We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an excellent home base”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port McNeill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Artists Point Bed, Breakfast and Phototours
Ranked #1 of 8 Port McNeill B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What an excellent home base”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We discovered this place online and booked it for a couple of days in advance of a week-long sea kayaking trip. This was a superb find. Unlike most B&B's where you get a nicely-appointed room, this is more like an apartment occupying the whole ground-level floor of this house on a bluff just a stone's throw from the water. It is large, clean and very comfortable.

Rolf, the proprietor, is a great guy and a famous nature photographer. He went out of his way to be helpful from outdoing himself with one special breakfast on my birthday weekend to arranging a fishing guide for us (unfortunately that fell through due to high winds on the designated day) to allowing us to store our stuff in a closet during the kayak adventure and offering to drive us to the pick-up place for that outing.

A win all around and we are grateful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoTraveler1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
murillo ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had a great stay at the best b&b we've been to to date.
Accommodations are excellent, very spacious and modern. Also took Rolf up on the wild life tour with himself and capt'n Pete. A true once in a life time adventure. With Rolf's expertise in photography, we got the most spectacular wild life and scenery shots imaginable. Dolphins rule! Definitely worth the drive and visit.

K, G & J

Room Tip: Call ahead for sure, they get booked up pretty early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guycMurilloOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at Artist's Point in late September, 2013 and found it to be a wonderful and comfortable place to relax and enjoy the beauty of North Van Isle. The guest suite is SO
comfortable -- bed is SUPER -- and the Beth is not to be missed! This young family was also a real joy to meet. You will be planning your return visit by the time you have to go home!
Dudley & Mary

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Michelle and Rolf are great hosts and provided an excellent B&B. The accommodation is like an apartment with a kitchenette and a large patio with a very nice view. Would have liked to have stayed longer to discuss photography with Rolf and ideas for travel with both of them. The trip to Telegraph Cove was very easy for whale watching. Would easily recommend this B&B to anyone and hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

When you arrive at the B&B you are not quite sure if you have arrived at the right place, since there is no sign. But you are soon warmly welcomed by the owners, Rolf and Michelle. Your room is very specious and looks like it has just been redecorated. It contains a large livingroom and a decent bedroom with an ensuite bathroom. You practicly have the lower level to yourselves. The view is not bad either, you can see Malcolm Island from both your livingroom and your bedroom. Service is great. The owners really want you to feel at home and are really concious about the environment. They have their own well and Michelle's home made muesli is the best you ever had. Breakfast is good, with all kind of regional product. If you are leaving early to go on a grizzly watching trip, Michelle makes you a breakfast to go. Only downside is that the house is really noisy, so if the kids are playing upstairs you can hear them. Otherwise it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taiao_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Michelle and Rolf did a fantastic job, they made a great b&b on Vancouver Island.
A private first floor with a great view with a very clean and luxery room and bathroom.
We had every morning a great healty breakfast with nice conversations and they were very helpfull with all our questions.
Very special was the birthday cake, Michelle made for me.
We come back for sure !!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank theunissen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We booked and paid months before we came and when we arrived were warmly greeted as though we had just organised it all yesterday. Rolf Michelle and their 2 lovely boys were very welcoming, and Michelle's breakfasts were lovely.
The location is fabulous, quiet and with a lovely outlook over the water.
The bed is very comfortable and the bathroom big with a great shower.
We would stay again if we were to return to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamSmithSurfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port McNeill
3.2 mi away
Haida Way Motor Inn
Haida Way Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Port McNeill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cedar Park Resort Cottages & RV Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Alert Bay Cabins
Alert Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Alert Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
4.5 mi away
Alert Bay Lodge
Alert Bay Lodge
#2 of 4 in Alert Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
3.3 mi away
McNeill's Inn On The Harborfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Artists Point Bed, Breakfast and Phototours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Artists Point Bed, Breakfast and Phototours

Property: The Artists Point Bed, Breakfast and Phototours
Address: 1003 Ocean Pl, Port McNeill, British Columbia V0N 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port McNeill
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Port McNeill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Artists Point offers one large new guest suite which includes a living room, a bedroom and a private bathroom, totaling 60sqm/645sqft. Our property is 2.3 acres with ocean view, only 3 minutes to a beautiful peaceful beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Artists Point Bed, Breakfast And Phototours Port McNeill, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing