We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Resort Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Panorama Springs Lodge
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Our experience didn't start off very well. When you arrive, you need to go to the check-in house at the base of the hill. They were pleasant enough, and told us our room was cleaned, but they were just waiting for a final ok, so they took my cell and said they would call me when it was ready. We hung out at the main lodge, and after 1.5hr wait, I went to the hotel phone and called the check-in department to see if it was ready, they said yes and they would bring the keys to guest services right away. I waited 30 minutes and called them again, they said they were on their way and be there in 2-3 minutes. Another 15 minutes goes by and they finally show up. So a room that was cleaned and just needed to have a final check, wasn't ready for 2 hours! That was probably the most unprofessional, dysfunctional, poorly run check-in process ever!

First time to Panorama with my two young children, so i wanted to be near hills and the Hot Pools. I paid and extra $54 to be guaranteed the Springs building. The red carpet ride is right outside the building, and it's an easy downhill trip to the Mile 1 Quad and main lodge. The Hot Pools are attached to this building, so you don't need to go outside to get to them (very handy if you're traveling with young kids, they also give you a locker lock and key if you need it). There is a ski locker area in the building which is very convenient to the parking lot, and you can easily get outside to access the hill (a locker lock is provided at check-in).

Our one bedroom (which also had a den with another sofa-bed) was overlooking the pools and hill. I know you can buy in this building, but not sure why you would, activity on the hill starts at around 4-6am, so you'll start to hear the trucks, grooming machines, bobcat's, and big equipment right outside your window. There are only cheap blinds in the unit, so the light pretty much shines right in. As well, as other reviewers have mentioned, the walls are paper thin, so you constantly hear those who are above and beside you. The room had a fireplace, full kitchen (included 3 small bags of coffee, sugar, whitener, kettle, teapot, 2 bread toaster, microwave, cutlery, plates, knives, dishwasher, plenty of dishwasher soap, etc..). However, the room was certainly worn, all the tables and chairs were scratched and worn through. Carpet had stains on it, and the bathroom was very dated and small (nice soaker tub). Had a decent 42" LCD TV (& dvd) in the living room (has an HDMI connection, but not VGA for those of you with computers), but the bedroom had a 20" TV from the 80's. The free wi-fi worked without a problem in the room, but it is very slow and I could receive emails, but not send.

Skiing was great, lots of fresh snow. All the staff was very nice & we really enjoyed the musical they had one night. We requested a late check-out which was accommodated, and our check-out was painless. Overall, except for the bad check-in experience and paper-thin walls, we all had a great holiday, and look forward to coming back next year (but I may chose a different building, or bring ear plugs!).

Tips: It may be better to book a room/ski package. Ours included a children's free day skiing for each night, and the rentals and day passes for the others were greatly discounted. You cannot get this at the hill (I tried for an extra day, but had to pay full price), so do it when you book your accommodations.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheCriticalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

This is our 2nd stay in the wintertime and 3rd overall. We've always loved the location right in the ski hill with very convenient ski in and out. Lockers are provided to lock up your skis just inside the hotel. Our rooms always have a small kitchen which is great for firing up a quick breakfast before skiing.
Parking is heated and underground which has a 7.5 feet clearance which easily accommodates a large suv with skis on top. Free wifi is available near the main lodge but is spotty in the rooms.
The big outdoor pool is closed for the winter which leaves a smaller pool and a large hot tub. The hot tub is quite hot which is nice when you have to walk outside to get to the pools and its cold out. Panorama springs is the only hotel in the village where you dont have to go outside to get to the pools.
We were disappointed this trip with 2 things. Firstly, the towels are changed only every 3rd day. We find the towels are still damp the next day and for the cost of the rooms, I expect more. Secondly, because it's a long weekend in Alberta, we had to book a package that included ski tickets for 2 adults even though we I only have 1 adult skier. They told us when booking that the package for the room and 2 adult lift tix would be less than booking the room and buying 1 ticket separately.

The village is quaint and very easy to get around with a little gondola that takes you from the upper to lower village. There is a grocery store at the lower village which has everything from liquor to cereal and steaks. You do pay a premium for everything as one would expect. They have a free shuttle ton invermere a few times daily. You can go to the supermarket in town for less pricey groceries but it's about 15 kms away.

All in all, we still love the location but we hope that the hotel makes some changes to keep us coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yysguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed for four nights at the Panorama Springs in a one bedroom suite, during opening weekend of 2011. The skiing was ok. Lots for our family of 4, two boys aged 7 & 9. What I loved about this hotel is that it is attached to the outdoor pools. Other hotels in the upper village have an outside walk to get to the pools. Lovely ski in/out!

We had a issue with mice in our first room (#309, great room, extra den with sleeper bed, excellent view). We were moved to another room (#107, ground floor, no view), which of course was a bit of an inconvience. The staff was very easy to deal with and apologetic. Once settled in the new room, my son asked why the blanket was white and crusty. Stained unwashed blankets are gross and unacceptable. That actually freaked me out more than the mice!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidayandplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

We stayed at Panorama Springs for a week in Jan 2010. The resort is very compact and organised very well.
The skiing was very good. There was a vast quantity of runs of different abilities and the grooming facilities were excellent. Unfortunately whilst we were there there was a bit of a snow shortage and much of the hill was very packed and icy!
The hotel itself was smart, clean and quite modern. The rooms were spacious, well equipped and more than comfortable. There is a great hot tub and sauna area outside with great views of the mountain.
There is limited things to do/places to eat in the evening and buying food in from the store is generally very expensive. Enough to get by though although you'll find yourself eating in the same places if there for a week or longer.
The main problems we had with the resort was during the weekend. In order to increase business the resort advertise very cheap deals for weekend stay and ski. What this ultimately encourages is bus loads of teenagers. On both nights we were kept awake by drunken groups of youths causing problems both in and outside of the hotel. being loud in the corridors, banging doors and generally acting disorderly. This pretty much spoiled our stay there and ensured that we would not return.
Overall its a nice resort with good skiing and good facilities. Just be prepared for a lack of sleep on the weekends!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keeno9712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We stayed on the main floor of the Panorama springs which afforded us a larger balcony,our friends stayed 2 floors above and had a smaller balcony and their room was very warm. No air conditioning in these units, but a small fan was in the room. We were surprised to find 1 hotel size shampoo and bar of soap in the bathroom, no conditioner or other condiments as usually offered. They provided us with 2 bags of coffee (no tea available, I asked), after that you had to go to the store if you needed anything else. There was no room cleaning provided for our 2 night stay, so it was make do with what was provided. On the positive side, they did provide extra towels, and toilet paper. If you plan to stay ,I would recommend bringing drinks, snacks, and bathroom necessities, as buying them on the hill is quite expensive. The rooms and the pool areas were very clean and we would probably go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmtinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panorama
0.1 mi away
Earl Grey Lodge
Earl Grey Lodge
#1 of 2 in Panorama
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panorama Mountain Resort
0 mi away
Embarc Panorama
Embarc Panorama
#2 of 5 in Panorama
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge
11.3 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Springs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Springs Lodge

Address: Bag 7000 | 2000 Panorama Dr, Panorama, British Columbia V0A 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Panorama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Panorama
Price Range: £121 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Upper Village, these slopeside condos offer direct ski-in / ski-out convenience via the Mile One Quad and Red Carpet. Guests staying in this building have direct access to the Panorama Springs Hot Pools. Upper Village amenities are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Panorama Springs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing