We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We travelled to this lodge from 13-15 September 2013. We stayed at the horsethief lodge condos.

Pros
Nice rustic feel
Kitchen fridge was very clean in both condos

Cons
There was a rat in the condo. We had to be relocated to another similar condo. The staff was apologetic but we had to spend a big chunk of our time packing and moving so we could not enjoy the hot tub as per our plans.
Carpets were dirty, hard and smelly and could not even put my crawling babies on the floor. Lucky enough I had brought their bouncers along
Room smelt of cigarette smoke and had to leave windows open throughout our stay
White shower curtains looked brown with dirt. I could not even bath my babies in them
Very cold and hard to adjust heating. My babies came back with a cold:(
No activity whatsoever except for pool , hot tubs and gondola (open between 10-5pm). Apparently not much is open during off season
Do not go during off season or you will be bored to death:(.
Outdated and dirty BBQ stands. We ended up not using them as they were extremely dirty.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

This resort provides relatively satisfactory accommodation and the excellent surrounding. It is no a luxury by any means but suffice as a place to stay away from home. The buildings and units are dated, the décor is blunt. Otherwise it is OK. The scenery around the resort and resort sport facilities are excellent.
It was our second visit and we would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank StanMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We had a great stay at the Horsethief Lodge condos. They are very well appointed and it appeared that it had been recently renovated. There were lots of kitchen amenities, the room was clean and very comfortable. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_Travel_G0ddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was a vacation to the Rockies, we were really looking forward to. We are a family of three with a 17 month old. We thought we got a great deal but quickly realised that the time we had booked was for "off-season" therefore, shops, restaurants and some facilities were closed. We booked our stay for late May 2013. As a result, this affected our overall enjoyment as we were not able to experience much in the resort. I am disappointed this was not pointed out to us at the time of booking. Very frustrating when you arrive with a child and no immediate shops are open! Also, our room was facing a grass bank!! Not what you expect when you are out in the Rockies! On top of all that the was lots of building works which meant some of the better rooms were not available - why was this not made known to us at time of booking? There was water turbulence so we also had to buy water to drink and brush our teeth with! I expected a lot and was bitterly disappointed!

Room Tip: Speak to the hotel first to find out what facilities are available and at what times of the year as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

My family and i stayed here for a weekend and had such a good time. We enjoyed the hot tubs & sauna everyday as well we used the bbq both nights. There was free activities for all of us to enjoy. The room was a good size for the 4 of us with a full kitchen to use. I would return again

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank tbell85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We went up in September of 2012 as a romantic weekend getaway to visit Radium and other area parks. Panorama village was beautiful and quiet. Our condo was modern, clean, extremely comfortable and tasteful, the kitchen was well-equipped. The general store included reasonable selections of food and other amenities and prices were Safeway-comparable. We would stay there again when we plan to go through the area!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Kamala52573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We recently spent two nights at this property. We booked a one bedroom condo through High Country Properties. Overall it was a good stay. We enjoyed the onsite hot tubs and the unit was a decent size. The one negative was that the unit was advertised as sleeping four people but he hide a bed in the living room was absolutely awful and could not be slept on by one person, let alone two. Luckily, our daughter was able to sleep on the couch and not bother pulling our the bad mattress but that would not have worked for two people. Another negative was that High Country expected you to empty and dispose of the garbage before you left which seems strange when you are paying to rent a unit. A small complaint, I know, but that is the whole point of paying to rent, not having to do chores like that. Also, you had to bring your own towels to use in the hot tubs. The location in the lower village was good and we would consider staying again but would likely pay the extra for a two bedroom rather than planning on using a pull out sofa for sleeping.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank klownt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panorama
6.9 mi away
Earl Grey Lodge
Earl Grey Lodge
#1 of 2 in Panorama
115 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#4 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
439 reviews
9.9 mi away
Panorama Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
1,632 reviews
8.2 mi away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#6 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
313 reviews
7.0 mi away
Embarc Panorama
Embarc Panorama
#2 of 5 in Panorama
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge

Address: 2000 Panorama Drive (BAG 7000), Panorama, British Columbia V0A 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Panorama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Panorama
Price Range: £82 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, nestled in the heart of the Canadian Rockies, is a favorite among visitors. Any time of the year, the resort's heated Jacuzzis, pools, saunas, and the natural Hot Springs are a respite after a day of outdoor adventure skiing, snowmobiling or exploring the landscape on ATVs. Play tennis, BBQ with friends and family, relax and splash in the mini water park, golfing at Greywolf or dine at the local restaurants, Panorama Vacation Retreat offers memorable activities for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing