We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Embarc Panorama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Embarc Panorama
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
318 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Gorgeous home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed overnight in early September (what they call shoulder season) and I can't say enough about this wonderful property. The setting is so tranquil... amidst the peaks with a lovely creek running alongside the property. I love to sit by the creek and listen to the sound of the water rushing past the huge boulders. The hotel suites are very spacious and everything you need is there if you want to cook, yet it's handy if you want to walk up to the few restaurants on the mountain. The intrawest folks really try to make your stay comfortable. The bedrooms are quiet and the beds are super comfy! I really did not want to leave when it was time to head off to our next destination. Just remember, if you plan on cooking bring your food up with you because there is very little shopping here.

Room Tip: All rooms have mountain views and creek access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmbtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    9
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We recently went to Panorama and stayed the Club Intrawest there. We'd signed up with Intrawest at Whistler the previous year and this was our first experience with the club. We were a little skeptical but the stay at Panorama was wonderful.

We had a beautiful one bedroom condo right on the hill (in Taynton Lodge). The condo has a beautifully appointed full kitchen, a very nice living area and bedroom with whirlpool tub. The units come with a ski locker in the ski room which offers ski-in, ski-out access to the hill and lifts. There are limited other amenities at Taynton Lodge so you'll either cook up dinner or go out to the haf dozen restaurants in the resort. There are some nice hot tubs outside and a small gym. The Intrawest staff were incredibly responsive to any needs, very friendly and almost instantly fixed any issues with the condo (dryer not working or out of toilet paper, etc.). It was pretty impressive.

Panorama is a terrific ski hill, perfect for expert or intermediate skiiers. Plenty of challenging double black glades and bowls for experts and terrific black and blue runs for intermediates (including several fun glades!). It's more intimate and quieter than Whistler but also doesn't suffer from the fog you often find there! With 4000 ft of vertical and typically lots of snow, it's fantastic skiing. What really makes the resort special (apart from the great ski hill) are the Mountain Friends. These are typically locals (or winter locals!) who know the ski hill well and meet you in the morning and afternoon, sort you out by skill level and then bring you to the most interesting parts of the hill. A great way to meet people and have a greta ski day typically ending up at the bar for some apres ski drinks!

The village is relatively small with a few shops. You won't find clubs so it's more for skiing, families but not those looking for a party.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

This is one fantastic ski-in / ski-out vacation spot. Located in eastern British Columbia, the modern upscale resort is at the foot of Panorama ski hill. Panorama is an excellent ski hill that has one of the highest vertical drops in North America (almost 4,000 feet). It's has loads of very challenging Black Diamonds but also has its share of Blue and Green runs. Panorama is located approx 30 minutes uphill from Invermere BC in the East Kootenay mountains. The village is smallish with a few shops and restaurants. If you're looking for nightlife or a large variety of restaurants, this is not the place; it's a great place for families and couples but not for young adults looking to party. We had a 1 bedroom suite that had a full kitchen, jacuzzi, 2 TVs and was beautifully decorated. There's indoor heated parking and a ski-in ski-out locker room where you store your ski gear. In the morning, we would go down to the locker in our slippers, get geared up, then exit the room right to the hill where we skiied down to the lift. At the end of the day, we skiied right to the entrance of that room. Panorama is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

we spend summers here. first time at christmas.
five christmas bells. three kids.11/6/3
sking lessons for all three. walking distance to the mountains.
two days of lessons. the kids are hooked for life.
kids sleding on the mountain. are the rooms dated.
pano is 50 years old. great clean rooms. good food at all
levels. nice size rooms.the mountains, the creek all world
class.great service att all levels. great general store.
five chrismas stars. next year new years eve.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spokoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Nebraska
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

We came to this beautiful area of canada for a short visit.
Checked in at the arrival area, needed a basic room. After seeing our room in the Pines, decided we needed an upgrade. The Pines is okay, but....the room they gave to us was on the first floor with the waling path five feet from the patio door and ten to top it off the smokers were next to us outside in their area so the smoke, if the patio door was open, drifted in.
The next room was in Skitip with a view of the roof top and part of a ski slope. The best was leaving the room and taking in the views outside.
The bed was okay and the room was simple but clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Room: Studio Apartment/1 Bedroom with 1 Bathroom
These rooms were very clean, comfortable and roomy. My husband and I are Club Intrawest owners and were not expecting most of the suites in the building to be owned by outside purchasers.
Check In: It was frustrating to wait until 5 PM to check in. We recognize that the rooms need to be cleaned from the previous guest but by the time check-in takes place, the majority of the day paid for has finished.
Front Desk: There was no set front desk in the building we stayed at. Instead, there is one set check-in area at the base of the hill where all of the different properties check-in at. Our preference is to have someone on site rather than to drive or to walk down to speak to someone in person. That being said, the staff were always courteous and helpful.
Skiing: My husband grew up skiing around Vancouver and Whistler, BC. He was pleasantly surprised with how good the skiing was at Panorama.
Overall: My husband and I loved the suites, the scenery of the area and the activities. Even though the property has a layout different than others, we embrace the differences and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TamandTomAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We love Panorama, it's our dream hiking destination with brilliant sub-alpine mountain access right up the Toby Creek valley. So we always come here in September, when the weather is great, the place is quiet and we can just hike every day and chill out at night.

CI panorama has well-appointed studios up at the edge of the hill in Taynton Lodge. They are quite large, with nice balconies and everything a couple needs for a five or six night stay. So far, so good. What we don't like is that Taynton lodge has many suites not owned by Club Intrawest and on this trip we had to put up with the howling and whining of someone's dog, right above us. Of course, CI has strict policies about NOT having pets in their suites but when we asked about this at central check in they said "yes, a suite owner can have a dog".

Frankly, this was a big downer and we'll not stay there again. Too bad, because it's a nice place otherwise

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank xj6response
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panorama
0.1 mi away
Earl Grey Lodge
Earl Grey Lodge
#2 of 2 in Panorama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
19.2 mi away
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation V...
#2 of 4 in Fairmont Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
9.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Invermere Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prestige Inn R...
#5 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panorama Mountain Resort
11.3 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarc Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarc Panorama

Property: Embarc Panorama
Address: 2000 Panorama Drive, Panorama, British Columbia V0A IT0, Canada (Formerly Club Intrawest - Panorama)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Panorama
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Panorama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embarc Panorama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Embarc Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest Panorama Hotel Panorama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing