We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family place”
Review of Earl Grey Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Earl Grey Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Panorama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed in 2 rooms with our 2 boys & med/lg dog for 5 days in January. We found a wonderfully warm reception by the owners; a practical living space to share w the 3 other bedrooms;& every detail attended to. The lodge is easily within walking distance fr chair lifts, even for an 8 yr old carrying his snowboard. The fridge, microwave & dishes/dishwasher made it easy for us to take care of our own meals. Breakfast was perfect & varied w croissants, bagels, oatmeal, etc. Our dog loved it, too!
The others who were staying at the time were considerate folk, which was great considering the potential for noise to transmit through the walls & door.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumJakeShy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

We had our wedding reception here in April 2011, they did a fantastic meal and the service was superb, it was a wonderful setting for our perfect day, Phil and Clare were so helpful and accommodating we had nothing to worry about. It was such a special day and a fantastic setting.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rozzyvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We just stayed at Earl Grey Lodge for 3 nights for a bit of skiing and vacation. We stayed with our dog, and the experience was perfect from start to finish. The hosts were both professional and very welcoming and friendly. The room was immaculate, bed was extremely comfortable, food in the restaurant was incredible. The continental breakfast was better than any we've had before--way more variety. We brought some of our own food to heat up in the kitchenette (microwave, dishwasher, sink), which was a nice option. Having access to the hot pools was very nice after a day of skiing. Thanks Phil & Clare!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelandMikeCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Outstanding location, beautiful lodge with cozy, private well appointed rooms and common areas. Make sure you enjoy their world class cuisine in the stunning upstairs dinning room and bar. The hosts, Phil and Clair are more than accommodating, in fact you will have made new friends. Thanks for the memories guys, and the bonfire, see you soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I should start by saying that I don't normally leave reviews (although I should do more as I rely on this site quite a bit when booking accommodations) but this stay was so great that I felt compelled to pay the compliment where it was due.

The Earl Grey Lodge was the perfect place to stay for our 4 day family summer getaway. We booked three rooms for 9 people in total (6 adults, 3 children) and the set up worked very well for our needs.

The accommodations are very clean and tastefully decorated. There is a small kitchen and outdoor common area that we used extensively - especially handy when babies were napping! The hotel itself is at the centre of the Village and very close to the pools and other amenities.

We dined at Grey's restaurant the first night we were there and the food was wonderful. A lovely breakfast was also laid out for us every morning upstairs at Grey's.

Hosts Phil and Clare could not have been more friendly and accommodating... always ready to help with anything we needed whether it be a bucket of ice or a complimentary salad suddenly appearing to go with the pizza dinner we ordered in one night (the pizza at the Village is very good by the way... a pleasant surprise!) - or simply to put a smile on our children's faces. (Phil even brought out his prized Spiderman & Batman costumes for the dads to put on and surprise the kids with - sorry Phil, couldn't convince the boys to let me post those pics!)

No need to post additional pictures of the Lodge... what you see on their web site is what you get, and of course the Rocky Mountain setting couldn't be more breathtaking.

Thanks again Phil and Clare for a wonderful stay, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank work2live_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

my wife and I travel alot and eat in the best reastaurants around world, are meal at earl grey lodge was superb. I wish it wasnt are last night in panorama so we could have returned for another dinner. the culinary expertise and more importantly the love that was put into the preparation of the food was over the top. I recommend the wild mushroom ravioli , the lobster rissotto witch was nothing less than perfect, and the chocolate pound cake its a chocolate lovers dream, we had the pleasure of meeting the owners phil and claire who were also are servers, they made us feel more like dinner guest at there house than customers, and we met the chef.... chef we can spend alot of money at home ( toronto ) and not get anywhere close to the quality of food you cook. you should move to toronto !!! after many culinary adventures my wife and i agree that this restaurant and chef rival the best in canada. we went there to golf and we will return to dine at earl gray

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirk m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed at Earl Grey Lodge because of the great reviews on tripadvisor. We would definitely recommend it but not as ecstatically as some of the reviewers have.

The lodge has a restaurant, which is really its claim to fame. We had a wonderful meal on the Saturday night. The restaurant is not open Sunday, so plan your trip accordingly. Our room was small and directly under the kitchen, I think, because there was a steady tap-tap-tap of heels on the ceiling from about 5 PM to nearly 10. Otherwise, it's fairly quiet in the lodge, but you wouldn't want to be trying to sleep while dinner was going on overhead.

Other than the dining room, the public spaces in the lodge are fairly small. You could squeeze two people into the lounge where the TV is located, but who goes to a mountain resort to watch TV anyway? The hosts, Phil and Clair, are a charming British couple who are very kind and helpful.

The lodge is about a 2-minute drive from Greywolf golf course, which was our main reason for going to Panorama. We have played courses with huge elevation changes in Whistler, Muskoka, and Mont Tremblant, but Greywolf is even more spectacular, especially the par-3 sixth hole. You must bring your camera for this one! And it's a bargain to play Greywolf, compared to what they charge at Banff Springs. The food in the clubhouse is surprisingly good and the pro shop has a really nice selection of clothing compared to what is on offer from some more famous Canadian resort courses.

We would definitely stay here again but would hope to get a larger room next time if one was available. It's a very reasonably priced B & B and you can see all the deer you'd ever need to see while breakfasting.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gzowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panorama
9.7 mi away
Best Western Invermere Inn
13.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#4 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
443 reviews
0 mi away
Panorama Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
1,670 reviews
12.8 mi away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#6 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embarc Panorama
Embarc Panorama
#2 of 5 in Panorama
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earl Grey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earl Grey Lodge

Address: 2069 Summit Drive, Panorama, British Columbia V0A 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Panorama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Panorama
Price Range: £95 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Earl Grey Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Custom built log lodge with award winning restaurant and en-suite bedrooms. Centre village location with private parking and gardens. Fully licensed bar, guest kitchen with DVD and book library, wi-fi, hot pools, activities organized from the lodge include mountain biking, fly fishing, golf, water skiing, wake boarding, hiking, ATV rides, white water rafting, kayaking. Winter: skiing, heli-skiing, snowmobiling, cross-country skiing, snow-shoeing, ice fishing winner of best non-condo accommodation in Canada 2007 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Earl Grey Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earl Grey Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing