We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're paying for the location not the accomodation”
Review of Hidden Cove Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port McNeill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hidden Cove Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port McNeill
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“You're paying for the location not the accomodation”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The location is literally fantastic, the lodge is signposted off the main road to Telegraph Cove and down a 3 km track, you really do feel like you are going to a hide away wilderness lodge. Outside and around the lodge there is a small bay, with a jetty, and a real "hidden cove" behind a small island. This place is literally teaming with wildlife, there is also a regular bear visitor although we did not see him. Compared to Telegraph Cove accommodation this is good value, If you want to get away from things this is a great place to go, it's not a hotel, so no wi-fi and hot tubs etc ... , having said that it is more of a b&b than lodge /hotel. Upon arrival the welcome was most unusual, almost unfriendly, which is very odd for Canadians, however Dan the owner and builder of the lodge was very chatty at breakfast, he practically joined us ! He seemed like a really nice guy and changed our mind about the place somewhat, i can imagine some visitors might find him a little overbearing but I think you either get his sense of humour or you don't. As for the lodge and surrounding area, it just needs a dam good tidy up,, for me, first impressions count and this place is poorly maintained, let's not mistake run down for rustic. The rooms rooms were clean and tidy but somewhat dated, we didn't dislike Hidden Lodge and there was nothing to actually complain about, however we are not likely to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sellersalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    40
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
118
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had a hiccup with our room having been told by our agent that we had a cottage but we had a room in the lodge. Putting aside our disapointment we had an excellent visit. Dan and Sandra are both friendly and helpful and the evening meals we had were excellent with the fish and crab dishes being especially good. The location is beautiful and tour groups will come and pick you up from the lodge (if you pick the right tour).
We did not understand some of the comments we had read on the previous trip adviser notes re: Dan we found him very friendly with a great sense of humour.
Would go back if ever in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartyWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Loved the rustic lodge. Being a photography buff I managed to capture some shots of black bears that wondered into the yard. Saw the lone otter sunning on the dock. The food was excellent. The hosts Dan and Sandra were wonderful. Enjoyed my visit immensely and the two days that I stayed at Hidden Cove just flew by so quickly. Enjoyed the quiet beauty of the location. Went whale watching and Grizzely watching. Have been showing off my pictures to collegues who want to go, so am recommending this oasis if you are looking for rustic, peace and quiet. Thanks Dan and Sandra and staff for a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 617Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

What a lovely spot this lodge is built on. Within an hour of arrival we had seen a river otter eating a fish on the jetty and a black bear turning stones over for food on the lodge beach.
The food was outstanding. Imaginative ,interesting and plentiful. I did find the couple who owned it seemed to be watching you all the time and there were notices everywhere telling you what not to do. We did not dare get up to help ourself to breakfast until we were told to. I would definately go here again as it is so good for wildlife. We took a boat trip from Telegraph Bay and had excellent sightings of Humpback Whales and Stella's sealions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 15travels15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was not a cheap option, but we had stayed here before and liked the location. Saw bears every day on the beach and were picked up from the jetty for trips - a bonus. Dinner was good but breakfasts could have been a bit more imaginative considering the prices charged. Rooms are fairly good and you have to accept that they are on well water and generators so some allowances need to be made.

Room Tip: Room 8 has the best view unless you choose one of he waterfront cottages. However, the path from cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed 3 nights in the lodge. Ok the facilities and equipment may not be shiny and new, but from idyllic position, atmosphere and a real relaxing retreat which is close to nature, Hidden Cove Lodge is hard to beat. It is comfortable, good value, has good food, lovely relaxation areas and it is so nice that the owners take such an interest in their guests. Hidden Cove Lodge is a real gem and the best place we stayed in Canada.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Ok ..let me say that we had a great time... 63 and 60 yo adults .. from Mass ... Hidden Cove Lodge was very nice--3 nights .. we were in room # 1 , which is basically right beside the kitchen and the lounge and the dining room ... Privacy ..not too much .. but the rooms are ok , clean, ..no a/c, never any loud noises at night .. The owner asks what time you want breakfast ..dinner was optional and like 15 - 25 dollars --never had dinner ..Nice views from the lounge and dining room --not much from the room ..but the owner stresses to come out and talk to people at the lounge/ sitting area ... Remember this is basically a person's home that you are entering .. Certain things are asked by the owner ..like take off hiking boots etc if you have been mucking around ... they want to keep it clean ...The place has their own gnerator/ windpower/ solar power ..and a nice fireplace that they lit every evening... Again.. this is basically like a large house and you are their guests .. keep that in mind ..NEXT ..We were picked up by TIDE RIP GRIZZLY BEAR to observe grizzlys ..they pick you up by boat at the hidden cove lodge take you in a 12 passenger boat--a fast boat to a grizzly viewing area .. transfer you to a smaller boat to take you up a river ..prepare for rain on this trip .. it did till noon .. wet and chilly .. got better later on -- no grizzly bears ..saw a black bear on way back ..but no grizzly .. that was fine .. and they have a guarantee if you dont see one .. you can go another time free -- they called us and said hey would pick us up again ... this time we heard a grizzly breathing with her cubs BUT, never really saw it like you think you would .. saw glimpses of it ..but i have a video of the breathing ...Hey it's nature...not a zoo... On the trip they give u muffins etc on way to river and then lunch--deli type meats etc.. --2nd day guide was very rude to me -- thus no tip -- oh well.. no biggie .. but he should realize that if he wants to be a wiseguy , he can be a wiseguy but he isnt going to get a tip for being a wiseguy .. and another person on board even commented on how rude he was... but i am thick skinned ..not going to spoil my trip ..ok ..oh ya--this tour had 3 straight days of basically not seeing a bear..and one more thing .. they dont do much if its raining and you are in the smaller boats --other tours have roofs-canvas type -- this company should invest in some sort of covering for their clients...All in all the company is great-- they just need to train the crew on not to be rude and maybe have some sort of rain protection like the other boats had ..NEXT 4 days 3 nights --KINGFISHER KAYAK TRIPS... we stayed at the base camp ..kayaked every day .. saw orca's humpback whales seals, sea lions, dolphins and porpoises ..this is not for a person who goes eww at the fact of an outhouse/pit toilet and no electricity or running water..safety was never a problem .. the guides were awesome .. only a group of 9 people ..eat breakfast lunch and dinner together .. either at base camp or on a part of an island ..food was adequate -- cmon now ..you are camping in a tent that is on a raised platform ..no gourmet stuff here... campfires every night -- i love em and made them every night ..but no marshmallows --damn .. i wish I had some ..for Kingfisher you meet the night before you leave -- they give you the dry bags that you fill with your stuff .. and then you meet at Port Mcneil and a water taxi brings you to Hanson Island camp site .. You have to load everything in the water taxi .. you help with water etc.. lots of bags too .. Then you help unload too .. The tents are great for 2 people -- of course the tents are 4 man tents .. but I think the 4 men are tiny when they rate them ..ha ha !!.KINGFISHER KAYAKING WAS AWESOME .......Black Bear motel on last night of trip -- awesome place.. awesome owners...and reasonable -- right in Port Mcneil ..very clean .. refrig, micro .grills outside to use ..this is a regular type motel .. so doesnt have the charm of Hidden Cove ... HINT -- rent a car ... its not cheap .. but so much easier to get around ..we flew into Port Hardy..those flights are not cheap either-Pacific Coastal Airlines ..but it beats 6-7 hour drive from Vancouver and ferry trip .... budget rental is right in Port Hardy ...I didnt know this but when you are flying from Vancouver to the states -- US Customs is right in Vancouver -- that was so nice !!!

Room Tip: Room # 1 is right beside dining area --more privacy?--get a higher number..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RONFROMMASS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port McNeill
8.7 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
44 reviews
30.5 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
40 reviews
107.7 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Alert Bay Cabins
Alert Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Alert Bay
47 reviews
3.1 mi away
Alert Bay Lodge
Alert Bay Lodge
#2 of 4 in Alert Bay
74 reviews
10.4 mi away
McNeill's Inn On The Harborfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Cove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Cove Lodge

Property: Hidden Cove Lodge
Address: 1 Hidden Cove Rd | PO Box 258, Port McNeill, British Columbia V0N 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port McNeill
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port McNeill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Hidden Cove Hotel Port Mcneill
Hidden Cove Lodge Port McNeill, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing