We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth in the Okanagan”
Review of Benchmark B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naramata
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Benchmark B & B
Ranked #1 of 16 Naramata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Heaven on Earth in the Okanagan”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

If you are a seasoned B & Ber or newbies like us, you won’t be disappointed. Your hosts, Steve and Gail will make sure of that! You will be highly entertained and made welcome by their outgoing Brit personalities and humour. There Is no detail overlooked to make sure your visit is a good one. Four colour-themed rooms look out over the pool with the Okanagan Lake in the background. If you want to make a night of it, we recommend you curl up in your pod chair by the lake (built for 2) and enjoy the canopy of stars overhead…(That’s on next year’s agenda.) Great food, great personalities and a view to die made our stay exceptionally memorable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
223
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Steve and Gail are the perfect hosts. They've probably thought of your needs before you have, but will cheerfully go out of their way to accommodate you if they've overlooked something. Definitely my home away from home.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pitzfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We would like to let everyone know you cannot go wrong with this Bed & Breakfast!
Spectacular view over seeing the Okanagan Lake and Penticton in the Naramata wine region!
Four awesome themed rooms with a swimming pool in front and a breakfast setup and a jacuzzi!

The owners, Gail & Steve Walker are very friendly and serve up a wonderful breakfast every time !
We have been there twice and look forward to going again.
Wonderful location for anyone that enjoys the wineries and would want to treat yourselves!

Thank you Gail & Steve for your hospitality!

Robyn & Gerry Rahn

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Unfortunately, we were only able to spend one night at Benchmark but at least were able to gain a taste of what must be a great place to relax for a few days. The comments don't exaggerate and Benchmark both met and exceeded our expectations. We would definitely stay again and will do our friends a favour by recommending Benchmark to them in future.

Room Tip: Leave it to Gail and Steve
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank couti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is the first B&B we have stayed at and it was exceptional. It is hard to imagine anyone could do it better so why would I disappoint myself by trying another one? The location is spectacular, the rooms were immaculate, lots of hot water and good shower heads and the beds comfortable. Anyone who reads my reviews will know the are these prerequisites for a good stay. From Steve's greeting to Gails's breakfasts it all worked perfectly. We had planned a number of outings while in Naramata but after we saw the accommodation and pool we decided we would spend more time hanging out. Especially after Gail and Steve had organized perfect weather! The Balinese circular day beds are a great place to relax and warm up before going back into the pool. I'm sure I'll be back. It was a great introduction to B&B's.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great. We stayed in the Ruby Room and I think it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMember06162014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Benchmark, this being my first time and his second. Steve and Gail went out of their way to make us feel welcome and at rest. It wasn't just the breath taking view and the incredible gourmet breakfasts that will have us coming back, but their attention to details such as putting out extra towels when I had mentioned in passing that I might go for a swim or ensuring that my tea was steeped to perfection. They have a great balance of being engaging and great conversationlists while also respecting our privacy. I can see why it is a popular place to stay in Naramata!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Get_awayVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

As 'locals' from Kelowna, desperately in need for a mini-vacation - we were somewhat hesitant about heading to Naramata as we already live in wine country and weren't sure we would get the 'getaway' feeling we were looking for so close to home. Steve and Gail and Benchmark B&B COMPLETELY made our experience. The accommodations were immaculate, clean and comfortable all at the same time - the rooms are very modern and provide the perfect vacation feel. There was endless options for how to spend a relaxing time - heated pool with lounge chairs, hot tub overlooking the valley, daybeds on the lawn overlooking the lake and wineries.

A bottle or delicious cool rose awaited us upon arrival. The gourmet 3-course breakfasts served in the morning were phenomenal -- As a restaraunter myself, I can safely say the cuisine was not like anything you would be able to order at any restaurant or bistro nearby. Gail's French Toast with Cassis and Homemade granola were divine. The hospitality of Steve and Gail was above and beyond - they were accommodating, helpful, friendly and humorous all while being so respectful and giving us the right amount of privacy and space.

Even when we had forgotten to book a wine tasting - Gail and Steve's son Orson chauffeured us to an itinerary of wineries written and recommended for us by Gail. We were even packed refreshments for the ride in the convertible! Orson was so patient, kind, and friendly and waited for us at each winery we visited, providing some history and background on the locations we'd visited.

If you're contemplating a vacation in Naramata - you MUST stay at Benchmark B&B. Their reputation proceeds them with the owners and locals at the wineries we visited prior to arrival stating that we had chosen the best place in the valley! Thank you Steve, Gail, and Orson!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong, all the rooms are private, spacious, tastefully decorated, comfortable and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWormell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naramata
3.6 mi away
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
9.2 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
1.0 mi away
Apple d'or
Apple d'or
#2 of 16 in Naramata
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Naramata Heritage Inn & Spa
0.9 mi away
Singing Marmot Guest Suites
6.2 mi away
Cormier's Studio
Cormier's Studio
#1 of 18 in Penticton
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benchmark B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benchmark B & B

Property: Benchmark B & B
Address: 1306 Smethurst Rd, Naramata, British Columbia V0H 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Naramata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Naramata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benchmark Estate offers luxury air conditioned pool side suites with panoramic lake views, private entrances and patios. All rooms have full bathrooms, Queen Pillow top mattresses, modern furnishings and include a Gourmet breakfast. Outdoor facilities include full size heated salt water pool, BBQ pavilion and hot tub dramatically situated on a bluff overlooking Naramata Creek and Lake. Very secluded situation yet only 1Km to KVR Trail and close to village center, beaches, vineyards and wineries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing