We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT SURPRISE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tomi's Home Style Cooking

Tomi's Home Style Cooking
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Cafe, Healthy, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A cozy and comfortable cafe with a full menu - Eat in or Takeout Enjoy delicious, homemade meals & soup, fresh baked goods and daily specials. We offer vegetarian and special diet meals. Our specialty coffees are made with fresh roasted beans from The Stick in Sooke. Conveniently located in the heart of Port Renfrew, off of Parkinson Rd.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
530 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SURPRISE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We were driving on Vancouver Island along the Pacific Marine Highway when hunger pangs hit us. We were coming into the small town of Port Renfrew and did not have high expectations when it came to finding a place to eat. We pulled into the first place a little red building advertising home cooked meals. We ordered the chicken curry soup and a bacon cheeseburger and felt safe with those choices. Little did we expect to have such a wonderful experience. The soup was excellent with a great blend of flavors highlighted by the ginger root shavings. They got their hamburger so juicy and full of flavor the way a burger should be created with a bun to compliment the perfection of the burger. We asked for the soup recipe to no avail. Our only regret was we did not order soup to go since we are staying in Victoria and the drive out is very long to repeat during our stay. The staff were wonderful and friendly as have most of the people we have met in BC during our stay.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    29
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
whistler, Canada
2 reviews
“Great food, great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We went to Tomi's twice while in Renfrew, once for breakfast, once for lunch. Both meals were great. It's nice to see a place in a tourist town appreciate tourists instead of seeing them as an easy sale. Everyone should stop by while in Port Renfrew.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Had the Tomi whale burger was very good, curry soup to die for very friendly and great service, the area is very cool, very cool camp ground! The little town is quirky but very friendly people

Helpful?
Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You won't be dissapointed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stopped in by chance. Doesn't look like much from the parking lot but venture in anyways. Funky, friendly, artsy atmosphere and great home-made tasting food! Large portions for the money spent. Win-win! We left very satisfied and re-charged for the longer leg of our journey!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BriadZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Epic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We came here for dinner last night after setting up camp at mystic beach... Best burger I've ever had, great friendly small town service and atmosphere, was so good we drove all the way back for breakfast which was equally awesome before going the other way back to Victoria, if you like good food and patios and your passing through you'll def not want to miss this place for a home cooked meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephie8844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tomi's Home Style Cooking also viewed

Port Renfrew, Vancouver Island
Port Renfrew, Vancouver Island
 
Port Renfrew, Vancouver Island
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Tomi's Home Style Cooking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing