We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Panorama Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Panorama
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“One of the worst”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Wow. How bad can it get? Let's start with the good:
- you can ski right outside of the pine inn
- the parking lot is really close
- the people working there seemed happy

Okay, the bad:
- I honestly think that the pine inn was built by someone who had no idea what they were doing. If you want to go to the 5th floor, save yourself the headache. Walk around the outside of the building to the door with the emergency push bar that is broken. Yes, the one with the nail sticking out of it. Then walk your way up. Otherwise, you will go to the 3rd floor, walk up a weird staircase to the next floor, and then you will get to the 5th floor directly.

- the walls are paper thin and the people that stay there are ROWDY!

- don't go back down the staircase to the 3rd floor if that door is shut. The doorknob came off when we tried to open it. This also happened earlier in the day when my boss tried to open the door (I found this out after the fact)

- bring your own pillow and blankets. My boss' wife slept in her winter jacket. That should say enough but it doesn't. The top sheet is a thin, grandma's house/gates motel type of sheet. The other sheets are no better.

- where the paint comes off (e.g. From an apparent 6 pack on the shelf), they just leave it that way.

- there was torn toilet paper all over the hallway.

- housekeeping never came

I am never staying at the Pine Inn portion of Panorama Mountain Village again. Ever.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Globe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanoramaMountain, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hi Globe T,

The Pine Inn is a budget hotel with superior access to the mountain and priced accordingly. It's great for some and not for everyone. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay, but I'm glad that you found our staff to be happy.

I'll address a few points that you brought up.

We have fixed the door. It’s hard for us to control the actions and noise of the other guests, but we do have security available all night and a quick call to front desk will alert security of the issue so they can't attempt to quiet the other guests down. The Pine Inn gets housekeeping service if you're staying 4 nights or longer. We do inform guests of this at time of booking and in our email confirmations.

We have lots of fantastic high quality slopeside condos and townhomes at the resort that I think you'll really enjoy if you come and see us again.

All the best,

sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    185
    105
    57
    64
See reviews for
323
130
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I don't know why this place isn't more packed, but I'm so glad it isn't. The village is first-class. Food & Beverage options are excellent. You can't beat waking up and walking out the front of your lodging to the ski lift for 1/3 the price of Whistler. Sure, Pano isn't as big as Whistler, but it hadn't snowed in 3 days when we arrived, and we were still finding fresh tracks and powder drifts. Staff was awesome at every touch point of our stay. Definitely will return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
We agree! Whistler is big, but can get skied out VERY quickly. Panorama's mountain is huge and receives far less traffic so we're often spoiled with many days of powder turns after a snowfall. We hope to see you again soon!

sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenora, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

As someone who regularly skis resorts such as Deer Valley, Park City Mountain, Alta, & Snowbird, I can honestly say that I was very impressed with my experience at Panorama Resort. First, the mountain has some incredible terrain which is as thrilling and challenging as terrain found at Alta or Snowbird. However, you won't find the crowds like your do at Alta or Snowbird and the terrain won't be skied-out by 11:00 a.m. on a powder day. In fact, there were times I felt like I was the only person on the mountain (which speaks to its incredible size and variety of terrain).

Furthermore, the resort village has all you need for a weekend stay or a week-long stay, with a couple pubs, a few restaurants, and even a grocery store if you're renting a condo or townhouse and want to cook your own meal. There is also a complimentary shuttle bus that wisps you down to Invermere if you're looking for more shopping or dining options.

The staff are incredibly helpful and accommodating. Everyone I interacted with--from the reservations staff to the check-in staff to the on-mountain liftees--provided a high-level of customer service, were very efficient, and was evident they enjoyed their job and work-environment. I also want to give "shout-out" to the Mountain Friends who provided daily tours of the resort. If you're traveling solo, the Mountain Friends are a great group of folks who will guide you around the mountain, share some of their secret powder stashes on the mountain, and overall just provide a great experience & introduction to the mountain.

While visiting Panorama, I stayed at the Pine Inn. The Pine Inn is an excellent value (I don't know of any resorts where you can get ski-in, ski-out accommodations for less than an $100/night) but I would compare the Inn to a Econolodge, Days Inn, or similar brand hotel. I understand that the hotel hotel has undergone some upgrades in the past few years but it also evident that the hotel is showing a lot of wear and tear. I hope the [new] owners of Panorama will totally revamp and reinvest in this hotel--even if means increasing prices in the future.

Overall, Panorama is an excellent mountain resort for families, solo travelers, or groups. I am already looking forward to my next visit at Panorama in 2015!

Room Tip: Not all rooms in the Pine Inn face slope side (mine overlooked a parking lot), so make sure you ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yale_Alum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanoramaMountain, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Wow, it sounds like you have lots of experience visiting other mountains so it's great to hear that you feel we compare favourably to some of the best. We think so too!

I'll pass along your kudos to our staff and the Mountain Friends.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I have skied a lot of the big resorts and Panorama is up there with the best - the bottom line is that the ski hill is bigger than the village and being an extra two hours further from Calgary means it is pretty quiet, but the skiing is fabulous long, interlinking runs, Tayton Bowl for the experts - a good immediate skier would be pushed to ski the whole resort in a week

A special mention for the Mountain Friends who provide an excellent free ski tour twice a day and pick off the best conditions - aswell as being a very sociable bunch. You could go here on your own and not be short of good company.

Room Tip: better to go self catering in the condos becuase the food options are limited...but there is a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longman1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanoramaMountain, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Great to hear that you enjoyed the skiing and our Mountain Friends! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Disappointing finish to our time at Panorama after some great snow and a relaxing stay. Shuttle service from Panorama to Banff showed very poor organisation. Considering how much the service cost the bus was very cold and drafty.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberleynz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanoramaMountain, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, but sorry to hear that it ended with a poor experience on the shuttle. We hire an outside company to provide our shuttle services and normally they are very good, but we'll be sure to pass along your feedback and work with them to ensure a great experience for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panorama hotels

Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
470 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I spent 2 nights at Panorama with my daughter and her 2 children after a 4 day camping trip. It was the best choice for us. Our 2 condo was perfect - spacious with all the amenities of home. It was central to the lifts and the rest of the resort's facilities. The pools, mini-golf, rock climbing and hiking were some of the activities did. This is the perfect family getaway with spectacular views.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanoramaMountain, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Hi Phil,

Thank you for the great feedback. I'm glad to hear you had a fantastic vacation with us. We hope to see you again soon!

sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Excellent accommodations right on the hill with fantastic staff everywhere you turned eager to help in anyway. The mountain has always been my favorite place to ski but this trip was even better than I remembered. The outdoor pool and hot tub were immaculately kept. I’m already planning my next trip in March.

Room Tip: Anywhere on the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanoramaMountain, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Hi Jon,

Great to hear that you had a fantastic trip and that you're coming back in March! We just had 19 CM of fresh snow at the Summit last night and it's been snowing fairly consistently since mid-February.

All the best,

sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panorama
0.2 mi away
Earl Grey Lodge
Earl Grey Lodge
#2 of 2 in Panorama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
9.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Invermere Inn
13.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prestige Inn R...
#5 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation V...
#2 of 4 in Fairmont Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
11.3 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
12.7 mi away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#4 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Mountain Resort

Property: Panorama Mountain Resort
Address: 2000 Panorama Drive | 18 km (11 mi) west of Invermere, Panorama, British Columbia V0A 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Panorama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Panorama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the B.C. Rockies, Panorama Mountain Village is a family year-round resort. During the winter season Panorama features true slope side lodging with one of North America’s biggest vertical descents. Panorama offers daily shuttle service from the Calgary International Airport. The winter brings skiers from afar in search of Rocky Mountain powder and Panorama’s famed long groomed cruisers. The mountain is over 4000 vertical feet and has nearly 3000 acres of terrain. From the resort, guests can also Nordic ski, snowshoe, snowmobile and relax in Canada’s largest slope side hot pools.Also operating right out of the Village is rk heliski. Over 40 years of experience in the back country ensure safe and unforgettable skiing. rk heli-ski specializes in heli-ski adventures for intermediate and first time heli-skiers. During the summer season Panorama is home to the acclaimed Greywolf Golf Course. Designed by talented Canadian architect Doug Carrick, who has built many of Canada's best courses in the past decade, Greywolf features many holes that will be seared in your memory bank for a long time. Panorama is also home to the Panorama Bike Park. The park has a number of downhill trails to challenge riders of all levels. There are endless opportunities for family fun activities including: kids adventure camp, horseback riding, ATV tours, white water rafting, hiking, cross-country biking, mini-golf, fishing and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Panorama Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Mountain Village Hotel Panorama
Mountain Village Hotel Panorama
Mountain Village Resort Panorama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing