We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow sums it up”
Review of Big Fish Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Fish Lodge
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wow sums it up”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

After reading all the reviews I went in with very high expectations of the lodge. Some how my expectations were beyond exceeded! As soon as you arrive you are immediately given time to unload the car, unpack, and meet up with Lucas or Bonnie when you are settled in. This relaxed feeling never ended for us. Even with a nearly full lodge on the weekend we never had trouble finding time to use the kitchen. The pool table and lounge were also shared well by all. The speakers with a phone/mp3 player hookup was also very welcome. Each of us took turns having our own music. The lodge itself is host to many board games like Cranium, Trivial pursuit and card games like Crib. Lucas was extremely helpful with the surrounding area and I even saw him hand drawing maps for the other couples. Him and I happened to spot a pod of whales in the bay which we enjoyed from the awesome new deck. Right on the beach this place is a must for anyone looking to spend some time away from city life. The addition of wifi did help as I needed to keep in touch with work sadly. This is a very special place that is run by a group that really cares and it shows in all the recent upgrades and personal service. We will be going back as soon as our schedules match up. The breakfast is a must and they offer a wide variety of options. The sugar free gluten free pancakes were an unexpected treat! Do not miss out on Botinany Bay, Botanical Beach, Avatar Grove and the local beaches to watch the surfers. Great area, great lodge and great hosts. Do not pass up on any chance to stay here!

Room Tip: Beachview is the perfect couples room and has a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurrowsRulesVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
17
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed for a total of 7 nights for our holidays and had an amazing time. Lucas was a great host, checking in to make sure all was okay and give us some pointers of places to check out. We were totally spoiled with his yummy breakfasts too. We were fortunate to have the lodge to ourselves for two days, it felt like home away from home.
We checked out Avatar Grove, Botany Bay and Botanical Beach and on those rainy days staying inside playing pool watching the waves was perfect. The great room is the perfect place to mingle and meet some great people from all over.
We are already planning our next trip back for some more rest and relaxation.

P.S. thanks Lucas for the great wedding tips and job well done on the new deck!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canucks79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The Big Fish Lodge is the coolest place I've ever been!! I've even around the world and never found a place like this!!! I will be back MANY times forever in the future!!! Service is beyond great, they make you feel like family!! Views are priceless and so relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tashachewpoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob S, Owner at Big Fish Lodge, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Hi Tasha!

Thank you so much for your kind words! It's great to hear that you had such a good time here. We try to provide a unique experience for all of our guests, and to allow them to truly experience the West Coast hospitality and lifestyle that we love so much. It's true, we want you to feel like family, and to be completely comfortable. I hope you had a chance to try Bonnie's famous cinnamon buns...

See you again!

Rob Stewart
Proprietor
250-213-2292
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

My wife and I and our baby boy stayed for a couple of nights early in November and had an extremely good experience overall...we were welcomed by Bonnie who was very helpful and assisted us in a choice of rooms as it was quiet at the lodge for those paticular nights...the lodge offers a very unique experience in that it offers a common area where you're encouraged to hang out, play games, socialize with other guests and cook in the open kitchen...we were pleasantly surprised with the experience as it's unlike any place we've ever stayed at before...it's not a hotel, or hostel or lodge but a unique combination of all three...the main room is heated beautifully with a newly installed wood stove and the kitchen is well stocked with all amenities \ spices and good strong coffee...of which Bonnie added her secret touch to...we didn't have the $15 dollar breakfast but another couple did and it looked excellent...home made pan fried potatoes with onions, eggs & bacon, lots of toast and a nice yogurt \ fruit cup with coffee or tea...we did eat some of the amazing cinnamon buns that were freshly baked though...mmmmm...the main area is also set up with good speakers for music, comfortable seating and a large pool table along with some other games...the rooms were clean and well appointed with linens and extra bedding...the location is perfect as it overlooks the water and is literally a step away from the beach...it's also located close to all the wonderful excursions that Port Renfrew has to offer...

Again, we did enjoy our stay very much and will be visiting the Big Fish Lodge again in the near future...I would like to offer the following foot notes to the owners...check the mattresses of each bed as some of the beds in our room were definitely uncomfortable...replace or fix some cues for the pool table as most of the ones that were there had the tips broken off...and most importantly, offer or install a protection gate around the fireplace for when young ones are visiting...

Anyway, if you're going to Port Renfrew don't hesitate to stay at this fine establishment if you're looking for something laid back and unique...

ps...look for some great wildlife as this Elk was right outside our room!!

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G0CanucksG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob S, Owner at Big Fish Lodge, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
GOCANAUCKSGO! I am glad to hear that you had a wonderful time at the lodge...you needed something to do while waiting for the NHL to come back! ;)

We appreciate all of the comments and it is too bad you missed out on Bonnie's special breakfasts.

We do try to provide a different experience for our guests...taking a little from each of the three styles of accommodations that you mentioned. Most importantly to us, is that our guests feel welcome in our lodge. We provide an authentic West Coast experience, and all of the characters that come with it. We encourage all of our guests to mingle, as we have had some of the most amazing times with groups of all types.

We only want the guests with the most positive attitudes, and when you bring a whole group of great people together, there are always fun times to be had.

Note to your suggestions: We will be upgrading some of our beds soon (the new fireplace and woodstove was first on the list) and if our guests warn us ahead of time, we can get some type of barrier to restrict your young ones from getting into the fire.

See you again!

Rob
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We were there in October 2012 & had the whole place to ourselves also....other then the fact the heater went out in the night & the main lodge got very chilly the place was great...rooms were warm & toasty as they are electric heated.

Downside, not much to do in Renfrew the end of October...we did some hiking but it was rainy & therefore slippery. Also, we were told the breakfast would be an additional $10 each as we used a groupon but then were charged $30!....definately not worth that.

The host was super! & the views amazing!

Room Tip: Bring a hair dryer & all your toiletries....as they not provided
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckylVictoria_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob S, Owner at Big Fish Lodge, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Hello Lucky, and thank you kindly for your feedback, we appreciate it.

You are fortunate to have enjoyed a nice and quiet lodge to yourselves, as this is my favorite time of year out in Port Renfrew. Apologies for the propane heater running out in the middle of the night in the common area. Generally, for environmental considerations we reduce the heat in the great room and kitchen during the nights when are guests are asleep. It was bad timing for the propane to need to be changed. :)

I have some great news for you...on November 3rd we are having a brand new, locally crafted, high efficency wood burning stove installed in the main area. This should keep you toasty and warm in those chilly west coast nights. We also have a fireplace for our guests use in the sitting area beside the open kitchen. The next time you come by, have a nice hot chocolate by the fire...as warm as you can handle it.

In the winter months, a hot breakfast selection is available, generally fresh homemade pancakes, double smoked bacon, cheesy omellettes, freshly baked croissants, or whatever your host feels like treating you with. The winter price has always been $15 per person, including hot and cold breakfast items, hot coffee and tea, fresh juice, and includes taxes and gratuity. We haven't increased any of our prices since 2007.

I am glad to hear that our host was good to you and we all hope to see you again,

Have a wonderful winter!

Regards,


Rob
Proprietor
250-213-2292
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We were 8 and stayed for one night before our West Coast Trail hike in the summer of 2012. The hosts were very helpful, and made our stay memorable on various accounts. We were served fresh salmon (as fresh as a couple of hours) with an amazing outdoor patio setting with glass walls - which gave us the view, but not the wind which came with it. Do I need to mention the spectacular on the beach direct accessible backyard.

The hosts drove us to the Trail End for WCT. How helpful they are: I forgot my hiking poles in the Cab from Victoria the previous day. The host let me have very good poles from his storage. I paid for the poles as a tip, but the expectation was not there. Not to mention the poles were Black Diamond and awesome.

Excellent experience. Would go there again... without a second thought.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice.. If you are starting your trail from here, this is the best night you will h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicsidhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob S, Owner at Big Fish Lodge, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Mr.Sidhu,

The pictures look fantastic! It sure looks like you had a great time, and I hope the trip on the trail was exciting. I am glad to hear that Lucas was able to help you out with the poles and that they worked out for you.

You can't get salmon much more fresh than that...I'm sure it was tasty.

If you ever want to come out this way again, we would be happy to see you!

See you again,

Rob Stewart
Proprietor
Big Fish Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Port Renfrew was such an amazing surprise- a great end of the road vibe, the kind of place where everyone talks to you, leaves their doors open, invites you in... And Big Fish Lodge is the essence of Port Renfrew- fantastically friendly, hospitable and down to earth. We had the place to ourselves- huge lounge, great kitchen, private access to the sea- but there would be more than enough room with the place full- in fact, I think I need to organize a group to go back- it would be the BEST place for a party... Sorry I missed the one that Lucas was having the night we left- think that would have been one to remember :) And to top it all off, a great breakfast. Definitely coming back, this place reminds me of Tofino before it went upscale... Don't come looking for luxury, do come for authentic west coast

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob S, Owner at Big Fish Lodge, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you Natalie, we appreciate you taking the time to comment!

We are happy to hear that you had a great time at the lodge. I heard there was quite a party that evening...too bad you missed it. Let us know when you want to have one of your own...we can help you with anything that you need!

See you next time!

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Renfrew
21.0 mi away
Van Riper's Resort
Van Riper's Resort
#1 of 5 in Sekiu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
33.6 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
34.1 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Trailhead Resort
Trailhead Resort
#2 of 5 in Port Renfrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
#1 of 8 in Port Renfrew
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Handsome Dan's Port Renfrew
Handsome Dan's Port Renfrew
#2 of 8 in Port Renfrew
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Fish Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Fish Lodge

Property: Big Fish Lodge
Address: 6644 Queesto Dr., Port Renfrew, British Columbia V0S 1K0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Renfrew
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Port Renfrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Fish Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Fish Lodge is the premier fishing accommodation located on the South - West Coast on Vancouver Island. Big Fish Lodge Is located in the town of Port Renfrew, Only a 90 minute drive from Victoria British Columbia. It is a world-class accommodation ideal for corporate retreats, fishing vacations, surfing getaways, or even an ideal rest before navigating the West Coast Trail, or after the Juan de Fuca Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Big Fish Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing