We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was a nice find”
Review of Trailhead Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trailhead Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Port Renfrew B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This hotel was a nice find”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We took our 9 year old Grandson to see the Botanical Beach. We stayed at this hotel and it was perfect for us.
The room is clean and bright with two queen size beds, a kitchenette and lots of room to move about. There is a balcony with table and chairs.
The treat for our Grandson was the hot tub. Kids love water.
We will stay here again when we come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    18
    5
    4
    8
See reviews for
20
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mackenzie, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Small but well-appointed for a 'hut'.. The mattresses were comfortable, and the thin comforter was just right. There is a baseboard heater to take any chill off. My only complaint was the total lack of shower pressure in the detached washroom about 50' from our hut. It was literally like a standing under a barely throttled garden hose, so I had to move around to get wet.. You also need to provide your own towel, soap, etc. But other than that, no complaints. Friendly service and check-in, quiet, just across the road from a very nice restaurant, reasonably priced, good tips for the WCT...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doug z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spent three pleasant nights in a suite at Trailhead the end of March. I had called about the Hiker's Hut but the huts were not available this early in the year and we were offered a very appealing off season rate for the suite. To the person who complained about Trailhead's prices, they are in line with local prices and are appropriate for a place that is indeed at the end of the road with the additional costs associated with doing business there!

The suite contains a very well appointed kitchen with everything you could want. There are two firm but comfortable queen sized beds with an assortment of soft and firm pillows on each bed and cosy duvets,as well as a cotton blanket. One of the beds is tucked into an alcove and there is a sweet little window seat which I think may have been intended for my suitcase but proved the perfect place to curl up with a book and watch the rain fall!

The electrically heated bathroom had it's own thermostat and the shower offered more than enough hot water to warm a pair of chilled hikers caught in a down pour.There was a generous supply of thin towels provided.

The suites are located up two outdoor flights of stairs. The stairs are solid evenly spaced with serious hand rails but could present a challenge for some travellers. The stairs open onto an outdoor deck area shared with the adjacent suite. The advantage to being upstairs is you look into the trees and it really is very beautiful. Each unit has it's own patio table and four chairs and is sheltered by the overhang of the roof.This is ideal for warm weather.

My small complaint is that on a rainy day there is no indoor table. We would have welcomed a pair of folding tables to eat our meal at. I have the feeling that had we asked, a solution would have been found but we improvised.

Trailhead is well located a short walk from the Port Renfrew dock where we saw innumerable birds and a sea otter. It is a embarrassingly short drive to Botanical Beach. Do make yourself aware of the hours of the local restaurants if you don't plan to cook as in the off season the hours can be limited.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank GertrudeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit. We stayed in Cabin 5. The cabins have two large bedrooms and two bathrooms. Nicely outfitted, clean and very comfortable. Enjoyed sitting on the front porch in the sunshine. Did not get to try out the hot tub this time, but nice knowing it was there. Great kayaking in the area, sea caves and surge channels. Lots to explore up the estuary, and waves to play in if you are lucky. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed first in a suite with the husband on the top floor of the suited building and then later in a cabin shared with friends on each end of our West Coast Trail hike last summer (just now remembered to review it). We basically chose the Trailhead because we booked last minute and they were one of the few places that still had availability at the time, but I'm glad it worked out.

Each accommodation was very clean and comfortable and there is access to cooking facilities and a hot tube. It looked like our cabin was newer than the suite. Both were very spacious and the cabin seems like the perfect place to bring a load of people to hang out with if you find yourself in Port Renfrew. It was unfortunate that we only spent one night at a time there as it really is a pleasant place and I'll stay there again if I ever return to that area of Vancouver Island.

I didn't know about their Hiker Huts at the time, but it looks like they would have been a cost-effective and completely satisfactory option for us at the start of the trail.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meeeohhmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in one of the hiker huts the night before we embarked on the West Coast Trail hike in July 2013. The place was perfect to meet our needs since we wanted a clean bed before we hit tents for the next week. The staff was also very helpful in making arrangements for us to take the water taxi to the north trailhead. We had planned to take 7 nights to complete the trail, and when we arrived back a day early they accommodated our change of plans.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Had an awesome time fishing and staying at Trailhead. Stayed 4 nights and fished 3 days. We had three guys in the group and caught our limit of fish. Fish cleaning, vacuum sealing and freezing done on site so it was ready for the flight home.

Food was gourmet and couldn't have been better. Resort and lodge was great. Just what you want for a fishing trip. Had a knowledgeable guide, boats are top of the line and had lots of fun on the water each days. Connie and the staff were easy to get along with and the whole experience was very relaxed and casual.

Can't wait to plan my next trip to Trailhead.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryCouple_BT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Renfrew
20.7 mi away
Van Riper's Resort
Van Riper's Resort
#1 of 5 in Sekiu
35 reviews
34.1 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
34.6 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
#1 of 8 in Port Renfrew
85 reviews
0.8 mi away
Big Fish Lodge
Big Fish Lodge
#3 of 8 in Port Renfrew
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Handsome Dan's Port Renfrew
Handsome Dan's Port Renfrew
#2 of 8 in Port Renfrew
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailhead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailhead Resort

Property: Trailhead Resort
Address: 17268 Parkinson Rd | 17268 Parkinson Rd., Port Renfrew, British Columbia V0S 1K0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Renfrew
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Renfrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trailhead Resort offers Port Renfrew accommodation two hours west of Victoria, Vancopuver Island, BC. We feature comfortable and spacious suites and cabins, with access to hot tubs and a fire pit, plus a BC fishing lodge for the exclusive use of our fishing charter guests. Explore the beauty of the west coast or sign up for one of our full-service Port Renfrew fishing charters to experience one of the most remote and legendary fishing locations in British Columbia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Trailhead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing