We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful!”
#17 The French Girl's Lair / 1BR / Pet Friendly
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
#17 The French Girl's Lair / 1BR / Pet Friendly
Kitchen, living area. Sofa can be open as sofa bed if needed. Cozy gas fireplace.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
#17 The French Girl's Lair / 1BR / Pet Friendly
Kitchen, living area. Sofa can be open as sofa bed if needed.
Cozy gas fireplace.
Cozy gas fireplace.
Full fridge and gas cooking stove.
Queen bed in the 1BR
Full bathroom with bath and shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Port Renfrew, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

CherylTph...
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Found the Handsome Dan's website randomly and so glad we did! 4 of us stayed in a wonderful cottage for a couple of days just to rest and relax. The cottage was so new and well appointed. Comfortable beds and we had everything we needed in the kitchen to cook up great meals. The spacious deck was great for playing games around the table and we loved to hike along the beach and watch the eagles overhead. Just stunning, quiet, friendly little town.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet, clean, lovely complex
Liked least: slow drive on back roads to get there
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel H
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to chill out”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in a gorgeous and brand-new cottage with seaview, both from the living room and the bedroom. The kitchen was equipped with all appliances and utensils you can think of. The cottage was very nicely decorated and we had a lot of space for the two us. The balcony is an extra plus (chairs are provided). Overall we found our stay in the cottage very pleasant and relaxing, it is an ideal base to explore the Port Renfew area.

Communications with Ms France prior to our arrival were just excellent-we received lots of information, directions etc. and Ms. France was ever so helpful and efficient.
We would not hesitate to book the cottage again.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, views, lay-out, location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pattypadd...
vancouver island
1 review
“Awesome well thought out accommodations with easy peasy booking!”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I stayed three nights at Handsome Dan's and couldn't have been happier! Well thought out accommodations, responsive owners who make booking a breeze with some lovely surprise amenities at the cottage. Very organized and secure for my dog and she gives it a big Paws up too! Thanks again for being great hosts, even if you weren't actually there.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendyz55
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage,everything thought of!”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Beautiful cottage with all kitchen needs taken care of..t towels,kitchen roll,tea, coffee,sugar,washing up liquid etc etc. Which was brilliant for us travelling from England and we certainly hadn't thought about them. It turned out to be a life saver as the nearby store is very limited in goods and the nearest main towns are about 30 km away. Our fault totally for not looking on their web site which does point this out.(We booked through booking.com) France was totally amazing. I sent a message asking about an iron,ironing board and hair dryer and when we arrived she had provided them for us.
Bed so comfortable and cottage warm and cosy.
We enjoyed the peace and quiet, chilling before moving onto Victoria. Only down side was a neighbour who had a truck which, unfortunately, was quite loud as he went out each morning before 6am!!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every need thought of and catered for
Liked least: Noisy truck early morning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoxTrav...
Vancouver Island, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“just beautiful”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed for 2 nights in the cottages. Very clean, comfortable and private. We will come back next year. Thank you.

Date of stay: June 2015
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eijzenga
Kailua, Hawaii
1 review
“They thought of everything!”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Such a sweet little cottage! Super clean and modern with a comfortable bed and nice hot showers. Our children (ages 4 and 6) loved playing on the front porch and watching the humming birds at the feeder. I loved all the little details - from the coffee in the pantry to the wildlife guides and marshmallow roasting sticks in the fire pit. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne D
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“The Wild West Coast”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My Husband and I stayed at Handsome Dan's Cottages for the second time, and these accommodations do not disappoint! The cabins are well appointed (all you need is your food and clothes) and designed beautifully and comfortable.
The area is spectacular to explore, so if your get-away desires are to enjoy nature, solitude, and adventure Handsome Dan's Wild West Cottages are for you!!
Two Happy Campers.... Lynne & Heinz

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the front deck with the fire pit
Liked least: some of the utencils and one pan could be replaced
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.