We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1,2, 3 Strikes, you're out!! Would be nice to actually get served”

Club House Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lougheed Hwy
Description: West Coast casual fare focused on sourcing quality local ingredients. River's Edge has the best view in the Lower Mainland. Home to Rowena's Inn on the River.
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The last three times we've been to this place:
3rd last: Waited over 45 minutes for breakfast. Nothing special about the food.
2nd last: Walked out after being seated and getting a cup of coffee and that was it after waiting 30 minutes plus.
Last time: Seated and ignored for 30 minutes. They had the staff, but not the organization. Walked out again.
I've heard tell the food is good. But to paraphrase a saying, "The proof of the food is in the eating"....
After leaving we went down to Kilby and had quite a nice lunch. Took them about 10 minutes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank wwhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer D, Public Relations Manager at Club House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Not sure what happened during your visit, but we would like to invite you back so you can experience River's Edge the way it's intended to be. Please follow up directly with our marketing department at http://www.prettyestateresort.com/contact-us/ .

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had dinner at the Rivers Edge and both our meals were wonderful. I had the ribs and my partner had the pasta primevera with scallops. Both meals were plated beautifully and came on warmed plates, always for me a sign of a fine restaurant.
The restaurant has a very cosy feel about it. It is divided into two sections, and I am assuming one for more casual/quicker dining and the other for more formal dining, but could be very wrong in that. We were close to the fire place and it was lovely to sit and relax there.
This restaurant also provides the breakfasts for Rowena's Inn, located next door. The breakfasts we had were truly fine...salmon crepes and classic eggs benedict.
This restaurant is associated with Sandpiper Golf course and all those golfers are very lucky to have such a place to eat. It is definitely not your average golf course eatery.

Thank suzabella60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer D, Public Relations Manager at Club House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

A 'two thumbs' up thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I have eaten here a few times, usually after a round of golf. We have experienced good service on occasion but more often than not, it's disappointing. This latest visit was more of the same. We were seated almost reluctantly with the waitress looking at her watch while seating us (at 7:30 p.m., - not late)...She buzzed by saying she'd bring our menus right away...closer to 10 minutes before we saw her again...the whole meal was like that. Food was delicious as usual but the waitress seemed to disappear after that, didn't ask how the food was, she did come before the food was served and take a refill order for my husband and asked me insistently to have a 2nd drink. We waited over 20 minutes to see her again to get the bill. It's disappointing that great food and location is tempered with mediocre service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sharon_and_Rob35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer D, Public Relations Manager at Club House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

That mediocre service will no longer be an issue. We were in the middle of hiring a new F&B Manager, so the restaurant was on its own for about 6 weeks. We are thrilled with our new addition as of the end of this month who will serve our guests with the highest standard of care.Thank you for your post!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband and I live in the area and since there aren't many places to eat we occasionally go to Rivers Edge. The view is great especially on a beautiful day. Unfortunately, the service is at times comical. The servers are all very nice and I don't believe it's their fault that there is so much confusion rather a lack of management and direction. Tables are served out of order and sometimes you can sit for 10 minutes before anyone takes your drink order. We usually go on weekends and we've never seen a manager. Hopefully changes with management will be made soon so that the restaurant will fit it's location.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank KLV2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer D, Public Relations Manager at Club House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

You're absolutely correct. We were in the midst of hiring a new F&B Manager and wanting an excellent hire we took the time needed to find a strong leader. I'm happy to say that we have hired a new Manager and he starts at the end of this month. River's Edge will have the leadership and provide the service that our guests deserve and have come to expect. Thank you for your honesty. We are always listening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Lovely setting on the golf course. Food and service always first class. Menu is diverse and they have good "specials".

1  Thank JannietheQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer D, Public Relations Manager at Club House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Club House Restaurant also viewed

Harrison Mills, British Columbia
Harrison Mills, British Columbia
 

Been to Club House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing