast delivered to you. I believe you can eat in the restaurant if you like, which I wish we new.
The staff was very friendly, and helpful and made you feel very welcomed. That was nice.
A highlight for us was skiing at Hemlock. Takes 20 minutes and your skiing. The golf course looks great too.
I feel if you stayed in the summer time and paid $325, plus taxes, it's a bit steep. There are deals in the winter time that make it more reasonable to stay.
We would return to golf, watch the eagles, walk the property and have lunch. If they had a great deal on for the cottage we would consider staying a night.We would not stay in the INN again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsFoodie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer D, Public Relations Manager at Rowena's Inn on the River, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Hi Mrs. Foodie,

We value our guests, and take all of our reviews very seriously. Thank you for the feedback. We think the location is magical as well. It's quite the hidden gem. Our travellers definitely have different preferences. Some love the B&B rooms and others want that rustic cottage experience. Just wanted to let you know that we have off-season specials. Right now there is the Winter Stay special, which is valid until March 31st! The first night at either the inn or the cottage is regular price, but the second price is 50% off. http://www.prettyestateresort.com/package/winter-escape-time-sensitive/

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The new wedding coordinator is terrible! What a disappointment. The old coordinator Kayla was wonderful but she has since gone elsewhere and her replacement Shiloh was disappointing. It is a nice venue but not worth the trouble. We will be take our business elsewhere.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer D, Public Relations Manager at Rowena's Inn on the River, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Laura,

We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with our Wedding Coordinator. Customer feedback is extremely important to us, and we would like to follow up with you to further pinpoint the issues you encountered. Could you please contact our Toll Free at 1.877.796.1001 and ask for our Public Relations and Marketing Manager?

Most Sincerely,
Pretty Estates Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Last spring I promised myself to return for the Bald Eagle Festival in November. I missed the big day, but went two weeks later. There were thousands on the Harrison River.
I was given one of the cottages beside the inn, my first time in one. The weather was gloomy with heavy rain on two days, but I could see twenty-four Bald Eagles in a tree from my door, more on a gravel bar from my deck, and many soaring above.
Inside was cosy, with the fire ready to be lit. There was a small kitchen but no M/W or stove. The bed was a huge four-poster. The modern bathroom had a double Jacuzzi, a heated slate floor, and a separate shower. No phones, no TV. Bliss! The only downer was very wonky wireless, which as a writer was a nuisance.
A huge picnic hamper arrived at 9am the next morning with my breakfast - a big one. OJ, muffins, carafe of coffee, Eggs Benedict, toast, etc. Enough for two, not one!
The other two meals of the day are available at the excellent River's Edge restaurant next door to the inn. Always good food here and a solid winelist.
After breakfast, I walked out towards the "flats" that lie to the east of the inn tripping over salmon carcasses that had been stripped by the eagles. Took many photos of many eagles. Ended the walk having Afternoon Tea in the inn with the owner, Betty Anne. This is a gracious reminder of a slower-paced, bygone era and a must-do while you're here.
On my last day, I had the pleasure of taking a boat safari to observe the eagles more closely. Rain had ended and this tour was a highlight of my time in Harrison Mills.
Rowena's is always a safe bet for a quiet getaway (at any season) only an hour and a half from Vancouver. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong here - all rooms and cottages are delightful. if you want absolute privacy, ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotosbyPharos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer D, Public Relations Manager at Rowena's Inn on the River, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for the ah-mazing review! We can't wait to have you back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Absolutely perfect getaway! Idyllic spot, immaculate "rustic" cabins, gorgeous views of river and snow capped mountains, eagles, trumpeter swans. Everything was to perfection.....cheese platter with great local wine upon arrival....ready to go fire, robes, heated floors......super service in the restaurant , yummy food...........luxurious spa like jacuzzi, heated tile floors, roaring stone fireplace, iPod dock/system......Waking up to the sounds of birds and sunrise over the river.....breakfast served to the minute, hot and delicious.....

Didn't want to leave....definitely will be back.

A hidden gem.....shhhhhh

Room Tip: stayed in Nelson's Cottage....closest to the river, unobstructed view over golf course. All are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perfectiontrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer D, Guest Relations Manager at Rowena's Inn on the River, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrison Mills
7.9 mi away
Harrison Beach Hotel
Harrison Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Harrison Hot Springs
519 reviews
7.9 mi away
Harrison Lake Hotel
Harrison Lake Hotel
#6 of 8 in Harrison Hot Springs
134 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hot Spring Villa Hotel
Hot Spring Villa Hotel
#4 of 8 in Harrison Hot Springs
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Harrison Hot Springs Resort & Spa
Harrison Hot Springs Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Harrison Hot Springs
3,453 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sasquatch Crossing EcoLodge
Sasquatch Crossing EcoLodge
#1 of 4 in Harrison Mills
26 reviews
7.3 mi away
Eagle Tree Lodge
Eagle Tree Lodge
#2 of 2 in Agassiz
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowena's Inn on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowena's Inn on the River

Property: Rowena's Inn on the River
Address: 14282 Morris Valley Rd., Harrison Mills, British Columbia V0M 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Harrison Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Harrison Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rowena's Inn on the River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world opulence blends with new world convenience. Secluded on a 160-acre estate Rowena’s Inn on the River is a grand, English-style manor that was converted into a boutique resort. The rooms offer waterfront or garden views, and sumptuous king-size beds, dressed in deluxe duvets, feather pillows and crisp linens. Large windows bathe the European-infused elegance in natural light, and the furniture exemplifies a timeless stylishness. The cottages have heated-slated floors, deep-soaker jacuzzi tubs for two, glassed-in showers and handcrafted, river rock wood-burning fireplaces.Rowena’s outstanding personalized service and attention to detail is guaranteed with only five rooms in the Inn, a two-bedroom gatehouse and four luxurious cabins. Professional, courteous staff has become an unquestioned hallmark of Rowena’s Inn through a commitment to responsive and attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Rowena's Inn on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowena`s Hotel Harrison Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing