We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic atmosphere and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Earl Grey Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Earl Grey Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Panorama
Certificate of Excellence
Beaumont, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic atmosphere and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

we stumbled across this at Panorama and thoroughly enjoyed our experience there. It is really nice to see the chef in action in the open kitchen. The BLT salad was nicely presented and plenty of food, the herb goat cheese with house made toast very good. The ribeye with gorgonzola cream was excellent, but the nicest part was that each meal came with a variety of vegetables from yellow beet to asparagus, potatoes, carrots and more. The owner, Claire was very nice and took time with each guest to explain the lodge and how they came to build it etc. The lodge is clean and very inviting for a romantic dinner. We will be back to see what chef is creating next.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakershome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
49
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

I truly don't know where to start with my review of the Earl Grey Lodge and Grey's Restaurant. The location is honestly as good as it gets, a 1 minute walk to the hot springs, 3 minute walk to the T-Bar, and 3 minute walk to the lift. At the end of the day you can literally ski up to the door. You park your vehicle and are immediately on your weekend getaway. There is ample, organized room for ski gear and even heated ski boot boxes. This was my second stay at the Lodge and I can honestly say I can't wait to stay again in the summer for golf season. The atmosphere, location, and amenities are exactly what we wanted for our weekend away and the value is fantastic. While the lodge itself is obviously one of the gems on the hill, as the saying goes house is not a home without hospitality. The owners and staff of the Earl Grey Lodge -- Phil, Clare, Charlotte, Will, Claire, and Richard -- are what we will always remember most. They are incredibly social, hospitable, fun, and very much invested in the experience of everyone who enters their establishment. The rooms don't have TVs, if you care about these things bring your iPad, but we honestly didn't miss it at all. There is an amazing lounge/restaurant just upstairs, a restaurant/pub down the road, hot tubs, and and a very nice community room in the lodge for anyone's use. Phil and Clare will make your stay both restful and entertaining. They are truly an integral part of the community and while you stay there you don't feel like a "tourist", you feel like you have made new friends. You get an insider local edge. Their English roots present even more interesting conversation. As you can tell, we are in love with the lodge and the amazing cuisine and ambiance of the restaurant. Don't think twice, stay at this establishment and enjoy a perfect mountain getaway!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leelee403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee Vining, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

On a recent visit from California to B.C., we checked in at the Earl Grey Lodge. When we arrived we planned to stay only one night. Fortunately for us, there was space available allowing us to extend our stay for an extra two nights. We simply did not want to leave this lovely lodge. The owners have thought of everything possible to make this a perfect place to stay. The lodge has an alpine feel with many carefully thought out and unique decorating touches. It's a welcome escape from the ubiquitous condo-on-the-ski-hill lodgings one can find anywhere. This lodge is homey and cozy, but allows for plenty of privacy. AND -- it is a very short walk from the lodge to the ticket office and ski lifts at Panorama - more convenient than many of the higher priced condos.

The restaurant on the upper floor serves delicious and elegant food and has a good wine list. It also has a full bar. We loved being able to return to the lodge after a day of skiing, clean up, and simply walk upstairs to a fantastic meal.

We cannot say enough good things about the time we spent at the Earl Grey. We hope to return for a summer visit, and most certainly for another winter visit.

The owners, Phil and Clare, are exceptionally friendly and gracious hosts.

We would give this lodge 6 stars if it were possible!

Room Tip: All rooms are great (we looked at them all), and the sound proofing is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe and Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Wonderful change of pace. After a hard day skiing and the usual grab and go food, what a delightful surprise. Did not stay in B&B but had two dinners in their dining room. Chef's 3 course with a glass of wine, reasonably priced and delicious - different every night - boneless chicken leg and risotto, steak with small roasted potatoes and veggies, creme brule, homemade apple pie. Choice of environment - main large room rustic with warming fire and great for families and larger groups, smaller floor to ceiling window room with more romantic lighting and intimate dining. Family owned and operated by welcoming couple and their enchanting daughter. A must while at Panorama.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandandSouthSeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

The owner/hosts and staff have captured the spirit of these mountains and offer it to their guests in a wonderful, engaging and special way. Wow. The sense of place and authenticity is wonderful - it complements the mountain resort and experience without overpowering it. As wonderful as the food and hospitality is, you still feel like you've become a part of the great community at Panorama. We'll be going back soon.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greggferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I took my wife and 4yr old daughter to this B&B on a whim, and I have absolutely no regrets. We arrived later Friday night, and stayed until Sunday. Phil & Clare did a great job of making us feel more than at home. Our daughter took great delight in Phil with pirate costume, and told us in great details that she really liked that "Silly Mr Phil".

The rooms were a nice size, and the decor was gorgeous. Having a private bathroom off our room was a very nice feature. Water pressure and temperature were also great. No dribbling showers here. There is a very nice guest sitting room outfitted with some nice toys for the kids, and you can relax and sip on some wine while enjoying the scenery, or watching some TV and chatting.

The breakfast in the morning was far more than I expected, and my 4 year old daughter is now spoiled by the scrambled eggs. "They're way better than yours Daddy!" There was some gourmet bread, and the usual cereals available as well. We chose to stay for dinner after reading some reviews, and it was excellent. We had an wonderful bottle of red wine recommended by Clare. My wife had the beef tenderloin and I had the Seafood Hot Pot, and we both agreed it was some of the best food we'd ever tasted. Portion sizes were generous, and the quality was far above par. The chef has real talent.

The stay included access to the facilities at Panorama, and we took advantage of that as well by spending the afternoon swimming and playing with our daughter. Its a short hop to the Hot Springs at both Fairmont and Radium, and there's a ton of activities available in the area to keep you occupied on your stay.

If I had 3 thumbs, I would give it 3 thumbs up.

Room Tip: Reserve in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We chose to stay at Earl Grey Lodge and Panorama for the first time this year. We had planned 3 weeks skiing, a wedding and honeymoon all-in-one, together with our 3 year old. We were sure we wouldn't find somewhere that ticked all the boxes, but Earl Grey did that and more...

We spoke to Phil prior to confirming our booking. He answered all our questions about suitability both of the resort and of the lodge itself for our mammoth family trip. Not only that, he went way beyond in terms of gathering details on childcare, skischool and also putting us in touch with a wedding commissioner (all of which worked out perfectly - Panorama certainly does great customer service with a smile). From arrival and every single day, Phil & Clare couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.

The lodge is beautifully maintained, elegant and clean. The breakfast area views are lovely and the entrance hall and covered porch with heated boot lockers provide excellent skiing facilities. The guest kitchen and lounge also provide fantastic facilities for guests in providing chillout areas away from the bar upstairs. We spent many a lovely evening relaxing in the lounge with wine watching the falling snow.

I also have to recommend the restaurant extremely highly. Over 3 weeks, we tried out most restaurants in Panorama and Invermere, the local town in the valley. Early Grey is the best of the lot by far for food quality.

We have fallen in love with Panorama as a family resort and a large part of that is down to Phil, Clare, their family and the staff at EGL. We will definitely be back, hopefully for 2012/13 season.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panorama
9.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Invermere Inn
13.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prestige Inn R...
#5 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
19.2 mi away
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation V...
#2 of 4 in Fairmont Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Piccadilly Motel
Piccadilly Motel
#2 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Panorama Mountain Resort
11.4 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earl Grey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earl Grey Lodge

Property: Earl Grey Lodge
Address: 2069 Summit Drive, Panorama, British Columbia V0A 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Panorama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Panorama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Earl Grey Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Custom built log lodge with award winning restaurant and en-suite bedrooms. Centre village location with private parking and gardens. Fully licensed bar, guest kitchen with DVD and book library, wi-fi, hot pools, activities organized from the lodge include mountain biking, fly fishing, golf, water skiing, wake boarding, hiking, ATV rides, white water rafting, kayaking. Winter: skiing, heli-skiing, snowmobiling, cross-country skiing, snow-shoeing, ice fishing winner of best non-condo accommodation in Canada 2007 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Earl Grey Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earl Grey Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing