We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First BC ski trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Panorama Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Panorama
1 review
“First BC ski trip”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

On our first trip to BC we were very pleased with Panorama. The accommodations were excellent and truly ski-in ski-out. They lift system and all the staff we encountered were great. Especially a service called Mountain Friends where you could ski for free with very friendly mountain guides every day. Plenty of challenging terrain for experts but nice groomers for others. I would recommend it to any level skier.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thanks for the great review! Just a heads up that we're currently installing a new chairlift that will provide even better access to our beginner terrain. It will access the runs currently named Ski Tip and Stringer. So first time skiers will have an even better experience learning to ski (and progress to higher points on the mountain) going forward.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    186
    105
    57
    64
See reviews for
324
130
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
206 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We visited the 1st weekend of April. Their website was difficult to navigate during the booking process. I emailed with the staff several times before arrival and they were helpful and pleasant.
Check in process was fine, staff was friendly. They neglected to tell us of the lack of parking in our building 1000 Peaks. We drove to the unit and no parking available. Apparently the parking lot had burned down some time ago. We drove back down to check in to ask where to park. Told us an outside lot which was maybe a half km from the unit. Went back to the building carried our skis to the locker, dropped off our things. Discovered the unit was filthy-garbage under sick, dirty bathtub, musty smell and whole unit covered in thick dust-unit 411B. Called check in. They agreed to send someone up to look at the unit. Waited a half hour. They agreed unit was dirty. Waited another half hour or so for the supervisor to call us. Agreed to move us to another building and give us a breakfast voucher. Waited another half hour for someone else to come up and show us to another room. By this time is was 10:30pm. We got Tanyton lodge room 120. Much smaller than other room, drain in bathroom didn't work, thermostat didn't work but it was fairly clean.
2 options for breakfast, neither sit down restaurants. I had the granola which consisted of plain oats, honey, some jam type substance, couple pieces of pre packaged fruit. Quite terrible. My husband's breakfast was better.
I had to rent ski boots. 2 people working - this process took 45 minutes! Cost was $48 for high performance boots- close to double the cost of other places.
Lift lines were short. A lot of the runs had rocks and dirt being near the end of the season. I'd classify panorama as more suited to advanced or expert skiers. I'd also classify it as more of a party place than for families.
Lunch at T Bar and dinner at Wildfire were okay. Good service at T Bar. Not fabulous food but not bad and not too overpriced.
Most of the hot pool area was closed, night skiing closed, tobogganing and tubing and snowshoeing all closed. Any discount for these closures? No.
I general the resort seemed poorly managed and maintained.
We may try skiing there again but would never stay there.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank laptopolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks for the feedback. I'm glad to hear that you had pleasant experiences with our friendly staff. Yes, unfortunately their was a fire in 1000 Peaks Lodge last year and that affected the parking situation for the adjacent 1000 Peaks Summit. We do try to notify our guests about the parking situation (http://www.panoramaresort.com/1000-peaks-summit/) but it sounds like we missed getting that info to you. I apologize for that. The good news is the lodge that is getting rebuilt this summer so the parking situation will be fixed in the near future - and we'll have a brand new Lodge!

I'm sorry to hear that you had a few other negative experiences at the resort. But it sounds like our staff was generally quite helpful when you brought your issues to us.

Regarding the terrain, yes in April a few runs (the ones with high sun exposure) will have some bare spots, but that's pretty normal for that time of year. However, there is still a massive amount of terrain available. We had tons a great feedback from our guests and Passholders about how fantastic the skiing was right to the end this year.

Again, I'm sorry to hear that you had some negative experiences during your stay. It sounds like you'd still come back to ski which is great to hear. We'd love to have you stay here again too!

sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panorama hotels

Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a condo at springs lodge. Great. Took our own food and meals that we could just heat up. Ski in and ski out is great. Very helpful staff and excellent instructors. If you can take yr own food it would help as the store is limited. My friend was a far better skier than me and she took advantage of skiing with the mountain friends who showed her the runs - excellent idea. Will return next year

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Whybs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks for the review. Yes, our free mountain program is very popular and a great way to get introduced to the mountain. They have tons of great stories and love sharing all their secret locations around the mountain. See you again soon!

sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

You have no reason to leave this ski-in, ski-out village. Great accommodations, great mountain, and great staff. Ask as many questions as you want, they have all the answers. Only recommendation I have is bring food if you have a kitchenette the store (understandable) a bit limited!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allyson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks for the great review Allyson! Our General Store has the staples but if you're looking for a bigger shop, we provide a free shuttle daily into Invermere that stops at two local grocery stores. So if you don'y have a vehicle, it's still an easy way to get what you need. I'm glad you enjoyed your ski in / ski out experience!

sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just got back from a weekend at Panorama, our first foray into the mountains for skiing. Had the BEST condo in the upper village in Taynton Lodge. View of the slopes and prime viewing of the beginners area. One of our party was injured and couldn't ski but spent a happy day watching her kids have their lessons from the comfort of the condo. Only downside of the condo was the lack of hot water - took very long time for it to come through. Otherwise beautiful condo that fitted the needs of two families of four very well.

My husband and I are beginner skiers so when he first saw Horseshoe he declared no way, yet by the end of the morning he was coming down with ease. We managed Horseshoe, Showoff, Hoggflatts, Campbells Canyon, Stringer and Ski Tip and all before lunch.

Picked up my 2 year old from the Wee Wascals daycare, he hasn't even said goodbye he was so eager to play, and he didn't want to leave! The staff there were wonderful.

My 5 year old was in snow school from 9-3 and again the staff we all amazing. He had the best day and was so proud to tell us he had been up the chairlift three times. The GPS tracking is great and we could see exactly where he went - and he basically did the same runs as us! The following day he and my husband headed out for Horseshoe and had a blast!

The 'hot' pools were not hot...more luke-warm, but the hot tubs were very invited after which we all had a great time tubing.

All in all an amazing weekend and we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Sounds like a wonderful vacation! You might be interested to know that we're currently installing a new quad chairlift that will directly access the beginner terrain on Ski Tip and Stringer. The terrain will be groomed daily and will be set up as a great learning centre for your kids. Hope to see you again soon!

sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Wow. How bad can it get? Let's start with the good:
- you can ski right outside of the pine inn
- the parking lot is really close
- the people working there seemed happy

Okay, the bad:
- I honestly think that the pine inn was built by someone who had no idea what they were doing. If you want to go to the 5th floor, save yourself the headache. Walk around the outside of the building to the door with the emergency push bar that is broken. Yes, the one with the nail sticking out of it. Then walk your way up. Otherwise, you will go to the 3rd floor, walk up a weird staircase to the next floor, and then you will get to the 5th floor directly.

- the walls are paper thin and the people that stay there are ROWDY!

- don't go back down the staircase to the 3rd floor if that door is shut. The doorknob came off when we tried to open it. This also happened earlier in the day when my boss tried to open the door (I found this out after the fact)

- bring your own pillow and blankets. My boss' wife slept in her winter jacket. That should say enough but it doesn't. The top sheet is a thin, grandma's house/gates motel type of sheet. The other sheets are no better.

- where the paint comes off (e.g. From an apparent 6 pack on the shelf), they just leave it that way.

- there was torn toilet paper all over the hallway.

- housekeeping never came

I am never staying at the Pine Inn portion of Panorama Mountain Village again. Ever.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Globe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanoramaMountain, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hi Globe T,

The Pine Inn is a budget hotel with superior access to the mountain and priced accordingly. It's great for some and not for everyone. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay, but I'm glad that you found our staff to be happy.

I'll address a few points that you brought up.

We have fixed the door. It’s hard for us to control the actions and noise of the other guests, but we do have security available all night and a quick call to front desk will alert security of the issue so they can't attempt to quiet the other guests down. The Pine Inn gets housekeeping service if you're staying 4 nights or longer. We do inform guests of this at time of booking and in our email confirmations.

We have lots of fantastic high quality slopeside condos and townhomes at the resort that I think you'll really enjoy if you come and see us again.

All the best,

sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I don't know why this place isn't more packed, but I'm so glad it isn't. The village is first-class. Food & Beverage options are excellent. You can't beat waking up and walking out the front of your lodging to the ski lift for 1/3 the price of Whistler. Sure, Pano isn't as big as Whistler, but it hadn't snowed in 3 days when we arrived, and we were still finding fresh tracks and powder drifts. Staff was awesome at every touch point of our stay. Definitely will return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
We agree! Whistler is big, but can get skied out VERY quickly. Panorama's mountain is huge and receives far less traffic so we're often spoiled with many days of powder turns after a snowfall. We hope to see you again soon!

sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panorama
0.2 mi away
Earl Grey Lodge
Earl Grey Lodge
#2 of 2 in Panorama
106 reviews
13.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#3 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
374 reviews
19.3 mi away
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation V...
#2 of 4 in Fairmont Hot Springs
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Best Western Invermere Inn
11.3 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
1,413 reviews
12.7 mi away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#4 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Mountain Resort

Property: Panorama Mountain Resort
Address: 2000 Panorama Drive | 18 km (11 mi) west of Invermere, Panorama, British Columbia V0A 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Panorama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Panorama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the B.C. Rockies, Panorama Mountain Village is a family year-round resort. During the winter season Panorama features true slope side lodging with one of North America’s biggest vertical descents. Panorama offers daily shuttle service from the Calgary International Airport. The winter brings skiers from afar in search of Rocky Mountain powder and Panorama’s famed long groomed cruisers. The mountain is over 4000 vertical feet and has nearly 3000 acres of terrain. From the resort, guests can also Nordic ski, snowshoe, snowmobile and relax in Canada’s largest slope side hot pools.Also operating right out of the Village is rk heliski. Over 40 years of experience in the back country ensure safe and unforgettable skiing. rk heli-ski specializes in heli-ski adventures for intermediate and first time heli-skiers. During the summer season Panorama is home to the acclaimed Greywolf Golf Course. Designed by talented Canadian architect Doug Carrick, who has built many of Canada's best courses in the past decade, Greywolf features many holes that will be seared in your memory bank for a long time. Panorama is also home to the Panorama Bike Park. The park has a number of downhill trails to challenge riders of all levels. There are endless opportunities for family fun activities including: kids adventure camp, horseback riding, ATV tours, white water rafting, hiking, cross-country biking, mini-golf, fishing and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Panorama Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Mountain Village Hotel Panorama
Mountain Village Hotel Panorama
Mountain Village Resort Panorama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing