We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise of the trip!!”
Review of Big Fish Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Big Fish Lodge
Reviewed 30 June 2013

On a motorcycle trip, we ran out of daylight and gas in Port Renfrew. The owner of Big Fish Lodge offered us a great rate and amazing meals. The lodge itself is classy yet quaint and homey. A fantastic place to unwind. Great beach to walk on.
Lucas is a fantastic Innkeeper. I highly recommend this place as a getaway.
Saw bald eagles on my morning walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaddyMakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

We had a lovely relaxed stay here, and really appreciated Lucas and Bonnie. Do enjoy the view and beach-combing at the lodge, and as others have mentioned take the time to go the Botanical Beach, Botany Bay and Avatar Grove.

It wasn't a problem for us, but can be if you just can't be without your cell phone - there are no cell towers in Port Renfrew, and therefore no cell phone reception. There is however free internet and phone at the lodge that you can use.

If I had one thing that could be better, it's the beds, they're just a little too firm for my taste, otherwise the rooms are clean and tidy and as several people have mentioned the common room is very cozy with leather couches, pool table dining table, and kitchen.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Room #3 has the best view of the beach, and has it's own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaxBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We had such a great time at the Big Fish Lodge! The place is perfect if you want to relax, meet new people and have fun! The hosts are amazing, we had a nice fire on the beach and had the chance to taste Bonnie's cinnamon buns :) Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

After reading all the reviews I went in with very high expectations of the lodge. Some how my expectations were beyond exceeded! As soon as you arrive you are immediately given time to unload the car, unpack, and meet up with Lucas or Bonnie when you are settled in. This relaxed feeling never ended for us. Even with a nearly full lodge on the weekend we never had trouble finding time to use the kitchen. The pool table and lounge were also shared well by all. The speakers with a phone/mp3 player hookup was also very welcome. Each of us took turns having our own music. The lodge itself is host to many board games like Cranium, Trivial pursuit and card games like Crib. Lucas was extremely helpful with the surrounding area and I even saw him hand drawing maps for the other couples. Him and I happened to spot a pod of whales in the bay which we enjoyed from the awesome new deck. Right on the beach this place is a must for anyone looking to spend some time away from city life. The addition of wifi did help as I needed to keep in touch with work sadly. This is a very special place that is run by a group that really cares and it shows in all the recent upgrades and personal service. We will be going back as soon as our schedules match up. The breakfast is a must and they offer a wide variety of options. The sugar free gluten free pancakes were an unexpected treat! Do not miss out on Botinany Bay, Botanical Beach, Avatar Grove and the local beaches to watch the surfers. Great area, great lodge and great hosts. Do not pass up on any chance to stay here!

Room Tip: Beachview is the perfect couples room and has a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurrowsRulesVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed for a total of 7 nights for our holidays and had an amazing time. Lucas was a great host, checking in to make sure all was okay and give us some pointers of places to check out. We were totally spoiled with his yummy breakfasts too. We were fortunate to have the lodge to ourselves for two days, it felt like home away from home.
We checked out Avatar Grove, Botany Bay and Botanical Beach and on those rainy days staying inside playing pool watching the waves was perfect. The great room is the perfect place to mingle and meet some great people from all over.
We are already planning our next trip back for some more rest and relaxation.

P.S. thanks Lucas for the great wedding tips and job well done on the new deck!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canucks79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The Big Fish Lodge is the coolest place I've ever been!! I've even around the world and never found a place like this!!! I will be back MANY times forever in the future!!! Service is beyond great, they make you feel like family!! Views are priceless and so relaxing.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tashachewpoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob S, Owner at Big Fish Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Hi Tasha!

Thank you so much for your kind words! It's great to hear that you had such a good time here. We try to provide a unique experience for all of our guests, and to allow them to truly experience the West Coast hospitality and lifestyle that we love so much. It's true, we want you to feel like family, and to be completely comfortable. I hope you had a chance to try Bonnie's famous cinnamon buns...

See you again!

Rob Stewart
Proprietor
250-213-2292

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

My wife and I and our baby boy stayed for a couple of nights early in November and had an extremely good experience overall...we were welcomed by Bonnie who was very helpful and assisted us in a choice of rooms as it was quiet at the lodge for those paticular nights...the lodge offers a very unique experience in that it offers a common area where you're encouraged to hang out, play games, socialize with other guests and cook in the open kitchen...we were pleasantly surprised with the experience as it's unlike any place we've ever stayed at before...it's not a hotel, or hostel or lodge but a unique combination of all three...the main room is heated beautifully with a newly installed wood stove and the kitchen is well stocked with all amenities \ spices and good strong coffee...of which Bonnie added her secret touch to...we didn't have the $15 dollar breakfast but another couple did and it looked excellent...home made pan fried potatoes with onions, eggs & bacon, lots of toast and a nice yogurt \ fruit cup with coffee or tea...we did eat some of the amazing cinnamon buns that were freshly baked though...mmmmm...the main area is also set up with good speakers for music, comfortable seating and a large pool table along with some other games...the rooms were clean and well appointed with linens and extra bedding...the location is perfect as it overlooks the water and is literally a step away from the beach...it's also located close to all the wonderful excursions that Port Renfrew has to offer...

Again, we did enjoy our stay very much and will be visiting the Big Fish Lodge again in the near future...I would like to offer the following foot notes to the owners...check the mattresses of each bed as some of the beds in our room were definitely uncomfortable...replace or fix some cues for the pool table as most of the ones that were there had the tips broken off...and most importantly, offer or install a protection gate around the fireplace for when young ones are visiting...

Anyway, if you're going to Port Renfrew don't hesitate to stay at this fine establishment if you're looking for something laid back and unique...

ps...look for some great wildlife as this Elk was right outside our room!!

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G0CanucksG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob S, Owner at Big Fish Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

GOCANAUCKSGO! I am glad to hear that you had a wonderful time at the lodge...you needed something to do while waiting for the NHL to come back! ;)

We appreciate all of the comments and it is too bad you missed out on Bonnie's special breakfasts.

We do try to provide a different experience for our guests...taking a little from each of the three styles of accommodations that you mentioned. Most importantly to us, is that our guests feel welcome in our lodge. We provide an authentic West Coast experience, and all of the characters that come with it. We encourage all of our guests to mingle, as we have had some of the most amazing times with groups of all types.

We only want the guests with the most positive attitudes, and when you bring a whole group of great people together, there are always fun times to be had.

Note to your suggestions: We will be upgrading some of our beds soon (the new fireplace and woodstove was first on the list) and if our guests warn us ahead of time, we can get some type of barrier to restrict your young ones from getting into the fire.

See you again!

Rob
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Renfrew
33.6 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
34.1 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
20.8 mi away
Van Riper's Resort
Van Riper's Resort
#1 of 5 in Sekiu
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Trailhead Resort
Trailhead Resort
#2 of 5 in Port Renfrew
91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
#1 of 8 in Port Renfrew
100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Handsome Dan's Port Renfrew
Handsome Dan's Port Renfrew
#3 of 8 in Port Renfrew
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Fish Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Fish Lodge

Address: 6644 Queesto Dr., Port Renfrew, British Columbia V0S 1K0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Renfrew
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Port Renfrew
Price Range: £82 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Fish Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Fish Lodge is the premier fishing accommodation located on the South - West Coast on Vancouver Island. Big Fish Lodge Is located in the town of Port Renfrew, Only a 90 minute drive from Victoria British Columbia. It is a world-class accommodation ideal for corporate retreats, fishing vacations, surfing getaways, or even an ideal rest before navigating the West Coast Trail, or after the Juan de Fuca Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Big Fish Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing