We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean, comfortable and friendly...a great value!”
Review of Selkirk Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nakusp
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Selkirk Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Nakusp
Montreal
1 review
“very clean, comfortable and friendly...a great value!”
Reviewed 25 February 2010

I just returned from a business trip to Nakusp and really enjoyed my stay at the Selkirk Inn. Is it the Four Seasons? No, but for the price and level of cleanliness it's a great value and I will stay here again when I return. The owners are very friendly and I enjoyed chatting with them at the end of the day.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hockeyfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    34
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
26
18
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

I've been staying at the Selkirk Inn for several years now whenever I've been in Nakusp for business. The owners are very hospitable and I've enjoyed my stay every time. The rooms are clean and neat. All restaurants are in walking distance, so location is not an issue.

For a small town, you won't find a better motel to stay at. I will continue to be my choice for accommodation whenever I am in town on business.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe1453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

The rooms all need to have the carpet replaced. The cleaning people do a sub par job at cleaning the rooms and this is evident with all the hair left in the bathrooms. I was there for a week and had to switch rooms 3 times. All rooms had the same problems as mentioned above. Not only that the hotel also stunk at times, plus that and the cleaning staff go and turn off the AC during the daytime so when you get back to your room at night it's hot as hell in the rooms.
They did have a sauna, but it was locked at all times.
And they badly need to replace there towels as well.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hockeychronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2008

The rooms are reasonably priced for very clean rooms. My family and I have stayed here for the past couple of years and will continue to be back. The owners are continally doing renovations/upgrades. While the rooms may seem older, the cleanliness more than makes up for it. The owners are friendly inviting people and always make us feel welcome. Great customer service.

  • Liked — Clean, friendly and price
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Buttercupinnakusp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2007

The hotel price is reasonable, it is set back from the main street in Nakusp but that really is not a problem being that you can pretty much walk through the entire town within 45 minutes in any direction anyway. We did not have an advance reservation and the front desk quickly provided us with a room. The owners were a very friendly couple and I enjoyed speaking with them. The room itself was pretty much what I expected of a smalltown low budget motel but I felt that the rooms could have been somewhat tidier (the towels were clean as were the sheets as far as I could tell) however, the bathroom sink had seen better days as had the carpet/drapes/fixtures. Overall, not bad for the price that we paid but certainly would not recommend it for someone wanting a romantic getaway or anyone with high expectations. Please be sure to check out the Middle Earth Cafe that is located directly across the street from the hotel. Having such quick and easy access to this Cafe made our whole trip worthwhile! Fantastic service, food and ambiance. The owner there told us he plans to expand someday and open guest suites - no opening date set yet but will definitely keep an eye out for that!

  • Liked — Friendly staff and location across the street from the Middle Earth Cafe
  • Disliked — the rooms were old and stale, needed updates and a more throrough cleaning
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank formertravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nakusp hotels
19.5 mi away
Halcyon Hot Springs
Halcyon Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Nakusp
488 reviews
1.2 mi away
Huckleberry Inn
Huckleberry Inn
#5 of 5 in Nakusp
33 reviews
10.4 mi away
Rock Island Resort
Rock Island Resort
#3 of 8 in Nakusp
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selkirk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selkirk Inn

Property: Selkirk Inn
Address: 210 6th Ave NW | Box 370, Nakusp, British Columbia V0G 1R0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nakusp
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Nakusp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selkirk Inn,conveniently located downtown Nakusp,has 39 clean and spacious units (incl. 11 Kitchenette rooms), luxurious queen/double size beds for you to enjoy. Each room has cable TV, wireless internet, and a mini fridge. Complimentary coffee in the lobby. Friendly people offering a clean and comfortable home away from home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing