We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bigfish Lodge - the place to stay”
Review of Big Fish Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Fish Lodge
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I echo the comments posted by Eric. What more can you ask for in accomodations? As Eric mentioned we were hiking the West Coast Trail and used The Big Fish Lodge both before and after the hike. Superb! The staff are really what made the stay special and were all genuinely friendly and very helpful. Definitely a home away from home.

The lodge was very clean - both rooms and common areas. The price was reasonable especially considering the amazing breakfasts, comfy beds, great games/common room, the view and the availability of laundry facilities (especially important after the hike ...). Thanks to Lucas, Arianna (sp.?) and Michaela (again sp.?) for a great stay. I look forward to staying there again and more great conversation over coffee and breakfast. By the way Lucas, the egg/spinach breakfasts prepared by you AND your staff were awesome ;-)

Cheers,
John

Room Tip: The "Ocean View" room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob S, Owner at Big Fish Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Thank you for your comments John,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide our customers with a real, genuine and authentic west coast experience, and our staff take great pride in their work.

Hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

Myself and a buddy just finished hiking the West Coast Trail and used The Big Fish Lodge both coming and going. I enjoyed everything about this place. I found the staff very easy to talk to, super friendly, and easy going. They were very knowledgeable about the community and local activities. As to the building, I found the rooms very clean and comfortable. The common area and kitchen were spacious and allowed us opportunity to casually socialize with other guests. They made us wonderful breakfasts at whatever time we wanted. The front doors open onto a beautiful beach...Again, I liked this place and their staff - comfortable and relaxing. Normally I don't submit reviews, but that last one I read wasn't anything like my experience. I considered making marriage proposals to pretty much all of their staff...well, except for Lucas. Although he's awesome and cooks a wicked breakfast...technically he's a dude.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob S, Owner at Big Fish Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you Eric for your feedback.

We work hard to ensure that our customers have a well rounded experience at the Big Fish Lodge, and after eating a Lucas sized breakfast, well rounded you may be.

Our employees are locals who are passionate about Port Renfrew and the lodge, and I am happy to see that they showed you a good time.

Regarding the marriage proposals, we appreciate your enthusiasm and feelings for our team, although I can't guarantee any matchmaking.

We all hope to see you again!

Until next time,


Rob Stewart
Proprietor
Big Fish Lodge
250-213-2292

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My wife and I couldn't have been happier with the service, accomodations, and the food. And the host was indeed the most! I wouldn't hesitate to reccomend this fabulous Fishing Lodge, and I don't even fish! Good on ya, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudeboy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob S, Owner at Big Fish Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Thank you Rudeboy for your kind words!

We would be glad to have you and your lovely wife back any time! Come back to the island! We miss you already!

Cheers!

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Big Fish Lodge is the best situated accommodation in Port Renfrew - right on the beach in the old part of town with character and charm abounding. Oriana, our host, was truly helpful and nice - a great place with the flavour of the true west coast!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob S, Owner at Big Fish Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

We are so happy that you enjoyed your anniversary with us! Lucas' closely guarded pancake recipe has been handed down through 4 generations of Ferguson's....well maybe that is a bit of an exaggeration, but he can make a mean pancake!

Come back to us any time!

See you soon!

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This is our second visit, the first was great we came in February. This time we came in July for our 39th anniversary,a gift from our son. We could not ask for a better place to send a very special day, the staff are friendly and had a good time. Had breakfast cooked for us WOW never had pancakes like that :-). We meet some people this time that we shared an annivsary supper with on the deck.
Would like to come back and do some fishing with other friends. A big Thank you to all you made our anniversary very special.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda and Gordo... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed here with my partner, it was getting pretty chilly but the lodge of was huge, and warm.

They had a bucks party that had hired out most of the lodge, so we hung out by the fire on the beach with them and a couple of other couples.

Coming into town really late during winter and not booking... not very smart, but follow the signs to this gem of a lodge, and you will be welcomed, they have heaps of rooms - wish I could go back to this moment!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raspberry_poet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Awesome lodge oceanside in Port renfrew!... Only a few hours from either Victoria or Nanaimo this hidden gem is a beauty!.. We traveled with a 2 year old and two adults, but there was us and and a couple and an older couple all sharing the lodge this visit and all were comfortable! There is an open dining space and living room area - pool table, bbq, full kitchen at your enjoyment! Then we went outside to the fire pit to have a ocean side fire before bed. The rooms were quiet and cozy. We went for a drive and checked out Avatar grove to check out some of Canadas "gnarliest" trees and also some big ceaders. We went down for a walk at Botanical beach, and had some delicious affordable food at two (of the 3) local eateries. Nothing but positive things too say about this town and this lodge. Definitely check it out no matter what your situation - friends, family, romantic get away, it would be good for all..

Room Tip: "oceanside" room, has one bed, door to shower and toilet, sink in there too, and patio ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steffanymonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Renfrew
20.8 mi away
Van Riper's Resort
Van Riper's Resort
#1 of 5 in Sekiu
37 reviews
33.6 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
#1 of 8 in Port Renfrew
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Trailhead Resort
Trailhead Resort
#2 of 5 in Port Renfrew
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Handsome Dan's Port Renfrew
Handsome Dan's Port Renfrew
#2 of 8 in Port Renfrew
39 reviews
34 mi away
Salty Towers Oceanfront Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Fish Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Fish Lodge

Address: 6644 Queesto Dr., Port Renfrew, British Columbia V0S 1K0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Renfrew
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Port Renfrew
Price Range: £76 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Fish Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Fish Lodge is the premier fishing accommodation located on the South - West Coast on Vancouver Island. Big Fish Lodge Is located in the town of Port Renfrew, Only a 90 minute drive from Victoria British Columbia. It is a world-class accommodation ideal for corporate retreats, fishing vacations, surfing getaways, or even an ideal rest before navigating the West Coast Trail, or after the Juan de Fuca Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Big Fish Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing