We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a real gem”
Review of Soule Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Renfrew
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Soule Creek Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Port Renfrew B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a real gem”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a retreat on top of a mountain. SO quiet and a beautiful view of trees and water from up high. A gazillion stars at night. The room was very comfortable, the surroundings inspiring and definitely worth the 2 km of gravel road up the mountain.
Outstanding dinner, all made from scratch with great care and artistry using local ingredients where possible. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge itself which was very nice. There are several yurts available, they all look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeb66_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouleMan, Owner at Soule Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks for the review! We really appreciate your comments and hope to see you again. You will have to try a Yurt next time. We have just completed our newest addition Yurt of the Salish Sea. The views from it are extraordinary and as the new suggests you can take in all of the Salish Sea from the deck. The star gazing should be awesome as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    44
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
121
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here at the end of our week on Vancouver island and had wanted to stay somewhere that was a bit more off the beaten track and Port Renfew and Soule Creek lodge certainly fitted the bill!

We stayed in the cabin rather than the yurt, but both looked nice. The accommodation was clean and had everything that we needed (ensuite, balcony, fridge in the lounge area). If you're looking for a hotel type resort, this is not it. It's a lodge with most accommodations separated from the main building (very close by though). If you're looking for seclusion with beautiful scenery, no mobile phone signal (but wifi) and sublime food then look no further!!

We had breakfast every morning and we had dinner in the lodge one night. All of the food was fantastic and we'd say it is definitely worth eating in the lodge at least one night while you're there. The staff we always happy to give advice on local trails, tide times etc, and generally how to get the best out of the area.

Now that road between Lake Cowichan and Port Renfrew has been paved it makes the journey (in that direction) far easier and you've no excuse not to go! Our advice, get there soon while it's still a small, quiet location!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayTrip56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouleMan, Owner at Soule Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Great review Jay. Thanks. You covered just about everything we like to hear and try to achieve. Happy travels, Jon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Nine of us, all hikers, just stayed 2 nights at this picture perfect hideaway. We actually heard about it on top of a mountain in Kauai and had to check it out right in our back yard. We were NOT disappointed. Welcoming atmosphere, sumptuous meals, views to die for, totally relaxing. 3 couples stayed in yurts, I was in the main lodge in the Juan de Fuca Suite : ( just take one look at that bathroom......Woweeeeee!) I have never tasted such delicious herbs: these guys are professional chefs. While there do visit Avatar Grove, Botanical Beach and see black bears from your vehicle. We watched an eagle dining on mussels from only 15 feet away.

Room Tip: Try a yurt................!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Wow! What a beautiful place! You can stay in the lodge or a yurt, which we would love to try next time.

Jon and Tim, who are brothers, are the owners, and are very friendly.

We (son, daughter-in law, husband and I) booked this wonderful place (found online) on our way to Nanaimo from Victoria. The road up the mountain is long and windy but well worth it! The lodge is very rustic and quiet, and the scenery is breathtaking. In the large upstairs area, which serves as the dining and living room, there is plenty of reading material, as well as a beautiful view.
We rented the upstairs beside the dining room. There is a living area with a large balcony attached, a bedroom and huge bathroom. The living room (with a fridge and kettle, coffee and tea provided) was converted for us by opening up the sofa-bed, where my son and daughter-in-law found their night a bit uncomfortable, but in the bedroom we slept very, very well.
It was so relaxing and beautiful there that we didn't feel the need to go anywhere else, so we spent the whole afternoon on the balcony enjoying the peace and quiet, and the views.

We reserved for the supper and are we ever glad we did! It was all delicious, the service was excellent. 2 of us had birthdays, so our decadent dessert came with a sparkler, a very nice touch!

We would definitely recommend this lodge, and will be back!


Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank canary50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We came across this great place thanks to our GPS that led us there when we asked it for nearest accomodations. Don't let the road up the mountain scare you off because when you get there you will find a beautiful lodge with beautiful scenery. Very laid-back and relaxing place. You have a choice of a guest room in the main house, a wooden cabin or a Yurt. All are very clean and comfortable. Breakfast comes with your stay but if you want evening dinner you have to pre-order it the day before. I hope to return one day

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouleMan, Owner at Soule Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
So glad you found us and had a great stay. One word of caution when using GPS in this area. It can sometimes lead you off course when going to Lake Cowichan (or coming from there.).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Wow!! I would recommend Soule Creek Lodge to anyone looking for a great quiet peaceful stay. When my wife and I travel, we don't really plan anything or book overnights in advance. While at Port Renfrew BC this week, we saw a sign on the highway guiding us to Soule Creek Lodge. We turned left, followed the rocky road to the top of the mountain and what did we find. A wonderful place.We stayed in the Lodge, were fed breakfast each morning(even a choice of what you wanted).The owners went up and beyond, even assisting when things were not going well,(as a result of 14 KM Juan de Fuca Trail hike). Next time we will stay and experience one of the Yurts and bring appropriate dress for the hot tub.

Room Tip: All rooms and yurts looked very comfortable and nicely furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouleMan, Owner at Soule Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thanks for the kind words and glad you made it back OK. I have sent your left items in the mail so you should see them shortly. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stumbled upon this place while searching online and I'm happy I did.

My wife and I were looking for a romantic getaway and this was just the place. We both love being in the rustic wilderness but with a touch of gourmet. I was immediately attracted to the 'prix fixe' style of dining and set menus for dinner. Both the two three-course dinners and breakfasts far exceeded expectations. And the bring your own alcohol feature was a bonus.

We stayed two nights in the Tatoosh yurt at the very opening of their season (early March 2014). By the second night we were the only guests on-site at this beautiful property and had the hot tub to our selves under a mesmerizing starry night. The yurt was phenomenal - super spacious and immaculately clean (as was the the main lodge).

In addition to the wonderful food and accommodations, the sights of Botanical Beach in the Juan De Fuca Provincial Park and the long beach at the Pacheedaht Campgrounds are just a few minutes drive into town.

Fantastic food, clean, rustic and unique accommodations, great service, low impact property, spectacular views...the Soule Creek Lodge is a real winner. We can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: It was *pouring* rain one night and very windy, the yurt was a loud experience but also gets you cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yyjjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Renfrew
33.6 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
34.1 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Trailhead Resort
Trailhead Resort
#2 of 5 in Port Renfrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
#1 of 8 in Port Renfrew
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.8 mi away
Handsome Dan's Port Renfrew
Handsome Dan's Port Renfrew
#2 of 8 in Port Renfrew
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.0 mi away
Big Fish Lodge
Big Fish Lodge
#3 of 8 in Port Renfrew
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soule Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soule Creek Lodge

Property: Soule Creek Lodge
Address: 6215 Powdermain Rd, Port Renfrew, British Columbia V0S 1K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Renfrew
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Renfrew
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soule Creek Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on top of the San Juan Ridge with stunning ocean views and 160 private acres. Guests can choose a newly remodeled Yurt, cabin or lodge suite all with en suite and balcony. A short drive to Botanical Beach, WCT, day hikes, world class fishing and some of the largest trees in the world. Chef/owners offer guest a three course local organic dinner option and warm hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing