We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Getaway Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Benchmark B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naramata
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Benchmark B & B
Ranked #1 of 16 Naramata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
“Best Getaway Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

5 of us just spent two nights at this wonderful B&B. Not a single complaint. The owners Gail and Steve went up and beyond to make our stay with them very special!
Highly recommended for beautiful location, rooms, view and delicious breakfast!

Room Tip: Having use of a pool and hottub was a wonderful addition to a very relaxing holiday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
216
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Our stay at Benchmark was a true highlight of our 3 week tour of Vancouver and the Canadian Rockies. The setting, the rooms, the facilities, the food and the hosts are all inspirational. Our 3 night stay in Ruby will live long in the memory. Gail and Steve could not have been more friendly or helpful: Gail never stopped smiling and Steve entertained us as he waited on us over Gail's sumptuous gourmet breakfasts, which were ingeniously adapted for my wife's gluten free diet. We also enjoyed their recommendation of a meal at Hillside Winery. Thank you for a wonderful mid tour mini holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 5 days in June; this was our first time to BC wine country. We were absolutely blown away with Benchmark - both the property itself and the hosts Steve and Gail.

The property is perched on a hill that overlooks many of the wineries as well as the lake. It is secluded, yet a 2 minute drive from the main road. Being at the top of a hill, the view is incredible and Steve and Gail have really made the most of it with very nice outdoor furniture, a beautiful pool, and fantastic outdoor hot tub.

There are a few rooms to choose from, each with its own theme. All of them are extremely clean and in practically brand new condition. Beds were very comfortable. The really thought of everything. There are outdoor blankets, picnic baskets with every utensil you would need, and even backpacks in the rooms for you to use.

The breakfasts were incredible as well. I was expecting typical bacon and eggs type fare. Instead we were served ingredients like local duck egg, caviar, creme fraiche, and smoked salmon. Each day the breakfast was different, and comes in multiple courses. We are from Vancouver and like to visit the various hotspots for brunch, and we can say this was some of the best breakfast we've had.

Steve and Gail were extremely friendly and welcoming. They had lots of tips and advice on where to visit during our stay in Naramata. This place truly stands apart from the other B&Bs in the area and we would definitely like to come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtd-md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We had three wonderful nights at Benchmark. The view and property is breathtaking. The hosts could not be more accomodating. After a tough day of wine tasting, float in the salt water pool with a view. The breakfasts are superb (3 courses!) and my normally fussy, non breakfast eating partner practically licked his plate. Oh did I mention breakfast is with a view? Have a hot tub (with a view), well you get the idea. This is B&B vacationing at it's best.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

All these reviews are so true!
Gail and Steve are amazing hosts, and as so many of you have commented, our hosts very quickly become good friends. We have stayed in many many B and B's in Naramata, and though many were wonderful...this place is perfect in every way. From the view, to the accommodation, to the five-star breakfasts ....this is the place we will come back to.time and time again. Thanks so much Steve and Gail, for helping us to celebrate Richard's graduation in such an amazing way. We will be back!!! :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grade23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

If you are a seasoned B & Ber or newbies like us, you won’t be disappointed. Your hosts, Steve and Gail will make sure of that! You will be highly entertained and made welcome by their outgoing Brit personalities and humour. There Is no detail overlooked to make sure your visit is a good one. Four colour-themed rooms look out over the pool with the Okanagan Lake in the background. If you want to make a night of it, we recommend you curl up in your pod chair by the lake (built for 2) and enjoy the canopy of stars overhead…(That’s on next year’s agenda.) Great food, great personalities and a view to die made our stay exceptionally memorable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Steve and Gail are the perfect hosts. They've probably thought of your needs before you have, but will cheerfully go out of their way to accommodate you if they've overlooked something. Definitely my home away from home.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pitzfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naramata
3.6 mi away
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Apple d'or
Apple d'or
#2 of 16 in Naramata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.3 mi away
Naramata Heritage Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CastleRock
CastleRock
#10 of 16 in Naramata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
5.0 mi away
E'Laysa Guesthouse and Vineyard Retreat
0.6 mi away
Above Naramata B&B
Above Naramata B&B
#6 of 16 in Naramata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benchmark B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benchmark B & B

Property: Benchmark B & B
Address: 1306 Smethurst Rd, Naramata, British Columbia V0H 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Naramata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Naramata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benchmark Estate offers luxury air conditioned pool side suites with panoramic lake views, private entrances and patios. All rooms have full bathrooms, Queen Pillow top mattresses, modern furnishings and include a Gourmet breakfast. Outdoor facilities include full size heated salt water pool, BBQ pavilion and hot tub dramatically situated on a bluff overlooking Naramata Creek and Lake. Very secluded situation yet only 1Km to KVR Trail and close to village center, beaches, vineyards and wineries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing