We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food and Entertainment Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nicks

Nicks
Ranked #11 of 15 Restaurants in Nakusp
Cuisines: Canadian, Pizza, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food and Entertainment Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

This place has fresh baked cinammon buns and you get a coffee with your purchase of any treat. Icecream does not count as a treat and don't ask for it with a coffee before 10am ; ) If you decide to stay for a meal, you will not be disappointed if you like volume for money. A small group of us went there, as we do every year on the same weekend, and the breakfast was large: a plate of hash browns with all the fixings was heaped high; the omellete was gigantic yet fluffy and nicely risen (not flat), bacon & eggs with a half portion of hashbrowns shared with one of the others was more than was expected. The coffee kept flowing.

As for the entertainment, if you get the Waitress/ Owner on a good day she is as witty and sharp as she is intelligent; engage her in verbal sparring and you'll come off the worst for wear, she is hillariious. When she is joined by her husband, the Cook/ Owner, the entertainment value increases. For the price of the meal it's good entertainment. If you're not bold enough to engage this duo in conversation, then simply sit back and enjoy the entertainment.

I said I'd write a review and they were surprised........well here it is......see you next year!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tynetraveller-60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“#11 is the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Back in Nakusp again and decided to go to Nick's again. We usually don't like to go to the same place twice because you always compare to the previous experience. This time we decided on a take-out pizza.

We ordered #11. It was fantastic. Nice crust and lots of bacon. Can't go wrong with bacon. Definitely will be back when in town again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WingNutt2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
1 review
“Big portions!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

This is a nice little place just off the main drag. The portions are BIG. You may have to wait a short while when they're busy, so you may want to ask if in a hurry.
The prices are average for the area, did I mention the portions are BIG??
The only downside is that the napkins are too small. Lol, ask for two.
The menu is typical fare, with homemade pizzas and buns.
If you're hungry, this place wins hands down :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Burn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Tons of cheese and an awesome pizza for take out. We went in the next day and they remember and care to ask how it was. We will be coming back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackfalds, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good basic food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Kind of a dumppy old building but good food,homemade burgers and buns, &pie, great service, and some cool historical pictures on the wall.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank paulszedshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nicks also viewed

Nakusp, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nakusp, Kootenay Rockies
Nakusp, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Nicks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing