We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tour areas include Johnstone Strait and Nuchatlitz Inlet on Vancouver Island, Gwaii Haanas National Park on Haida Gwaii, and the Great Bear Rainforest on BC's central coast. No experience is necessary for most tours and family friendly departures available.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our 2nd trip !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2015

This was our 2nd trip to Orca base camp with Kingfisher and once again we had an amazing time. Ally and Silke were our guides and chefs for the 4 days and they did a fantastic job. Full of knowledge, culinary skills and fun they gave us a great few days kayaking. The weather was perfect, bright blue sky and calm water. The wildlife also showed up in abundance, Orca, Humpback, Dolphin, Sea lions, Minke and Bald eagles. On the island we had the usual cheeky squirrels and a deer that wandered around the camp. Also the group of people we shared the trip with were great company, lots of stories and laughter around the campfire at night.

We will be back again !!
Julian & Mandy

Visited September 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Julian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this review, 29 July 2015
Hi Julian & Mandy,

Thank you for you nice review., i will be sure to pass it along to Allie and Silke. Looking forward to seeing you both again in 2016 for your third trip.

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you ever wanted to do a Kingfisher adventure ... Just do it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2014

How can one express the sense of wonder and pure joy this trip with Kingfisher brought us?
We did the 4-day Kayak with Orca from16 - 19 September.
Wow wow wow ...
The guides (Andrew and Ali)
The food
The campsite
The kayaking
The company
The wildlife
The wilderness
The weather (well done Andrew)
The local knowledge, especially of tide and current
The organisation
The safety
The care
Would do it all again in a heartbeat ... It took our breath away
Kaz and Al, Australia

Visited September 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this review, 29 July 2015
Hi Kaz and Al,

Thank you for the nice review. It was great kayaking with you both. I will be sure t pass your review on to Allie as well. I hope to see you on the water again sometime soon.

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Camping and Kayaking with Orca-An AWESOME trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2014

My husband, 21yr old son and myself did the 4 day camping and kayaking trip with Andrew and Ali as our guides. This trip exceeded my expectations in all areas. The campsite was in a beautiful setting with comfortable beds, the food was superb, the guides were brilliant and the animals were outstanding.
We were treated to the sight of so many whales, seals , sea lions, and bald eagles. I know Andrew and his guides cannot guarantee what visitors will see but they ensure that you get the best opportunity to see what's out there at the time. We were amazed by the amount of wildlife and impressed by the knowledge and information that they shared with us.
The groups they take out are small, we had 3 others in our group and had a lot of laughs around the dinner table as well as out on the water.
I would not hesitate in recommending this trip to anyone, my husband hates camping but would not have missed this for the world.
Many thanks to Andrew and Ali for giving us so many great memories.

Visited September 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this review, 29 July 2015
Hi Teresa,

Thank you for the nice review. It was great kayaking with you and your family and I will be sure to pass your comments along to Allie. I hope to see you on the water again sometime soon.

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“HAIDA GWAII Kayak trip with Kingfisher Wilderness travel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2014

I went on the 8 days Burnaby Narrows to Ninstints kayak trip in Haida Gwaii with Kingfisher in mid August. We were 8 friends and had a spectacular trip. Andrew, the company's owner, was one of the guides and impressed us with his knowledge of the area's culture and natural environment , as well as catching Pink salmon in the creek to BBQ , native style over a fire on a spit one evening!
The other guide, Renee, was also great company and always found the best mossy, or beach front camp kitchens. The guides cooked the food, which was excellent, most vegetarian food, with tuna , greek salads etc for lunch. Lots of fresh fruit and veg and excellent coffee! We all helped set up our tents, carry water, kayaks etc, so it did feel collaborative, although we had lots of downtime while the guides did not. The campsites were amazing...
We were lucky to have gorgeous weather; I was surprised how mild the days and evenings were. We were in a mix of single and double kayaks and always felt very safe, with expert route finding. Lovely swells, the calm of Burnaby Inlet at low tide, and the spectacular Ninstints totem site, were highlights. And of course the humpback whales, sea mammals and birds were incredible.
I recommend going a day early to allow yourself a visit to the Haida Cultural center at Skidigate , 12 km by bike and a short ferry ride, to get the cultural background.
Can't recommend this trip highly enough.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this review, 29 July 2015
Hi Lesley,

Thank you for the nice review. It was great kayaking in Haida Gwaii with you. I hope to see you on the water again sometime soon.

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We are a family of six including children aged 22,20,18 and 16 who undertook the orca adventure tour for 6 nights. We could not recommend it more highly.

Lexie and David were highly professional and a lot of laughs. We hadn't read the joining instructions carefully enough and arrived laden with cotton clothes, "the fabric of death" in a damp and salty environment. Lexie patiently helped us reeqip before we headed off in a water taxi to our first campsite.

The kayaking was fun and our guides allowed us to set the pace so no one felt under pressure. Every day we saw jaw dropping sights: humpbacks a few yards from our boat, bald headed eagles swooping with prey in it's talons, seals, sea lions, porpoises and dolphins and we were even lucky enough to have a female orca swim under our kayaks and leap out of the water in front of us.

Lexie and David conjured up mouthwatering meals every few hours to sustain us in our next adventure and the tents and sleeping bags provided were comfortable and snugly.

We are reasonable well travelled and have been lucky enough to see lots of wildlife around the world but this was definitely one of our best experiences. Thank you Lexie and David. You're simply the best and better than all the rest.

Helpful?
4 Thank simonhjcoombe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Hi Simon,

Thank you for joining us this summer with your family and your nice review of our Orca Waters Explorer tour. Both Lexie and Dave commented on what such a great trip it was and the good times they had with you and your family. I will be sure to pass your comments along to them.

I hope you and your family can join us on another adventure soon.

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing