We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Panorama Mountain Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Panorama
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I loved Panorama!! It was so peaceful and beautiful and so perfect for my family. Other resorts are often overcrowded and you can't stay on the mountain but here, everything was so close by. We had a wonderful time and the skiing was in incredible. Panorama is the best kept secret around.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xterrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanoramaMountain, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Hi Xterrax,

Thanks for the kind words. We agree that we're the best kept secret around .... but we're always happy to share our special place with new guests.

Hope to see you again soon.

sm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

The resort at Panorama would be a good resort if they catered to those individuals who take yearly ski holidays, as the only way to get people to come back is to make sure they have a good time. These are the people who book their ski vacations in October/November and come to spend their hard earned money on good skiing. After booking my vacation I was bombarded with 1-3 emails a week from Panorama advertising their latest sale; including gift vouchers for the resort, discounts on lodging that was equal or greater than the early booking discounts, $55 lift tickets (which is the same price as that offered to those with Louise Cards) and $55/night lodging. This leaves a sour taste in your mouth.
Lets start of with the good aspects of Panorama Resort.
1) It has a huge variation in terrain that will keep skis of all abilities busy for several days
2) It is the in the top five for best ski in/ski out resort in BC
3) Most of the on hill accommodations are new and properly maintained
However for all of these good aspects of Panorama it lacks two major factors which are needed at a ski resort in the highly competitive kootenay region; SERVICE and SNOW!
The SNOW at Panorama is severely lacking and should be instead defined as ICE. Their method of snow measurement also needs to be adjusted, other ski resorts should adjust their measurement techniques as well (talking to you Lake Louise), to inform skiers that a base of 145 cm means you will be skiing on rocks on any terrain that is not serviced by snow making equipment or groomed regularly. To enjoyably ski a black of double black at Panorama, they need to register 200+ cm. Bring your rock skis or head up to Kicking Horse for better run coverage.
The SERVICE provided by the staff is abysmal; from check-in to cafeteria, lifties to ski patrol
BOOKING/CHECK-IN
Checking in was a disaster that apparently started before we even arrived, as we found out. When we booked we were told that we should pay extra money to ensure that our party would be placed in the same building, however, upon arriving we found out that same building means same complex in Panorama. In addition, Panorama's definition of "townhome" is not the same as other resorts like Kimberly, Whistler, SunPeaks, instead it would be better defined as a condo with neighbors on both sides as well as either above or below you. On top of that, providing a one parking spot for an 8 person condo is inexcusable, especially since their were parking stalls to spare around the complex because of units which were not rented out; be accommodating already!
ON HILL SERVICES are terrible. The cafeteria is incredibly slow, the lifties are more inclined to make pretty patterns in the snow than ensure that their is snow on the pick-up and drop off points of the chair-lift; nothing like standing up and needing the chair to push you past the plastic-fake snow platform. Snow-patrol is very controlling for those advanced skiers booking it down the taynton bowl run-out/lower green runs to get in line for the THREE CHAIRLIFT RIDES to get back to the best terrain on the mountain.
I know that all ski resorts have their drawbacks; Kicking horse has only one gondola which creates a crowd on the base of the mountain, Revelstoke is a long drive with expensive on-mountain accommodations, Lake Louise has no on mountain accommodations, Kimberley has old chairlifts, Fernie's chairlift layout is abysmal, but the experience that Panorama provided will having me looking else where to fill my 20+ ski days per year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanoramaMountain, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Hi Joshua,

Sounds like you enjoyed the resort and terrain but had a few issues while you were here. First of all, I'm really sorry to hear that you had some negative experiences. That is certainly not what we strive for. Let me try to address your concerns:

Snow conditions are variable at any ski hill and it sounds like they weren't ideal while you were here. Western Canada had an abnormally slow start in the snow department this year and everyone had below average snowfall. The good news is Mother Nature has turned in our favour and we received over 1 metre of light dry snow in the last few weeks. I can assure you that our method of measuring snow is extremely accurate and our avalanche crew are proud of their efforts to ensure accuracy. They have plots at the summit, mid-mountain, and village that are measured twice daily. Having said that, conditions are never the same all over the mountain.

With respect to the email offers, we do run sales throughout the winter but our early booking offer in October was our most flexible and best deal we offered all season. Our mid-season sales are generally targeted offers with some restrictions that are designed to fill in last minute availability.

I'm sorry to hear about your service experience. We work hard at providing exceptional customer service and we typically get great feedback about our overall service. We obviously didn't meet your expectations this time and I apologize for that.

sm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My son and I stayed at the Pine Inn part of the complex which was basic, but clean. We have stayed many times here and every year it improves and for staying o
'on the hill' is a very good deal for a family. Ask for top floor to avoid any possible wackiness from the pub next door if you can. Outside parking is never a problem but yes underground is very very limited.
It snowed and amazing 32cm overnight and the conditions were the best I have ever seen there, and too be honest I have never been in horrible conditions at Pano, maybe I luck out every time. The scenery is wonderful at Pano, the free access to the enormous hottub is great as is hte mini 6 man gondola that takes you to the lower village. Great resort, fun hill.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelcomeMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanoramaMountain, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Hi WelcomeMat,

Sounds like you got some great skiing in during your recent visit. Great to hear! The Pine Inn is a great place to stay right next to the lift at a really affordable price.

Cheers,

sm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We visited Panorama in early February 2014 and it was amazing. We stayed in Tayton lodge in a 1 bedroom apartment with a balcony overlooking the nursery slopes. The lodge rooms were clean, comfortable, we'll maintained, they looked very new and we'll looked offer. The lodge also had two hot tubs both whirlpools great in -20 our little boy loved them as well as the large hot pools.
The skiing was excellent the slops were long and even on the busiest day they you could find slopes to yourself. There were groomed slopes as well as a lot of ungroomed for the more adventurous. The ski school was great we had lessons for our boy and who is 4 and he had a ball. We also took adult lessons even though we had skied before and these were a great help.
If you go visit Luistis the coffee and cake is excellent. The food is good in the t bar and wildfire.

If I had one complaint it would be breakfast but I think that is just being Scottish!

If you ski or snowboard visit panorama.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanoramaMountain, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Hi Emma,

Thanks for the great review! I'm glad to hear you had such a great time at the resort. I'm glad that Snow School was able to help your son ski and even help out your skiing.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

sm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The most scenic place I have skied, low clouds dwell mid mountain, then halfway up the Champagne Express chair, omg the sun bursts through and for the rest of the way up its a beauty, sunny skies, above the clouds. Not though on snowy days. Views from the top of this chair are as good as views at the summit. Panorama is special and the sun travels around the mountain so in mornings at the Sun Bowl and in afternoons the sun faces the runs on either side of the Mile 1 Quad. HOWEVER, if you are an intermediate or beginner skier, then this mountain is not for you. A look at the trail map appears that there are lots of options; not so! Runs like getmedown, Canadian way, Taynton trail, travel at the side of the mountain, and very fast, so either snowplough for several kilometres or quick small radius turns ALL the way--not fun. So the best runs are like Rollercoaster, Skyline, powder trail. So as far as skiing goes its great for experts and lots of variety there. We arrived for the free Mountain Guides, and I line up at Green/blue, and told them I was beginner-intermediate, so joined the group, was taken to the summit, and came down blacks with moguls and winding round the mountain fast trails. The restaurants are great. It's the friendliest place I have ever been. The weather was cold, but NO wind. Lots of young Australians having a great time working for the services. Stayed at Taynton Lodge on behalf of Club Intrawest and enjoyed very much. A four hour drive through scenic mountains from Calgary. No place to stop for lunch after Canmore/kananaskis because Banff charges $19.50 to stop for any amount of time--ridiculous! So, if you must stop after that there is a lodge at the turnoff from highway TC-1 with a general store and bathroom. There is a Sobeys supermarket at Invermere worth stopping for all your groceries. There is a good selection of wine at the general store at Panorama Mountain Village, but not much more there (from my perspective). Have fun!

Room Tip: As a Club Intrawest member I love their accommodations, so cannot comment on other accommodation. De...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanoramaMountain, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Hi virtualtraveller4,

Thanks for the great review. Sounds like you really enjoyed your time at Panorama. I just wanted to mention another large area on the mountain that is great for intermediate skiers - Founders Ridge. It's a huge section of the mountain and in the summer we cleared out a bunch of brush in order to make the terrain more skiable for intermediate skiers.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I wish they would learn to make a bed. The room is nice. No microwave or fridge. Have to pay for Wi-Fi Internet. Plugs to plug-in computer and phone for recharging not easily accessible. No elevator had to drag bags up three flights upstairs. Handrail broken doesn't feel very secure.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank mcodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanoramaMountain, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

“Thanks for the feedback. Our Pine Inn product is a budget product and priced accordingly. We have many guests who love staying in a nice room right next to the chairlift for just $83-$89/night. Our housekeeping crew gets great training at the resort but we’ll strive to ensure more consistency.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We had thought about traveling to Panorama for a ski vacation for many years. Finally booked it for Jan 2014. Have to say we are disappointed. There is a drought this year, snow wise, so many of the runs have poor coverage, rocks, twigs, grass showing. Understand that is not the resorts "fault". There are few groomed runs - 16 out of 120, and the same ones groomed every day. They got tracked up quite quickly. It would have been nice to have some more groomed blue runs in the founders ridge/sun bowl area, maybe because of the lack of snow it was not do-able. Dining options are limited, food was average. We stayed at Panorama Springs in a one bedroom unit which again was average at best. Ice Machine broken in the bldg. so had to buy ice. Staff indicated it had been broken for some time. Dirty/stained glassware that would not come clean by handwashing so had to buy plastic cups too. Small dishwasher that did not clean very well. The pool was good, and hot tubs ok - one hotter than the other. Access to this area could have been better planned. Several flights of stairs to reach. The only other "good" things I can mention are that the shower pressure was excellent and the laundry facilities were good. We will definitely not return to this resort. Of note in the area Radium Hot Springs was an excellent choice for something different. Also we enjoyed our snowmobile tour with Toby Creek Adventures.

Room Tip: Stay in the upper village. I would not have wanted to be in the lower village to travel up by the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halifaxian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanoramaMountain, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Halifaxian,

Thanks for your visit to Panorama. Yes, Western Canada has had a slower start in the snow department this year, but we're always optimistic about what we have and what's to come. I was just out yesterday, the sun was shining, the clouds sat just below the mountain tops giving a majestic view of the Canadian Rockies. We found some great natural snow in Founders Ridge and over in the Sun Bowl.

We do have a group of runs that we groom on a daily basis, but we mix it up once in a while as well. The runs we groom see the most traffic and are massive compared to what you'll see at a lot of other other ski areas.

I'm sorry to hear that your experience wasn't up to your standards. I've been in touch with our Director of Lodging and he's assured me that that he's working on getting that ice machine fixed. If you can email us your room number wed love to send a crew over to take a look at the dishwasher ( information@panoramaresort.com ).

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed some of the other amenities in the area. We proud of our resort and the Columbia Valley and hope you change you mind and come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panorama
0.2 mi away
Earl Grey Lodge
Earl Grey Lodge
#1 of 2 in Panorama
115 reviews
13.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#5 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
430 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western Invermere Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Radium Park Lodge
Radium Park Lodge
#20 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
111 reviews
11.3 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
1,610 reviews
12.7 mi away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#6 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Mountain Resort

Address: 2000 Panorama Drive | 18 km west of Invermere, Panorama, British Columbia V0A 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Panorama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Panorama
Price Range: £69 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the B.C. Rockies, Panorama Mountain Village is a family year-round resort. During the winter season Panorama features true slope side lodging with one of North America’s biggest vertical descents. Panorama offers daily shuttle service from the Calgary International Airport. The winter brings skiers from afar in search of Rocky Mountain powder and Panorama’s famed long groomed cruisers. The mountain is over 4000 vertical feet and has nearly 3000 acres of terrain. From the resort, guests can also Nordic ski, snowshoe, snowmobile and relax in Canada’s largest slope side hot pools.Also operating right out of the Village is rk heliski. Over 40 years of experience in the back country ensure safe and unforgettable skiing. rk heli-ski specializes in heli-ski adventures for intermediate and first time heli-skiers. During the summer season Panorama is home to the acclaimed Greywolf Golf Course. Designed by talented Canadian architect Doug Carrick, who has built many of Canada's best courses in the past decade, Greywolf features many holes that will be seared in your memory bank for a long time. Panorama is also home to the Panorama Bike Park. The park has a number of downhill trails to challenge riders of all levels. There are endless opportunities for family fun activities including: kids adventure camp, horseback riding, ATV tours, white water rafting, hiking, cross-country biking, mini-golf, fishing and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Panorama Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Mountain Village Hotel Panorama
Mountain Village Hotel Panorama
Mountain Village Resort Panorama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing