We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Embarc Panorama(Panorama)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Invermere Inn(Invermere)(Great Value!)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kanata Inns Invermere(Invermere)(Great Value!)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copper Point Resort(Invermere)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Earl Grey Lodge(Panorama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
42
24
7
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
24
7
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini golfcross countryhorse thiefski hillhide a bedlower villageliving roomtime shareski weekendfull kitchentoby creekbeautiful sceneryhot tubnice staybed was very comfortableblack beansunit
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We are a family of 3 and we spent 4 days at Pano snowboarding. In one word it was EPIC. This was our second trip here.
We had a ground level one bedroom. Unit was perfectly acceptable. We had no issues with it heating up. You could hear the neighbors occasionally but you can in any vacation property. It was clean and well stocked everything worked. Check in was fast and simple we arrived two hours early and had no problems checking in early.
We snowboarded for 3 days and the mountain was heaven. We went to the upper hot pools every night they were fantastic. Every staff member we encountered were professional, friendly, and helpful. Our unit was ski in ski out which was so nice at the end of the day riding right up to our door. Compared to some of the other mountains panorama is never crowded even on the weekend.
I really don't get what some people complain about.
We plan on returning every year and recommend it to all of our friends and family.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, General Manager at Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi Alison T,
Thank you for your review. We're so glad you and your family enjoyed four days of some great snowboarding. We're thrilled to know your unit was comfortable and spacious enough for you and your family. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and we hope to welcome you back year after year for some family fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We have been doing this ski trip for 27 years and as usual found Horsethief Lodge to our satisfaction. We were promptly and efficiently checked in. Our unit was clean and well stocked with kitchen ware and linens and we again saw some upgrades. Replacement of bedding and the freshening of the decor.Although with this years constant well below zero temperatures it took a while to warm up the two bedroom unit. But sitting by a cozy fire drinking cocoa added to the fun of it all. Because we were expecting company for dinner a number of evenings a call to housekeeping for extra kitchenware was promptly looked after. Anything I'd forgotten on our big grocery shop in Invermere was supplemented at the General Store, which was within 3 min walking distance. Horesthief Lodge has quick access to Toby lift, which takes you to many other lifts. The skiing this year was COLD , but we took advantage of 1000 peaks and One mile Apres to have cocoa and a bite to eat. Hot tubs at the main pool were not as good this year because there was a problem with getting the Jets to work. I know they were doing their best to fix this. However that was a first in 27 years. Our one meal out was very good. We always ski the first week of Feb. and we think this is absolutely the best time of year to be at Panorama. For those of you who have never been ,do put yourself out to travel the extra miles to get there. It is worth every penny. (Not that we have pennies left, but do try it.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room or unit close to Toby lifts, saves carrying your equipment very far especially if you are a senior. Rooms on Mt. side have the best views of the Mt. On opposite side, the view is towards the helicopter pad tucked in among the trees.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BB Carmen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, General Manager at Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi BB Carmen J,
Thank you for reviewing your experience. We're thrilled to continue welcoming you back year after year for a successful ski trip. It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed our new décor, found our location convenient, and had a great time skiing. We apologize about the hot tub jets not working properly during your stay. As you know, this is generally not the norm, and we appreciate your understanding. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for another 27 years. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Not too sure why people are so whiny..it's a sweet old school ski condo-lodge that's in the lower village with bbqs, hot tubs, general/liquor/pizza store, and the infamous jackpine pub..almost all the units are definately ski in ski out if you can maneuver at all on skis and know how to skate a little..no lift lines, except at Christmas and March break..some amazing tree skiing with steep chutes and small features (devils drop and starfire cliffs are the best spots on the mountain - also check out turnpike 1 for a cool view, if it's open) there's also some long steep groomers for takin it easy and layin some rails..not much fresh snow in large amounts but when it happens it's always champagne pow and lasts for days..It's bluebird and warm a lot with the massive mt Nelson booming at you from across the valley. The mountain views from the top will blow your mind and you can sit and have a beer.

If you come here to sit in your unit and look for stuff to complain about instead of always being outdoors and taking part in après in the village or checking out local culture then I'm afraid you've lost the ability to have fun and enjoy the simple life around you..for everyone else, enjoy..this place is a beaut!

Ps if you're planning a vacation do some research and figure out the best time of year to go for certain activities....the golf course is exceptional too, bent grass tee to green (not Augusta speeds but totally manageable) most scenic and creative holes I've ever played..play all day rate incl carts too..

I could go on and on about how awesome panorama is...just go check it out, have fun, and don't be a whiny B

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, General Manager at Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi GoWestGoBig,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Panorama Mountain Village. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our property, accommodations and surrounding area. It sounds like you had a really great time during your last visit. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Fast and polite 5 minute check-in, underground parking 30 steps from our front door, good start. The mountain is awesome, you simply cannot ski all the terrain in 3 days and they had a foot of snow the week before we came. This was mid-January and the daytime highs were +3 Celcius and -10 at night. Because of the warm temperatures the x-country trails were a little iced over and less than ideal.

HAVE COFFEE AND A FUDGE AT A VIEW OF A 1000 PEAKS, YOU WONT FORGET IT EVER!!

When we got there the door did not lock so we phoned the front desk and maintenance had it fixed within a half hour, awesome. One minor complaint, the shower head should be replaced, the spray was not adjustable and the hard fine spray stings the skin. The bed was really comfy.
Mid January is the perfect time to go, no lift lines and lots of terrain, good weather.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank veggiemanontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, General Manager at Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi veggiemanontherun,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at our property. We're so glad to learn of your visit and we're thrilled you enjoyed skiing and the coffee and fudge up at the top of the peak. We're happy to know our staff was able to accommodate the trouble you were experiencing with the lock on your door quickly. We hope to welcome you back for another stay in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Panorama Resort was everything I could ask for in a ski lodge. The staff was knowledgable, very friendly, professional and accommodating. The unit we stayed at was a ground level unit in Horse Thief Lodge and was very nice and in great shape with everything one would need. The decor was updated & casual with lots of towels and extra bedding. The bed was very comfortable, but the pull out sofa was springy and I did wish they had feather pillows (but i'm picky). We had a small appliance that wasn't working 100% of the time but the staff had it replaced that afternoon. The ski lift was just a few steps outside our door with a couple of hot tubs very close by and the general store was just down the way approx 5 min or less. Panorama had daily activities that we enjoyed through out the week as our husbands went to the slopes. Our stay was mid January so line ups were at a minimum, my husband took in a ski session and due to less people he had the instructor to himself. Restaurants were great about a 21/2-3 star with fantastic service. Laundry facilities was nearby in the underground parking which was also a great way to get places without having to go outside in the cold. We 're very glad we picked the off season to avoid the line ups that I could see happening during peak times as all resorts must have to deal with. This is our 4th year going and we will definitely come again.

Room Tip: Pick a main level and end unit, people can be very noisy with their ski boots.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Dawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, General Manager at Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi Dawn N,
Thank you for your review. We're so glad our staff was friendly, professional and knowledgeable about any of the questions you may have had during your visit. We hope you had fun exploring the area and hope you had a great time skiing. We look forward to welcoming you back next year for your fifth stay. See you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews