We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Halcyon Hot Springs
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Nakusp
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My husband and I were told about Halcyon by a friend who had stayed there on her way to Kelowna. She recommended it highly, so we decided to check it out. We arrived on a Friday afternoon. Check-in was smooth. We had reserved a queen cottage and were put in Purcell. We also took the meal package, where you get $100/day to spend in their restaurant on site. The vouchers are divided in $20 increments and change is not given, so watch out for that. We opted to just charge the difference to our room so as not to lose any of our $200 in credits.

Purcell was a nice little cottage. I liked that the front door actually overlooks the hill at the back, making it feel a bit more private than it looks as the cottage is in the middle of the RV park. It is a small little cottage with a TV, microwave, fridge, little table, bathroom with shower, and bed. It was small, but comfortable. You can rent movies from the front desk for around $3.50. There is free wifi, however it can be a bit slow. This is not really a problem, however, as sitting on the computer is not what we wanted to do on our vacation.

The hot springs are very nice, and pretty busy. They have a cold pool, warm pool, and hot pool. After 9 pm it is a quiet time, and most people are pretty good about observing this. We didn't check out the main pool, but there were always lots of people using it, so it must have been nice. I did check out the fitness room and it was quiet first thing in the morning (just me and one other person).

The food in the restaurant was excellent. The wait staff did manage to mess up my husband's order literally every meal, though. They were quick to fix it, however. Try the striploin!

We also drove into Nakusp on Saturday and found it to be a charming little town.

Overall, we had a very relaxing weekend and a very nice break.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arrowrootcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalcyonHotSprings, General Manager at Halcyon Hot Springs, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your nice review. We are happy that you had the chance to enjoy our amenities, the new gym, the pools, the restaurant and hope to see you back for another stay.

Thank you again!

With kind regards,

Sabine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    164
    63
    30
    21
See reviews for
120
237
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We arrived mid afternoon , had a lovely cabin with a view of the lake . Had the time to try the 4 pools , various temperatures , very pleasant .
Then we had dinner there as well , the staff was very friendly and the food good

Room Tip: With a view of the lake is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elisabethle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalcyonHotSprings, General Manager at Halcyon Hot Springs, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for visiting Halcyon Hot Springs. Our team is very happy that you enjoyed the stay, our pools and amenities and we all hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,

Sabine Burmeister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We made a day trip from Fauquier (where incidentally Sabine rents out a lovely loft cabin on the Arrow Lakes) and treated ourselves to a swim and lunch.
The pool and 3 tubs are stunning and relaxing; much nicer facilities than average ski resort hot tub with crowd obsessed with 6 packs;-). Great views of lake and mountains ,comfy loungers. We had passes to swim but they still did get you for towels.

We were duly impressed with quality of Kingfisher fare. Way better than expected pub fare. Wife had chicken burger which was real (not recon) meat, fresh ingredients. Son's burger was piping hot and perfect. Same for my portobello burger. Pickled onions were nice touch. I would come back here in heartbeat especially after a few dodgy road food experiences.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepeflyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalcyonHotSprings, General Manager at Halcyon Hot Springs, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for the review of Halcyon Hot Springs and especially thank you for the praise of our Kingfisher Restaurant. We hope to see you back soon.

With best regards,

Sabine Burmeister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked this place on our way home coming from a hiking vacation and it was so relaxing. Very nice place, tasteful facilities, dead quiet at night. As for the pools: they are amazing. Nice people around, all in all a great place. We will go back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anorev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalcyonHotSprings, General Manager at Halcyon Hot Springs, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for the lovely review and we all hope that we will see you back again soon.

We are in a great area for hiking and other outdoor activities and it is nice that you could enjoy some of this treasure of the Kootenays.

Kind regards,

Sabine Burmeister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

After spending a night at Nakusp Hotsprings we stopped the next day at Halcyon. We didnt use the facility it was too expensive for us after the cheap stay at Nakusp! Otherwise the place is stunning and you understand they use that place for big meeting, retreat and reception,its very chic. The view on Upper arrow lake is wonderful. They also have cabins to rent, a spa and the rent kayak. We went to the resto Kingfisher go check that review too ;)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalcyonHotSprings, General Manager at Halcyon Hot Springs, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for visiting Halcyon Hot Springs. Our team is happy that you liked our amenities. Regarding our pricing structure please look up our rates on the website and you will find that we accommodate to a wide range of budgets.

Kind regards,

Sabine Burmeister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We recently spent two nights at Halcyon.

We found our rooms (had to change rooms to accommodate our last minute booking) to be very clean. And as always we love our visit to these hot spring pools, they are easily the best hot springs we have visited in all of BC.

We had one small hiccup, the check-in staff told us we could not stay in our room while our next room was cleaned. But in the morning staff was very sorry that we had already left our room, as they did not want us inconvenienced.

All in all another great trip to one of our favourite BC hideaways!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalcyonHotSprings, General Manager at Halcyon Hot Springs, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoy Halcyon Hot Springs Village and Spa. Thank you for returning again and again and we hope to see you soon for another relaxing stay at the Springs.

With kind regards,

Sabine
Halcyon Hot Springs Village and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

One of the best restaurants in the area. Period. Chef is magician he managed to redefine of pork preparation/cooking. I would disagree with some comments on overpriced food. It worth every penny you paid.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rinatsouthpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalcyonHotSprings, General Manager at Halcyon Hot Springs, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your nice review of our Kingfisher Restaurant. We are proud of the quality of food created by Chef Tyler Leeson and hope that you will return soon for another visit to Halcyon Hot Springs Village and Spa.

Kind regards,

Sabine
Halcyon Hot Springs Village and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nakusp
18.4 mi away
Huckleberry Inn
Huckleberry Inn
#5 of 5 in Nakusp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
25.0 mi away
Mulvehill Creek Wilderness Inn and Wedding Chapel
28.7 mi away
Rock Island Resort
Rock Island Resort
#3 of 8 in Nakusp
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crazy Creek Resort
Crazy Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Malakwa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kicking Horse Kabins
Kicking Horse Kabins
#11 of 42 in Golden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Hot Springs

Property: Halcyon Hot Springs
Address: 5655 Highway 23, Nakusp, British Columbia V0G 1R0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nakusp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Nakusp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Halcyon Hot Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake, mountains, natural hot springs, wilderness, comfort, fun and serenity... there is so much to explore at Halcyon Hot Springs Village and Spa. Experience the beauty of the Kootenays and our exceptional amenities.The famous Halcyon Hot Springs Lithia Waters have a unique combination of minerals that are very relaxing and beneficial for a variety of ailments. The cascading pools are constantly supplied with fresh hot springs water.Swirl away tensions in our natural mineral spring pools while gazing over serene Arrow Lake and the Monashee Mountain range. Enjoy the outstanding cuisine in the Kingfisher Restaurant or a pampering treatment at the Spa at Halcyon. Relax along the shoreline or explore the waters of Arrow Lake from the dock or by canoe or kayak.The resort is open year round and winters are magical. Heliski with CMH or explore the trails surrounding Halcyon Hot Springs with snowshoes or cross country skis. Or visit the new Revelstoke Mountain for a day of lift skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Halcyon Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Hot Springs Hotel Nakusp
Halcyon Hot Springs Nakusp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing