We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glamping & Gourmiking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soule Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Renfrew
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Soule Creek Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Port Renfrew B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marburg, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Glamping & Gourmiking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We're not much for camping but the more glamorous Tatoosh Yurt provided the relaxing nature setting with real comfy bed, fridge, microwave and amazing views. We love hiking and gourmet food - so this was the place for us! This was our second visit after 6 years (the road from Cowichan Lake is paved now!) so we booked five nights at the yurt in early August. Most people stay much shorter but in our opinion, it is well worth staying much longer if you have the time.

The Yurt is clean, cozy and warm (there's electric heating if it gets chilly). The bathroom is just like one in the lodge with a walk-in shower. The night it rained was very romantic and provided
a tent experience while being totally dry and never damp. Compared to the heatwave in Vancouver and Victoria, the somewhat cooler air felt very relaxing. Don't expect to have a week of sunshine on the West Coast.

The dinner was superb with fresh, local ingredients. Loved the fish but also the salads (ever had a hazelnut oil, truffle oil, grapefruit vinaigrette?), homemade ice cream or crumble with seasonal berries! We had the most wonderful conversations with other guests. Tim, Suzanne, and Jon are always helpful and answered all our questions. They all work really hard to accommodate all sorts of requests, food allergies and even repeat visitors like ourselves to make sure that dinner was different every time. A couple celebrating an anniversary even a special surprise for desert, young children were given special consideration and seated privately with their parents. You can even book a packed lunch now! Loved the blueberry pancakes, fruit smoothie and fresh fruit for breakfast best. You can have the full works (eggs, bacon etc.) but that's not my thing. I'd be happy just with granola & fruit.

We loved not having to rush and being able to sit at the beach for an hour or two to take in the views. With a little more time, one will not be disappointed if there is a rainy day. Don't trust the weather forecast. Even sitting on the porch of the Yurt in the afternoon is amazing. The weather changes by the minute: Sun coming through the mist or clouds, clouds drifting into the valley, fog ... it's not called rainforest for nothing. The porch of the yurt is great for armchair birders: eagles, Steller's Jays, Cedar waxwings, hummingbirds.

We had a 4-wheel drive rental car, which helped to master the drive, but it's doable in a normal car, too.

We booked several months ahead because we have very little flexibility in our schedules. The online booking, reservation, deposit were all handled well and efficiently. I thought it was fair to ask us if we REALLY wanted to stay five days. We were not disappointed and I hope we can come back some time. The important thing is that you know what you need for rest and relaxation!

Things to do:
- Avatar grove (upper trail is being improved all the time - Jon is not only a chef but very handy, too! - the lower trail is also fun. If you follow the orange flagging tape rather than the blue flags, you can find a very steep descent to the river, which is fun on a dry and sunny day).
- Fairy Lake and Lizard Lake are picturesque, too. Wish there was a place to rent a canoe or kayak from.
- Hike parts of the Juan de Fuca trail near Sombrio Beach.
- Walk down Pacheedat Beach / San Juan Harbour for sandy beach and fishing (or watching other people, eagles or osprey fish .. in fact the fish jump right out of the river!).
- Of course, botanical beach for the tide pools. We went twice for half the day. Best at low tide and below 1,20 m. We've seen it at very low tide and at a higher one, in sunshine, fog and mist and it is always beautiful and completely different. Almost bumped into a black bear in the fog!

Room Tip: The Tatoosh Yurt is the newest of the yurts and above the cabin, so highest up for good views with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chickaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouleMan, Owner at Soule Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
What a great review. You covered all of it. WE hope to see you again in the near future.
Tim, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    44
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
113
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed one night while exploring Botanical Beach and Avatar Grove. Great, quiet hilltop retreat in the rainforest on the west coast of Vancouver Island. They also offer a gourmet dinner using many local foods and the (included) breakfast was hearty and fresh.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1cloudtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We are so glad we found this place! What a treat. We rented the cabin and just loved it. It's roomy and spacious, and the entire property is very quiet. We were looking forward to the spectacular views, but it was misty and foggy while we were there. It didn't matter as the weather only added to the charm, and now we'll have an excuse to go back! The hot tub is a real treat (very secluded), and definitely pay for the dinner! It's well worth it.

Room Tip: Go with the dinner option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendt85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I went up to Soule Creek Lodge in June, 2013. We stayed in one of the yurts. The view of the bay and the West Coast Trail was fabulous.
We had dinner both nights at the Lodge, the food was excellent. Breakfast was also very good .

The owner's knowledge of the surrounding area was very helpful. We visited both Botanical Beach and Avatar Grove.

Green Features: The chef tries to source all of their ingredients locally.
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgoatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

I stayed at Soule Creek for one night and had a lodge room. So I did not see and cannot review the Yurts. First off the lodge is situated on a mountain top with views to the ocean, Juan de Fuca straight and surrounding forests. The room was a good size and had a very comfortable bed, patio doors that opened to a small covered balcony overlooking the garden. There was no TV but I did not need one, I sat on the balcony and watched storm clouds in the distance and hummingbirds close by. There is an outdoor hot tub and the hosts provide robes towels and slippers. It was quiet and dark and I had a great sleep. Breakfast was cooked to order by friendly staff. For me it was a great place to stay it had all the things that I wanted for a comfortable night out in Port and none of the things that I did not need.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorneinvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We booked one night, and wished we could linger longer to really appreciate the peace and beauty of this lovely place. The owner was welcoming and had upgraded us, a surprise and appreciated. We had the room on the lounge/dining room level in the house, a suite, large bathroom with soak tub, bedroom, lounge with a large balcony, unfortunately in May the weather was raining and cloudy, but we enjoyed the views through the patio window. We were the only guests eating dinner, such a fantastic meal, they allow you to bring your own drinks, they are not permitted to sell alcohol. It was wonderful fresh cooked food and beautifully presented. The breakfast the following morning was a feast for the eyes as well as the stomachs, they certainly take pride in their establishment. We were well informed about the area, given maps marked with interesting places to visit on our return to Victoria. When we return to Canada we definitely want to go again, it's well worth the drive up the gravel road to experience the hospitality of their Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank New-Horizons14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

I would have given this 5 stars, as my Spring Break experience when Tim and his wife were hosting was absolutely amazing. The Tatoosh yurt is incredible, both inside and outside. The hot tub is so nice, and Tim was the best host for dinner and breakfast.

Unfortunately, I decided to come back for my birthday but was disappointed when Jon did not acknowledge that (even though they ask if you are celebrating anything on the registration form) or my food allergies at breakfast. He seemed preoccupied with personal things, but given the high cost of staying at the lodge I had been hoping to have those two things noticed.

The drive up to the lodge is eventful so be prepared for a steep incline on a gravel road. It is a worthwhile retreat, but if possible check if Tim and his wife will be there b/c I found that made all the difference between a nice stay and a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouleMan, Owner at Soule Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Hi Tracie, I'm happy you had a good stay and sorry I did not adequately acknowledge your Birthday. I had made a note of it in my book but we typically use this when guests have dinner so we can do so then which was not booked and I apologize for not doing so at breakfast. As for your gluten and lactose sensitivity, which you mentioned in the remarks section, did not appear on my confirmation email which highlighted a flaw in our system. We try very hard to cater to dietary issues and take them seriously which is why we also ask about allergies and sensitivities when dinner is booked. So again my apologizes and thank you for your feedback on this I will correct this as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Renfrew
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
#1 of 8 in Port Renfrew
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soule Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soule Creek Lodge

Property: Soule Creek Lodge
Address: 6215 Powdermain Rd, Port Renfrew, British Columbia V0S 1K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Renfrew
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Renfrew
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soule Creek Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on top of the San Juan Ridge with stunning ocean views and 160 private acres. Guests can choose a newly remodeled Yurt, cabin or lodge suite all with en suite and balcony. A short drive to Botanical Beach, WCT, day hikes, world class fishing and some of the largest trees in the world. Chef/owners offer guest a three course local organic dinner option and warm hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing