We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but there are a couple "catches"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Panorama Mountain Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Panorama
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Very nice facilities, but layout of the buildings make it hard for the elderly and people with disabilities to move between buildings and even go to/from the condo to the parking areas. Another matter was that when we arrived we found out that the resort was under a "boil water" order. This seems to be an annual occurrence so I highly recommend checking with the resort before making a reservation. There were 6 of us so we had to buy lots and lots of bottled water. With that said, the modern and nicely furnished condo and the beautiful views were fantastic! Many hiking opportunities right next to the resort, a serene environment and lots and lots of deer simply walking around make a stay at Panorama a wonderful experience. We also got to enjoy, at no additional cost, a beautiful heated outdoors pool very cool mini-golf course. Also, Panorama is a short drive away from Radium Hot Springs!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vacationtime_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Great to hear hat you enjoyed your experience at Panorama. There's always lots of wildlife around so I'm glad that you were able to see some! In the spring we have had a boil water advisory for a few years. It was in place for a relatively short period this year but it's something we are working with the local utility to resolve. We do provide some water for all our guests during the advisory.

Thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Scott M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Recently spent Canada Day weekend in Panorama Mountain Village. Panorama is a small mountain village about 18 KM's west of Invermere BC. The village sits at the base of a ski slope and in winter people ski here and in summer time they take their mountain bikes up the T-bar and bike down the slopes. There are not any hotels per se but instead this is a village made up almost entirely of private property and vacation rental condominiums. The village has a small store and several restaurants and lounges and is separated between a lower village and upper village. The upper village condos' are a little newer and nicer but as you might expect they cost more. The condo's themselves tend to be very well setup; complete with everything you might need. Our stay was great; the condo was a 1 bedroom but it had a pull out bed that slept two more. Except for food and drinks we didn't have to bring anything, the condo had it all, towels, cutlery, cleaning supplies etc. Made it all very convenient. After your stay; there is a housekeeping service that cleans up for the next guest. The village is quite small and you can easily walk the entire thing (there is a free gondola service between the upper/lower villages if you don't want to walk it). Greywolf golf course is within 15 mins walking distance and is really beautiful. We quite enjoyed our time at Panorama and would definitely go back. The price to stay is very reasonable and all the vacation rental properties are clean and well managed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at Panorama! Our fully equipped condos are a great home base to explore the mountains.

We actually do have a budget hotel on site as well. It's located right at the base of the Mile 1 Quad chairlift. It's not as nice as the condos and townhomes but great for travellers on a budget.

If you haven't visited us in the winter we'd love to introduce you to the mountain! If you're new to skiing we're currently installing a new beginner chairlift (I'm sure you noticed) which will vastly improve the learning experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We are not "ski-ers" but our time at Panorama was wonderful. We stayed at the end of season 2014 and a few days after. Certainly the choice of restaurants reduced after season closed, but the peaceful feel without all the people was definitely worth it. The staff were , as we had found previously, super helpful and so friendly. Definitely a place to stop, relax, enjoy the hot tub, go for a leisurely walk along the road and enjoy the amazing mountain views!

Room Tip: A wide range of choices, but pay a little extra to guarantee views of the ski hill and the pools!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue-Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thanks for the great review Sue-Anne! I'm glad you were able to get in some down time and enjoy the beauty of our location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

On our first trip to BC we were very pleased with Panorama. The accommodations were excellent and truly ski-in ski-out. They lift system and all the staff we encountered were great. Especially a service called Mountain Friends where you could ski for free with very friendly mountain guides every day. Plenty of challenging terrain for experts but nice groomers for others. I would recommend it to any level skier.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thanks for the great review! Just a heads up that we're currently installing a new chairlift that will provide even better access to our beginner terrain. It will access the runs currently named Ski Tip and Stringer. So first time skiers will have an even better experience learning to ski (and progress to higher points on the mountain) going forward.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We visited the 1st weekend of April. Their website was difficult to navigate during the booking process. I emailed with the staff several times before arrival and they were helpful and pleasant.
Check in process was fine, staff was friendly. They neglected to tell us of the lack of parking in our building 1000 Peaks. We drove to the unit and no parking available. Apparently the parking lot had burned down some time ago. We drove back down to check in to ask where to park. Told us an outside lot which was maybe a half km from the unit. Went back to the building carried our skis to the locker, dropped off our things. Discovered the unit was filthy-garbage under sick, dirty bathtub, musty smell and whole unit covered in thick dust-unit 411B. Called check in. They agreed to send someone up to look at the unit. Waited a half hour. They agreed unit was dirty. Waited another half hour or so for the supervisor to call us. Agreed to move us to another building and give us a breakfast voucher. Waited another half hour for someone else to come up and show us to another room. By this time is was 10:30pm. We got Tanyton lodge room 120. Much smaller than other room, drain in bathroom didn't work, thermostat didn't work but it was fairly clean.
2 options for breakfast, neither sit down restaurants. I had the granola which consisted of plain oats, honey, some jam type substance, couple pieces of pre packaged fruit. Quite terrible. My husband's breakfast was better.
I had to rent ski boots. 2 people working - this process took 45 minutes! Cost was $48 for high performance boots- close to double the cost of other places.
Lift lines were short. A lot of the runs had rocks and dirt being near the end of the season. I'd classify panorama as more suited to advanced or expert skiers. I'd also classify it as more of a party place than for families.
Lunch at T Bar and dinner at Wildfire were okay. Good service at T Bar. Not fabulous food but not bad and not too overpriced.
Most of the hot pool area was closed, night skiing closed, tobogganing and tubing and snowshoeing all closed. Any discount for these closures? No.
I general the resort seemed poorly managed and maintained.
We may try skiing there again but would never stay there.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank laptopolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thanks for the feedback. I'm glad to hear that you had pleasant experiences with our friendly staff. Yes, unfortunately their was a fire in 1000 Peaks Lodge last year and that affected the parking situation for the adjacent 1000 Peaks Summit. We do try to notify our guests about the parking situation (http://www.panoramaresort.com/1000-peaks-summit/) but it sounds like we missed getting that info to you. I apologize for that. The good news is the lodge that is getting rebuilt this summer so the parking situation will be fixed in the near future - and we'll have a brand new Lodge!

I'm sorry to hear that you had a few other negative experiences at the resort. But it sounds like our staff was generally quite helpful when you brought your issues to us.

Regarding the terrain, yes in April a few runs (the ones with high sun exposure) will have some bare spots, but that's pretty normal for that time of year. However, there is still a massive amount of terrain available. We had tons a great feedback from our guests and Passholders about how fantastic the skiing was right to the end this year.

Again, I'm sorry to hear that you had some negative experiences during your stay. It sounds like you'd still come back to ski which is great to hear. We'd love to have you stay here again too!

sm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed in a condo at springs lodge. Great. Took our own food and meals that we could just heat up. Ski in and ski out is great. Very helpful staff and excellent instructors. If you can take yr own food it would help as the store is limited. My friend was a far better skier than me and she took advantage of skiing with the mountain friends who showed her the runs - excellent idea. Will return next year

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Whybs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thanks for the review. Yes, our free mountain program is very popular and a great way to get introduced to the mountain. They have tons of great stories and love sharing all their secret locations around the mountain. See you again soon!

sm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

You have no reason to leave this ski-in, ski-out village. Great accommodations, great mountain, and great staff. Ask as many questions as you want, they have all the answers. Only recommendation I have is bring food if you have a kitchenette the store (understandable) a bit limited!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allyson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at Panorama Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thanks for the great review Allyson! Our General Store has the staples but if you're looking for a bigger shop, we provide a free shuttle daily into Invermere that stops at two local grocery stores. So if you don'y have a vehicle, it's still an easy way to get what you need. I'm glad you enjoyed your ski in / ski out experience!

sm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panorama
0 mi away
Earl Grey Lodge
Earl Grey Lodge
#1 of 2 in Panorama
117 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western Invermere Inn
13.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#4 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation V...
#1 of 4 in Fairmont Hot Springs
142 reviews
11.3 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
1,670 reviews
12.8 mi away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#6 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Mountain Resort

Address: 2000 Panorama Drive | 18 km west of Invermere, Panorama, British Columbia V0A 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Panorama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Panorama
Price Range: £101 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the B.C. Rockies, Panorama Mountain Village is a family year-round resort. During the winter season Panorama features true slope side lodging with one of North America’s biggest vertical descents. Panorama offers daily shuttle service from the Calgary International Airport. The winter brings skiers from afar in search of Rocky Mountain powder and Panorama’s famed long groomed cruisers. The mountain is over 4000 vertical feet and has nearly 3000 acres of terrain. From the resort, guests can also Nordic ski, snowshoe, snowmobile and relax in Canada’s largest slope side hot pools.Also operating right out of the Village is rk heliski. Over 40 years of experience in the back country ensure safe and unforgettable skiing. rk heli-ski specializes in heli-ski adventures for intermediate and first time heli-skiers. During the summer season Panorama is home to the acclaimed Greywolf Golf Course. Designed by talented Canadian architect Doug Carrick, who has built many of Canada's best courses in the past decade, Greywolf features many holes that will be seared in your memory bank for a long time. Panorama is also home to the Panorama Bike Park. The park has a number of downhill trails to challenge riders of all levels. There are endless opportunities for family fun activities including: kids adventure camp, horseback riding, ATV tours, white water rafting, hiking, cross-country biking, mini-golf, fishing and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Panorama Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Mountain Village Hotel Panorama
Mountain Village Hotel Panorama
Mountain Village Resort Panorama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing