We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning cabin in a place that time forgot...in a...”
#17 The French Girl's Lair / 1BR / Pet Friendly
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
#17 The French Girl's Lair / 1BR / Pet Friendly
Kitchen, living area. Sofa can be open as sofa bed if needed. Cozy gas fireplace.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
#17 The French Girl's Lair / 1BR / Pet Friendly
Kitchen, living area. Sofa can be open as sofa bed if needed.
Cozy gas fireplace.
Cozy gas fireplace.
Full fridge and gas cooking stove.
Queen bed in the 1BR
Full bathroom with bath and shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Port Renfrew, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison F
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning cabin in a place that time forgot...in a good way!”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A last minute booking turned into an absolute gem of a find, a four bedroomed seaside cabin with everything you could possibly need and buckets more. It was quiet at Port Renfrew as end of season but we were blessed with warm, sunny wind free days. We had the glass doors open and were able to sit on the huge deck and watch the seals, sea eagles and fishing boats, while still keeping an eye on our grandchildren. Our group was a mixed bag of ages, 1 to 68, but the cabin catered for all and with beaches, walks, fishing mixed in with the odd BBQ we smiled non stop, slept well and returned relaxed and rejuvenated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerham
Qualicum Beach BC
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Perfect West Coast location”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We chose Hera's Cove cottage (#112) because of its proximity to the water and the amenities were exactly what we were looking for. Two separate bedrooms (KS and QS) and two bathrooms. One bathroom is upstairs and the other down, near the bedrooms. As we were with family this worked well.

The accommodation is comfortable and spotlessly clean, and kitchen is well-equipped and spacious enough for two to prepare meals. There are stairs to access the cottage from the parking spots, but a ramp is also provided. A luggage cart is available to guests, which enables one to transport most luggage in one trip. This is not the cottage to rent if you have small children as there is a steep drop-off beyond the fence to the water. Recommend you bring bottled water for tea/coffee/drinking. Would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the atmosphere
Liked least: Water is highly chlorinated and not pleasant to drink.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7Arne6
Lower Saxony, Germany
1 review
“cozy retreat at the westcoast”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at the French Girl´s Lair #17 for 3 nights in september. Nice little cabin. It got everything you need. Nice big BBQ, loved the fire pit outside in the middle of the patio. Firewood is complimentary and right behind the cabin. After a day of beachcombing and hiking, it´s nice to stretch out the legs at the fire.
It has a fully eqipped kitchen, just be aware to bring your required food with you, even sugar, salt and pepper. Coffee and tea is also not complimentary. Port Renfrew has a little store but it doesn´t have everything.
Be sure to check your E- Mail before you head out this retreat, because there is no reception and there is keyless entrance to the cabin. You´ll need a code for acces.
Can´t say anything about room service. As I see it, you are responsible for it yourself, Although it has been clean at arrival. Waste management was unusual for us too. No wastebins on the property, just little ones in the cabin. So you have to bring it to the local dump. But it is no big trouble.
We had a grest time there. Nice beaches close by and grest hiking trails. If you like it a bit lonely but not isolated, it´s a nice place to be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: patio fire pit, bbq
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karenandk...
Comox Valley, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had everything we needed.”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was a very nice cottage, was clean, and had everything we needed including modern stove and fridge with freezer. I really enjoyed the large balcony under the trees and listening to and watching the birds. It was very close to everything we wanted to see and do.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keena T
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at the cottage called "Going Coastal" and we didn't want to leave...it was stunning. The cottage is comfortable and kitted out with everything you could possibly need. The views from the deck are just fantastic you can just sit and drink them in and feel yourself unwinding and starting to relax. It is definitely the place to come with family and friends. The surrounding area to the cottages is beautiful and there are plenty of places to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole cottage and view
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathias K
Dresden, Germany
2 reviews
“Awesome”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

absolutely great, everything very clean - all facilities in an excellent state - bedroom perfect - fast and easy to access WiFi - Location is very quiet - only the comfort of the Sofa if one uses it to sleep has some area for improvement

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness
Liked least: comfort of the sofa
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeblostnH...
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Private, Remote, Clean, New and most everything we needed.”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Rod's Roost was our choice when we booked for August 12th the last week in June. The cottage was clean inside, uncluttered, everything we needed for comfort. This cottage owner doesn't have any cable, but one tv in the bedroom instead of the living. The TV has a DVD with a few older DVDs but I'd recommend bringing laptop or tablet to connect to internet, and/or owner furnishing an HD cable to hook a laptop up to the TV. You come to this remote island community to fish and hike, not to watch television - if only at night. There is internet wify so this was the only way to connect to the outside as cell service doesn't work anywhere at Handsome Dan's unless connected through internet. France the manager of HD is awesome! Bring in your food, or like us - traveling on a motorcycle, we only stayed for two nights so bought some food at the only general store in Port Renfrew and went to two of the 3 restaurants in town too. We sprayed down the front and back decks due to spiders and webbing everywhere - perhaps due to owner neglect or dry weather for several weeks. If you are like us, we didn't have a budget higher than the cost of one room cottages. I would recommend selecting a small cottage like this property, but one with a fireplace just for the coziness of it. All in all Rod's Roost bonus was the fenced in deck although we didn't have a dog. We enjoyed the property, the peaceful walks to the community dock, etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of the inside of cottage.
Liked least: Unkept decks - both front and back; we hosed them down due to lots of webs and spiders.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;