We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, large place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port McNeill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Artists Point Bed, Breakfast and Phototours
Ranked #1 of 8 Port McNeill B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, large place to stay”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Michelle and Rolf are great hosts and provided an excellent B&B. The accommodation is like an apartment with a kitchenette and a large patio with a very nice view. Would have liked to have stayed longer to discuss photography with Rolf and ideas for travel with both of them. The trip to Telegraph Cove was very easy for whale watching. Would easily recommend this B&B to anyone and hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nederland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

When you arrive at the B&B you are not quite sure if you have arrived at the right place, since there is no sign. But you are soon warmly welcomed by the owners, Rolf and Michelle. Your room is very specious and looks like it has just been redecorated. It contains a large livingroom and a decent bedroom with an ensuite bathroom. You practicly have the lower level to yourselves. The view is not bad either, you can see Malcolm Island from both your livingroom and your bedroom. Service is great. The owners really want you to feel at home and are really concious about the environment. They have their own well and Michelle's home made muesli is the best you ever had. Breakfast is good, with all kind of regional product. If you are leaving early to go on a grizzly watching trip, Michelle makes you a breakfast to go. Only downside is that the house is really noisy, so if the kids are playing upstairs you can hear them. Otherwise it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Taiao_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Michelle and Rolf did a fantastic job, they made a great b&b on Vancouver Island.
A private first floor with a great view with a very clean and luxery room and bathroom.
We had every morning a great healty breakfast with nice conversations and they were very helpfull with all our questions.
Very special was the birthday cake, Michelle made for me.
We come back for sure !!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank theunissen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We booked and paid months before we came and when we arrived were warmly greeted as though we had just organised it all yesterday. Rolf Michelle and their 2 lovely boys were very welcoming, and Michelle's breakfasts were lovely.
The location is fabulous, quiet and with a lovely outlook over the water.
The bed is very comfortable and the bathroom big with a great shower.
We would stay again if we were to return to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamSmithSurfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisterwijk
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Our little family of 4 stayed in the suite in Rolf and Michelle's house; we had a wonderful suite with our own entrance. A large and very comfortable bed and beautiful bathroom with a heated floor.....what a luxury. In the living room there was a couch that could be converted into a double bed for our sons. When we said one of our sons was restless while asleep and waking the other all the time, Rolf brought us an extra matress for one of the kids to sleep on. We all had very comfortable nights.
Roff and Michelle are very attentive hosts an have wonderful kids Daniel and Alex. Our sons really enjoyed to play with them. We were always welcome in their house too but you can also decide to seclude yourself.
The breakfast prepared by Michelle is the best we had during our whole trip in Canada.
The view from your room over the Johnstone strait is breathtaking and you look right towards a tree with a nest of bald eagles. When we stayed, their chick was getting its first flying lessons.
We made a boat trip with Rolf and his friend Pete the boatman and had the most wonderful day in Knight inlet. We were on the boat for 14 hours and we saw fantastic wildlife; black and grizzly bear, orca's, humpbacks, eagles, porpoises....During the trip we enjoyed a very tasty picknick breakfast and lunch prepared by Michelle.
We must say that this was the highlight of our trip and can recommend everyone to stay here, especially if you are interested in wildlife viewing or photography!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We found The Artists Point B&B purely by accident but what a happy accident it turned out to be! Michelle and Rolf offer a lovely, private suite with a separate entrance. The bedroom has a cozy king-sized bed and large ensuite. Both the bedroom and living room have large picture windows looking out onto Queen Charlotte Strait.
Michelle and Rolf welcome you into their family home with their two delightful boys, Daniel and Alex. Although you can decide how much you want to be a part of that family, you would be missing out on something special if you chose to seclude yourself.
We did two photo tours with Rolf during our stay—one to Cape Scott Provincial Park and a second to Knight Inlet. The Cape Scott tour involves a drive over logging roads in Rolf’s four-wheel drive and a short hike to the ocean over a well maintained trail. Rolf takes you to where “National Geographic moment” shots are to be had. My husband was a keen amateur photographer before our trip and with Rolf’s patient, expert and practical advice, he came home a much better one. (Be prepared for some constructive but gentle critiques of your photography; you won’t get insincere, unwarranted praise). I am not a photographer but nevertheless enjoyed accompanying Rolf and Greg on the trip. While they did their photography thing I admired the great scenery and took a long walk on a secluded sandy beach. After a lunch/snack to refuel, we were off to another spot for spectacular sunset shots. It’s a long day but well worth the time and effort.
Our second photo tour (leaving a day of rest in between) was up Knight Inlet by boat in search of grizzlies, whales, eagles, and beautiful scenery. There’s no guarantee with Mother Nature that you will see anything specific, but Rolf and his good friend Pete (our trusted Skipper) are on your schedule, and they will ensure that you do not go home disappointed. While we didn’t find Orcas, Greg came home with some amazing photos of grizzlies, gorgeous scenery, leaping white-sided dolphins, and magnificent eagles. It was a 13-hour day but we enjoyed every moment of it.
Michelle does not forget you while out on your excursions. Our take-away breakfast was amazing and she provided individually wrapped lunches with lots of great snacks in case you were still hungry. On the non-excursion days, breakfast is served whenever you choose. You are treated to a lovely continental breakfast that includes Michelle’s homemade muesli and fresh fruit. The view from the dining table is beautiful.
Rolf and Michelle are warm and gracious hosts. They made sure that we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay and provided knowledgeable advice for our solo outings and dinner choices. We really enjoyed getting to know them and hearing their stories of their adventures and travels.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at Artist Point for 3 nights in June and enjoyed it tremendously. The view is outstanding and we enjoyed watching the Ferry and the School Boat bus go by every day to the islands. Two eagles were nesting in a tree right in front of the house and we would sit and watch them. It was a real treat to be able to watch the activity of the eagles since we had never observed eagles for that length of time before. Michelle and Roth are great host and have two precious little boys. Breakfast every morning was a treat. It was prepared by Michelle and we asked that the boys come down and visit as we ate. The visits with the family were great and they gave us pointers on things to do for the day. The rooms are very comfortable and fit our needs exactly. The big window offers a perfect view of the bay and islands and we will definetly return to Artist Point if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: We drove around Port McNeil and looked at other B&B's and hotels while we were in the area a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port McNeill
3.1 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
44 reviews
23.4 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
40 reviews
87.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
4.5 mi away
Alert Bay Cabins
Alert Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Alert Bay
47 reviews
3.3 mi away
McNeill's Inn On The Harborfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Artists Point Bed, Breakfast and Phototours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Artists Point Bed, Breakfast and Phototours

Property: The Artists Point Bed, Breakfast and Phototours
Address: 1003 Ocean Pl, Port McNeill, British Columbia V0N 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port McNeill
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Port McNeill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Artists Point offers one large new guest suite which includes a living room, a bedroom and a private bathroom, totaling 60sqm/645sqft. Our property is 2.3 acres with ocean view, only 3 minutes to a beautiful peaceful beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Artists Point Bed, Breakfast And Phototours Port McNeill, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing