We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for an overnight”
Review of Black Bear Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port McNeill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Bear Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port McNeill
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good for an overnight”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed here for a night on my way north and another returning south. 'Resort' is a bit grand as this is more like a smart motel on two levels with views over the harbour at Port McNeill.
The rooms are spacious and clean but as I was on the ground floor there was some noise from workmen leaving early.
Breakfast was taken in the reception building. It was nothing special but sufficient.
There was a pool but I didn't visit it.
If all you want is a bed for the night then this is fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomanbyRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    43
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
21
38
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My sister and I checked into this hotel prior to a boating trip. The room was way (WAY) overpriced. You get a small bathroom and two beds but nothing else and the pool closed at 9 PM. Also, there is nothing "resort" about it. The breakfast was very minimal and below the standard of other hotels we stayed in while travelling around the island. It was clean but I was expecting more. Also a lot of business people stayed there so very early in the morning the trucks started up and it was noisy.

Room Tip: There are not a lot of places to stay there but there are a few B&B to check out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DafCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Check-in was quick and friendly with a quick, clear run-through of all amenities including pool, breakfast room where a continental breakfast is included in the morning, wifi codes etc. Our room was upstairs with a beautiful view across town and to the ocean. The room was spacious and clean with a well appointed kitchen for easy dinner/breakfast prep. Everything feels and looks new, furniture was comfortable, rooms are laid out very well, bathroom & kitchen were spotless. Some people have mentioned the price, you do need to take into consideration that you're in a remote community with limited options, I would say it's the nicest place to stay in town and would stay here again, if budget is your main focus then you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OSIGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Agree 100% with a review that says this is a motel charging hotel prices. Pros are it's clean and the staff are professional and friendly - but the rooms are very basic. Cheap furniture, typical motel bed coverings (those dated polyester things). When we stayed the place was mostly being used by men with big trucks so I expect they are getting long term stay rates, or their companies are paying so they don't care. But our one night stay mid week cost over $150 in low season - we paid much less to stay in a four star hotel in Victoria on the harbor. Breakfast was nothing special (basic continental). I couldn't find anything about this place to justify the prices - other than that they don't have any competition.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mum2MandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okanagan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night but was met with friendly staff and the room was clean. It's a small town so accomodation options are limited but this is a good motel if you need to stay overnight in Port McNeill. The motel is quiet and I didn't hear neighbours or traffic noise at all. Breakfast is fairly basic but nice to have. Right across the street is a pub (there's also a restaurant) which looks pretty much what you'd expect for a small town pub. The waitress we had was very friendly and food was good. I'd recommend both the motel and the pub.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank cpmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed here one night and enjoyed the peace and quiet. It's walking distance to "downtown" port McNeill, if you can call it a town. The pool and hot tub are great and seem rarely used. The breakfast in the morning is average, but good.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcbusinesstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Very clean and well maintained facility, clean and basic room, comfortable bed, Rather steep price. We loved the waffles in the morning, they really stood out from the continental breakfast. Guests without major credit card would be turned away.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hiddenharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port McNeill
0.0 mi away
Haida Way Motor Inn
Haida Way Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Port McNeill
109 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
43 reviews
20.5 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Alert Bay Cabins
Alert Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Alert Bay
45 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cedar Park Resort Cottages & RV Camping
0.3 mi away
McNeill's Inn On The Harborfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Resort

Property: Black Bear Resort
Address: 1812 Campbell Way, Port McNeill, British Columbia V0N 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port McNeill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port McNeill
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Port Mcneill
Black Bear Resort Port McNeill, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing