We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fishing, great hosts!”
Review of Trailhead Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trailhead Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Port Renfrew B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
“Great fishing, great hosts!”
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The service at the lodge was top notch. Great meals, and good company all around.
Pete and Connie and the staff are very helpful with any requests we may have had and the trip was more than enjoyable.

The cabins are very cozy and the beds are nice and comfy.

The lodge is located in a nice quiet area with just a short walk to the wharf. It has some beautiful wood carvings inside and out.

There are a couple of hot tubs for guests to use and we made full use of the one close to our cabin. Also, the lodge is very nice and comfy. A great place to watch the Canucks win one of their games! The store has a nice variety of merchandise, something to please everyone. The fish room offers the option to have your fish processed and frozen or fileted and packed on ice in your cooler when you head for home.

What we liked the best is the overall experience of open ocean fishing with a great guide...Mike took us out and did an excellent job of getting us on to fish and was good at explaining what to do and when to do it if we did get a fish on! He was busy busy keeping his eye on all our rods to be sure we did not miss a bite! He also made sure that the fish we hooked were brought into the boat with none getting off the hook!

What we liked the least was the early morning wake up time but it is necessary to get us fed and out onto the fishing grounds at a reasonable hour so we can't complain about that. We are back in early enough to catch fourty winks before the awesome appies and dinner that was fully enjoyed in the evenings.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bighalibut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    18
    5
    4
    8
See reviews for
20
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2011

My brothers and I have been going to Trailhead in June for 4 years now and have always had a fantastic time. Connie and Peter are great hosts providing everything you could ask for and more! We always go for the full meal deal staying and eating at the resort. The food is top 10 and the hot tub a great place to tell fish stories at day's end.

The hali fishing is very good and we have always come away with full coolers to take back to the prairies : D

We are booked in again this June and look forward to another great trip.

Highly recommend to all.

Room Tip: Cabins have full kitchen and lots of beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ringo1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham, Washington, USA
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I and a close group of friends have stayed and fished with Peter and Connie many times. Each time has been better than the last. The cabins are great, the fishing outfit is top notch. The staff are excellent, they treat you like family. Peter and his crew refuse to cut corners and offer the best of everthing, be it fishing gear, food, cabins, boats etc. We have also added Tralihead to our list of favorite places to ride our motorcycles to. The road to Trailhead is fun to ride, and we always look forward to spending some time with Peter, Connie and crew. Treat yourself to a trip to Trailhead, you will be impressed!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preston806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandview Wa.
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2011

I and 12 to 4 others have fished here for 10 yrs in a row with Excellent catch on salmon and halibut, some lingcod or yellow eye . Lots of ocean sites. Geat sea food and personal coundn't be beter!! also they freeze your catch at a small fee for take home .Over all a great time and If you need something diff asked Peter or Connie and they try to make it happen. We've already set times for this year, see ya their Smokey ,Grandview Wa. and other parts of the USA

Helpful?
Thank SmokeyGrandviewWa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2011

As an avid fisherman I have traveled the coast of B.C. and have stayed and fished at many lodges. Trailhead is a very unique experience. The resort itself is similar to a Whistler Style Chalet. The accommodations were fantastic. They offered seperate units that were spaced on the property giving us a very private feeling. The unit was very large (bigger then some condo's). Two large bedrooms, each with their own washroom and shower. Even though the meals are provided we had a full kitchen, living room area and TV. Wireless internet was also supplied at no charge. The rooms are beautifully decorated and it is obvious that lots of thought went into the design and functionality. It was just as comfortable as being at home. The main lodge is spectacular. There is a large open eating area for all the guests. This was a great place to meet people and make new friends. There is also a lounging area with couches and a TV. The atmosphere is extrememly friendly. Each night the staff put on an superb meal. The appetizers were a great start and the main course was perfectly presented. Each night was a different meal and again it was obvious that a lot of preparation and thought goes into the planning. There are a couple hot tubs outside and a well equipped store on site as well. Basically the resort itself has a very home like appeal and you feel like you are visiting family or friends.

The fishing experience ranks as the best I have ever had. Trailhead offers the ultimate in comfort with custom designed welded aluminum boats. They are huge! The 4 of us all sat inside on comfortable seats in a heated cab. The cab is full height and has a private head. The boats handled the open ocean with eaze and gave you a true sense of safety. Lots of power with twin 250hp Yamaha's. The guides were extemely knowledgable and shared information on the history and facts of the west coast. Very personable guys. It was also obvious that they read the water well and new where and how to fish. Halibut and Salmon were plentiful and there was always action on one corner of the boat. The boats are large enough that 4 guys can fish at the same time. One particularly neat aspect was the cooperation amongst the guiding community. There was no competition between the guides. On trips to other resorts I have watched guides work against each other and keep information to themselves. At Trailhead the guides talk to each on the radio constantly and if someone gets into the fish he calls the other guides right away so that all the guests can get in on the action. No secrets on the depth, what type of lure or location. They sincerely want all their guests to have a memorable experience. Everything was first class. The boat, rods, reels, gear and equipment were maticulous. Fishing has never been easier or more comfortable. Once back at the dock you are greeted by another crew that jumps right on the boat and begins cleaning it and preparing it for the next day. Your catch is immediately cleaned and taken back to the lodge. If you want, Trailhead offers complete processing and vacuum sealing of your catch. I took advantage of this is would never do it differently. The fish is fileted into perfect sizes, professionally sealed and frozen for your trip home. It is a real pleasure and very easy to cook a meal at home with the way Trailhead prepares your catch.

I have traveled much farther and spent way more money for less of a trip. Trailheads location is great...you can drive right to the resort. The West Coast of Vancouver Island and in particular fishing off the Swiftsure Bank is as good as it gets. Regardless if you are fishing or just looking for an incredible weekend getaway, Trailhead Resort offers it all. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwa3474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2011

My buddy, my brother, his son and I have been going to Trailhead for more than five years and although these guys have trouble knowing which way to reel the spool, we have limited out every single year. Sometimes within two hours. We have also had the opportunity to photograph large pods of humpbacks and killer whales. An exhilarating experience. The beds are ultra comfortable, the food is five star and the guides and staff are most accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2011

My brothers and I had planned a unique West Coast fishing trip to celebrate our retirements. Trailhead was recommended and we were not disappointed. Drive in lodge easily accessed from Victoria or Lake Cowichan. Professional, friendly family service; clean, comfortable accommodation; outstanding meals; knowledgeable guides; the very best of boats, motors, navigation and fishing equipment. Fishing was outstanding. We hit chinook, sockeye & halibut. Their expert fish processing was effortless for us. Just load the coolers your final morning and drive away. We'll be back !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salmonseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Renfrew
20.7 mi away
Van Riper's Resort
Van Riper's Resort
#1 of 5 in Sekiu
34 reviews
34.1 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
34.6 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
#1 of 8 in Port Renfrew
90 reviews
0.8 mi away
Big Fish Lodge
Big Fish Lodge
#2 of 8 in Port Renfrew
55 reviews
20.7 mi away
Curley's Resort and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailhead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailhead Resort

Property: Trailhead Resort
Address: 17268 Parkinson Rd | 17268 Parkinson Rd., Port Renfrew, British Columbia V0S 1K0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Renfrew
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Renfrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trailhead Resort offers Port Renfrew accommodation two hours west of Victoria, Vancopuver Island, BC. We feature comfortable and spacious suites and cabins, with access to hot tubs and a fire pit, plus a BC fishing lodge for the exclusive use of our fishing charter guests. Explore the beauty of the west coast or sign up for one of our full-service Port Renfrew fishing charters to experience one of the most remote and legendary fishing locations in British Columbia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Trailhead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing