We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
26
10
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
10
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoby creekgeneral storetaynton lodgelarge tubliving roomfull kitchenmembers loungeski lockersliquor storemountain resortintrawestunitscondoinvermerehillgondolahike
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2017

The Panorama Mountain Resort (and Embarc Panorama) is a unique village designed for the ski season but a great summer host as well. It's a great retreat for couples or families as the complex offers many activities. The surroundings are beautiful and peaceful; tucked into the mountains that offer wonderful views. You don't really need to leave the resort; there are shops and restaurants and lots to do.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

We had never stayed in a studio through Intrawest/Embarc but were very happy with the size of the room. The area is absolutely beautiful but I do agree that Embarc can't maintain a member feel when the resort is operated by Panorama Resort. We particularly like Embarc in Palm Desrt, Mexico & Whistler. I think you pay enough in dues to feel like a member & central reservations is very odd.
The lack of air condtitioning when the weather was 70-80 degrees really was barely tolerable at night. While tossing & turning in a warm room, the bottom sheet pulls off because they use flat & not fitted sheets for the bottom sheet. I have never been in any hotel or resort that uses flat bottom sheets, that barely fit the mattress.
I thought the bed was comfortable, the room clean & it was a nice touch to have a little extra complimentary toilettry bag as an extraordinary escapes member.
The club room was very quaint but they had all kinds of sheets & boxes in it so I guess they figured no one would use it in the summer. I thought it was a great way for club members to feel part of a club, but it had no A/C either & was too hot to use.
The main pool was awesome, except we learned the entire resort uses the same one & there are way too many people wanting to use that pool so we couldn't get a plastic chair. We went to the other pool but it is right at the bottom of the gondola so you can hear all the noise when they come & go.
I also agree with others that the towels are hard & small, something I have never noticed at any Club locations. We actually really enjoy the friendly staff in Mexico so they become part of tie vacation. I think club members don't realize the importance of staff & a personal touch & they go to Panorama & it isn't there.
There is something about the consistency of older staff & cider & movies at the front desk of Whistler or the same manager at Mexico that makes it feel homey. I don't think I look to feel important but the other locations make you feel that way. At Christmas 2016 Palm Desert had a big Christmas tree in the lobby & coffee & newspapers.
Until I started writing I really didn't realize the impact of not having a local check in, which is your welcome to your vacation. The central check in really is like a counter where you buy ski tickets with young inexperienced staff. Mind you, all staff were very nice.
It's a tough one because the area is gorgeous. We had an awesome racing trip with Kootenay River Runners on the Kicking Horse River & visited 3 hot springs, the best being Lussier Hot Springs in White Swam Provincial park . It was very odd to have a resort store with so few hours so it was an adjustment to drive to Invermere even for the smallest item.
So for us, the studio was great & the area gorgeous. I don't think you can have a summer resort without air conditioning. I have never been in a single hotel or resort ever without A/C. Embarc should invest in the units that are located high on walls. Pregnant, menopausal or anyone with heat sensitivities could not manage without A/C in summer. given the lack of amenities in the resort in the summer, it should be discounted quite a bit.
We did have a fantastic meal at both Earl Grey Restaurant & the Cabin Restaurant, jointly owned & side by side. Great service too.
So go for the beauty of the area, but it is likely if you are used to the traditional Intawest/Embarc feel that you will be missing something, thus 3 stars.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Vntired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

First a word about management. We arrived late to find there was no record of our reservation. In spite of our error we were given a unit and our problem was solved by the manager first thing next morning.

It’s tempting to avoid describing what anyone can check online. These nevertheless are details of our unit.

ENTRY is spacious with bench, coat hooks and heated tile floor at the start of a long hall.
HALLWAY has doors leading to the master suite (king size bed, bathroom with shower and heated tile floor, walk in closet). Lots of towels for two people! Opposite, on the right a short hallway leads to the main bathroom (large tub, heated tile floor) and the second bedroom (two single beds, wall mounted TV, spacious wardrobe) as well as a closet with vacuum. Another closet hides the stacking washer/dryer and the water heater. (Thank you for the three boxes of Tide detergent. Always handy to do a little laundry on a longer trip.)
MAIN AREA is large - divided into eating area (large table, 8 hairs, 3 cool stools at breakfast bar), fully equipped kitchen (plenty of cutlery, dishes, pots, pans - bring plastic wrap. Salt & Pepper provided), and living room (two very comfy chairs, a pullout couch, TV, and floor-to-ceiling stone fireplace).
WALKOUT to covered deck with half a dozen chairs, table, BBQ and less than 10m away is the fast flowing (at this time of year) Toby Creek.
SOUNDPROOFING is excellent, like turning off the water of the fast flowing, noisy creek.
PARKING outside or underground.

AMENITIES: We did not have time to sample all the pools, amenities and restaurants; tennis and pickle ball was left unplayed. As was a round of golf. We did not even ask about rafting, although there seem to be lots of equipment. There seem to be a lot of activities for youngsters. None of the lifts were in use during our short (2 day) stay.
The General Store seems to have a little of everything. It is a liquor store as well as grocery and souvenir and everything else store. Bear Spray is available for a mere $39.99.
We did cover the Valley Trail hike, probably close to 5km with numerous elevation changes, some severe, regardless of which end you begin from. Good way to discover how vast the complex is. We also played a round on the mini golf course which is surprisingly challenging.

PROBLEMS: The fireplace was not working during these very cool nights. The security man came over and tried unsuccessfully to get it working. Maintenance came over in the morning, got the pilot light lit and showed us how to use it. Burnt out light bulb in the bathroom was also replaced promptly.

GETTING THERE: from Calgary, west through Banff to Invermere and west again for about 22km.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AlleVast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

So yes, this place is beuatifully appointed with all the bells and whistles - fireplace, jet tub, spacious layout, great art and finishes, cabin-like feel, fully stocked kitchen, etc etc.
However, it seems the builder skimped on the insulation and you can hear EVERY footstep, toilet flush, door slam and conversation of the people in the halls who, by the way, have zero hallway etiquette. I am certain that the family of five staying over our heads must sleep in their ski boots because they tromp around on the slate floor late at night wearing them as well as early in the morning. Absolutely no regard for the quiet rules, not the fact that there are signs posted everywhere that ski equipment is to be kept in the lockers provided. It's a shame because this place is so cozy and is well situated next to the hills.

Room Tip: Try the top floor, maybe it's quieter up there.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SockMonkey67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

A pleasant 'club' type environment in the BC Kootenay region, lodged within a commercial condo type facility. Underground parking, close to Panorama base ski lifts (ski in - ski out), variety of room types, wide halls, good repair. KItchen appliances are small and in need of repair in some cases. Housekeeping mid week for weekly renters, no in suite washer/dryer so take lots of $1 "tunies" as it costs $2/load, more if you forgot Tide and Bounce.

The most distressing thing is that the condo authority "EMBARC" formerly Club Intrawest, now Diamond International, Las Vegas has bought into the choice of many Canadian hotels of not offering FOX News as a TV choice. Given around 50% of US residents follow FOX News and a growing number of Canadians as well who are still reluctant to publicly admit their following due to overwhelming media preference for social left government, this is a grievous oversight.

Room Tip: Face the ski hill
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Puslinch1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews