We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not just the best food in panorama, this chef rivals the best in canada”
Review of Earl Grey Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Earl Grey Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Panorama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2011

my wife and I travel alot and eat in the best reastaurants around world, are meal at earl grey lodge was superb. I wish it wasnt are last night in panorama so we could have returned for another dinner. the culinary expertise and more importantly the love that was put into the preparation of the food was over the top. I recommend the wild mushroom ravioli , the lobster rissotto witch was nothing less than perfect, and the chocolate pound cake its a chocolate lovers dream, we had the pleasure of meeting the owners phil and claire who were also are servers, they made us feel more like dinner guest at there house than customers, and we met the chef.... chef we can spend alot of money at home ( toronto ) and not get anywhere close to the quality of food you cook. you should move to toronto !!! after many culinary adventures my wife and i agree that this restaurant and chef rival the best in canada. we went there to golf and we will return to dine at earl gray

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirk m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed at Earl Grey Lodge because of the great reviews on tripadvisor. We would definitely recommend it but not as ecstatically as some of the reviewers have.

The lodge has a restaurant, which is really its claim to fame. We had a wonderful meal on the Saturday night. The restaurant is not open Sunday, so plan your trip accordingly. Our room was small and directly under the kitchen, I think, because there was a steady tap-tap-tap of heels on the ceiling from about 5 PM to nearly 10. Otherwise, it's fairly quiet in the lodge, but you wouldn't want to be trying to sleep while dinner was going on overhead.

Other than the dining room, the public spaces in the lodge are fairly small. You could squeeze two people into the lounge where the TV is located, but who goes to a mountain resort to watch TV anyway? The hosts, Phil and Clair, are a charming British couple who are very kind and helpful.

The lodge is about a 2-minute drive from Greywolf golf course, which was our main reason for going to Panorama. We have played courses with huge elevation changes in Whistler, Muskoka, and Mont Tremblant, but Greywolf is even more spectacular, especially the par-3 sixth hole. You must bring your camera for this one! And it's a bargain to play Greywolf, compared to what they charge at Banff Springs. The food in the clubhouse is surprisingly good and the pro shop has a really nice selection of clothing compared to what is on offer from some more famous Canadian resort courses.

We would definitely stay here again but would hope to get a larger room next time if one was available. It's a very reasonably priced B & B and you can see all the deer you'd ever need to see while breakfasting.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gzowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed this Canada Day long weekend, for the second time. Phil and Clair go out of their way always to accomidate - weather it be for just a meal or for a guest.
Food is perfect every time, they always exceed our expectations. Rooms are warm and cozy, food is exceptional!!

We reccomend The Earl Grey to anyone who is traveling in the area, even if you are just looking for some wonderful food or wine.

Thank you Phil and Clair - We really look forward to seeing you again soon.

Room Tip: I would stay here any season, any occasion!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMichalchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I had the pleasure of attending a friends wedding at Panorama and the reception was held at the Earl Grey Lodge. It was a fantasic evening with a sit down meal for 30. The roast beef was out of this world, and the best I have ever eaten.
Claire and Phil were the perfect hosts, and when I visit Panorama again I will definitely want to stay at the Lodge!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_Thompson49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

we have just returned fro a 2 week stay at the earl grey lodge. stunning is the only word to describe it. the view from the dining area and the quality of the food was superb, the little touches in the accommodation made a real difference. hosts Phil and Clare along with their staff could not do more to ensure your stay was an excellent experience we observed many instances of service that was over and above what you would normally expect. thank you for a memorable stay in Pano.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bdcedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

While on a Ski Safari around Alberta & BC my brother Matt & I stayed at The Earl Grey Lodge for 2 nights last week. The Lodge is perfecly situated in the centre of Panorama. It is as instantly welcoming and comfortable as if you were coming home to your own house. The views from the dining area are spectacular and the owners Phil & Clair are charming and helpful in every way. We enjoyed a laugh-a-minute stay, with Phil daring us to ski in his Spiderman and Wolverine full piece lycra bodysuits on one of our Heli Ski days. See pictures for proof that we took up his dare !! We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicH-CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

The Early Grey Lodge, after all the highly rated trip advisor reviews, had much to live up to. My brother and I were fortunate enough to get a reservation on the dates that we were looking for at the very last minute. We were met by the owners, Phil and Claire's charming daughter, Charlotte, who introduced us to the lodge and gave us a tour of the facilities both in the room and public spaces. We were truly blow away by the friendly open atmosphere, the excellent food and most of all the home charm of the lodge. On a visit to Panorama, I highly recommend you book if you can get the reservation.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthewHodgsonTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panorama
13.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#5 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
430 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western Invermere Inn
0.2 mi away
Panorama Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
1,610 reviews
12.8 mi away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#6 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embarc Panorama
Embarc Panorama
#2 of 5 in Panorama
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earl Grey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earl Grey Lodge

Address: 2069 Summit Drive, Panorama, British Columbia V0A 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Panorama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Panorama
Price Range: £107 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Earl Grey Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Custom built log lodge with award winning restaurant and en-suite bedrooms. Centre village location with private parking and gardens. Fully licensed bar, guest kitchen with DVD and book library, wi-fi, hot pools, activities organized from the lodge include mountain biking, fly fishing, golf, water skiing, wake boarding, hiking, ATV rides, white water rafting, kayaking. Winter: skiing, heli-skiing, snowmobiling, cross-country skiing, snow-shoeing, ice fishing winner of best non-condo accommodation in Canada 2007 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Earl Grey Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earl Grey Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing