We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have the Halibut Fish and Chips”
Review of Port Renfrew PUB

Port Renfrew PUB
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Renfrew Pub is the homey gathering place for locals and visitors at the heart of Snuggery Cove. Friendly and inviting, it’s the sort of place even first-timers swear they’ve been before. The waterfront pub and restaurant occupies an enviable spot, right next to the dock. Our craft brews include crisp, cold favourites from right around here: Vancouver Island Brewery High Trail Honey Ale, Lighthouse Race Rocks, Saltspring Island Golden Ale, Phillips Blue Buck, Granville Island Raspberry Ale. And we’re just getting started. Our food is all about quality with a fresh, homespun focus. Chickens are roasted daily on site; sauces and gravies are built from scratch. The baked goods are handcrafted, fries hand-cut, and herbs pulled fresh. Choose from sumptuous burgers or boat-to-table seafood drawn from nearby waters. The Pub serves breakfast (weekends), lunch and dinner, along with elevated pub fare — wings for the game and gooey poutine. Snuggle up or wake up with a steaming mug of Discovery Coffee from Victoria’s beloved roastery, and let the day unspool.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There isn't much in the way of restaurants in Port Renfrew. This was the only place we could find open for dinner, so we were delighted to discover it is darn good. Pub food was a cut above most and the atmosphere is perfect. Owned by the same nice folks who run the Coast Kitchen (breakfast lunch ch only) just a block or so up the road. Do try to the halibut fish and chips if it's on the menu. Someone in our party chose it every night and it was yummy!

1  Thank D80206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Port Renfrew PUB, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi D80206,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a marvelous review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at both of our restaurants! Hope to see you out here again!

Wild Renfrew Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You will not be disappointed in this place! The food is delicious and they have a great selection of local craft beer and wine. The patio is perched above the ocean with beautiful views of the inlet. All of this makes for an unforgettable west coast experience!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Siobhann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Port Renfrew PUB, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Siobhann,

Thank you for the wonderful review! Our whole Renfrew Pub Team work very hard in providing an unforgettable experience! We are looking forward to when you can join us again.

The Renfrew Pub Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Service was excellent, food was good other than overcooked salmon. Can recommend the chowder and seafood stew.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Port Renfrew PUB, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Chris,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again soon!

The Renfrew Pub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We walked here after finishing the WCT and it was totally worth the extra kms. Great food (fish and chips & poutine were amazing) and beer, friendly and accommodating staff.

Pretty much perfect ending to our amazing backpacking adventure. We saw a lot of the people we hiked with too which was really cool.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank myg606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Port Renfrew PUB, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi myg606!

Congratulations on finishing the West Coast Trail! We love being able to provide a good drink and meal to all the hikers coming through town and hearing about your experiences! Super cool you saw friends you finished with too. Hope we see you all out here again one day!

The Renfrew Pub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

For a small town at the end of the road it’s worth the drive. Meals for all types including no carb options and kid friendly. Highly recommend the Zoodle pad Thai with a raspberry mojito on the side! The art inside and the scenery outside is breathtaking. We are already planning a trip back with friends.

Thank 977sonyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Port Renfrew PUB, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi 991sonyar!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this excellent review. We really appreciate your attention to detail! And what a beautiful meal combo recommendation!

We are looking forward to having you back soon,

Your friends at The Renfrew Pub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Port Renfrew PUB also viewed

Port Renfrew, Vancouver Island
Port Renfrew, Vancouver Island
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Port Renfrew PUB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing