We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity”
Review of The Tuwanek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tuwanek Hotel
Ranked #2 of 26 Sechelt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Serenity”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This place truly IS,a place of rest!!I was in desperate need of respite,and this was exactly what I needed.thank you Krista,and Kris,for this space,to be,you are both,special.I also had a 2 plus hours massage,facial,and scrub,WOW,great!then,to sit up,to a view of the ocean,couldn't get any better!!highly recommend this place,only wish I could stay longer.sad to go!!

Room Tip: I spent my time in the sunset suite,and absolutely loved it!Beautiful view of the water,close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donny56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    17
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
49
184
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Spared no expense for the quality of our stay. Romantic. Relaxing massages. Phenomenal breakfast. Unsurpassed scenery. Genuinely good hosts. It is truly a five star destination. Loved out stay. Many Thanks, Travis and Sarah.

Room Tip: African Queen - the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This place is amazing.

It's so obvious to see that the owners built this place from scratch with a wealth of experience in the business of service. As is the case with any boutique hotel, the tell-tale signs are in the details, and this place does not disappoint.

Our room was Casablanca-themed and while I admit I was expecting some fromage in the decor, the place was anything but. The bed, linens, amenities and furnishings are all top class and easily match any five-star hotel offerings. As is the case with B+B establishments, it's the many extras that add to the experience; a games room, full DVD library, snack bar and movie theatre are all available and easily accessible.

The owners, Chris and Kristina, take all the time and energy to make you feel comfortable and at home and it's so easy to forget that this place has an amazing private beach and unencumbered views to the wooded slopes on the opposing side of the inlet. Any review would not be complete without the bigger "B" in this acronym; the breakfasts certainly match the surroundings.

I can not recommend this place any higher. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Casablanca Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clayandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My fiance and I booked our anniversary weekend at the Tuwanek, and Chris and Krista made it an incredible, relaxing get-away. From Krista's incredible breakfasts, to the luxurious spa sessions with Krista and Sharon, the beautifully decorated African Queen room, and playing with Lucy, we could not have asked for a better way to unwind for a couple days. Every detail was wonderful, even their recommendations for places to eat and things to do on the Sunshine Coast. We can't wait to make it back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The first Christmas, ever, being away from family! Although we thought it was going to be a bit weird the cottage, hot tub and beautiful ocean helped to make Christmas a memory to cherish. Hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: We loved the WILDBERRY COTTAGE and the little jaunt up to the hot tub. Photos to follow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I have been to the Creekside cottage twice in the last 2 years and believe it has become the annual get away for me and the girls. 3 Bedrooms consisting of 2 queen beds and a set of bunk beds makes it perfect for 2 families or 6 ladies looking to get away. The place is clean, comfy and the view is looking out over a lake of water that sets with the sun. There are quite a few scuba divers that swim off the shore so if that is your thing, this is the place.
The hot tub in the back is right beside a babbling brook and private. Fits 6 people very comfortably and is always clean.
The kitchen is stocked with all the tools you need to make anything you’re hungry for and after dinner there are board games or movies to keep you entertained. There is a spa in the hotel part of the facilities but we have never used them.
All in all it is a great place to make some unforgettable memories.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shabbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

My husband and I returned to the Tuwanek Hotel for our second visit in July 2011. I forgot to write a review upon our return. However, as I begin to feel run down at work, I again dream of my time at Tuwanek Hotel and hope to return again some day. There is something about the Tuwanek Hotel that melts your stress away and allows you to rest and rejuvenate.

On our first trip we stayed in the African Queen room and on our second visit we stayed at the Wildberry Cottage. The Wildberry Cottage was amazing! The sound of the creek outside the bedroom, the secluded hot tub, and the comfortable bed were more than what we had hoped for to celebrate our anniversary.

Chris and Krista were the perfect hosts. They were there to assist with anything that we needed. Chris made arrangements for us to go scuba diving. Krista let me borrow a dish for a dinner party that we were attending.

I enjoyed relaxing treatments at the beautiful spa. Sharon is wonderful!

My only disappointment is that the Tuwanek Hotel is so far from home so we are not able to return as often as we would like.

Room Tip: The African Queen room is wonderful. The Wildberry Cottage is perfect for a couple. The only prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
12.9 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
348 reviews
14.4 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
138 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Waterfront Inn
9.7 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
782 reviews
3.0 mi away
At The Shore B&B
At The Shore B&B
#5 of 26 in Sechelt
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuwanek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuwanek Hotel

Property: The Tuwanek Hotel
Address: 7545 Islets Pl, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuwanek Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tuwanek Hotel, a Luxury Boutique Bed and Breakfast located on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, Canada. This 5 Star Luxury Waterfront Destination is located just a short 45 minute ferry ride from Vancouver, BC. Situated back in the 1950's this Oceanside Beach House will take you back to a time when life was simpler and less hectic. Each 600 sq. Ft. Luxury Suite has been designed with a theme from the Bogart era and is appointed with some of the finest amenities in Luxury Suite design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your The Tuwanek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing